Opposition boycotts Independence Flag Raising ceremoy while acknowledging need for more unity in Guyana

Minister with responsibility for Culture, Nicolette Henry, confirmed that all of the Opposition Members of Parliament were invited to the official event and accommodation was made for them in the VIP stand, where the President and other dignitaries were seated.

Opposition boycotts Independence Flag Raising ceremoy while acknowledging need for more unity in Guyana

Guyana’s Opposition Members of Parliament stayed away from the 51st Independence Anniversary flag raising ceremony, leaving their front row VIP seats empty.

Last year, the Opposition had complained about improper seating arrangements and walked out of the Golden Jubilee festivities. Last evening as Guyana crossed into its 51st year as an independent nation, they simply did not show up.

Minister with responsibility for Culture, Nicolette Henry, confirmed that all of the Opposition Members of Parliament were invited to the official event and accommodation was made for them in the VIP stand, where the President and other dignitaries were seated.

“I feel it was a great activity this evening and all the people that wanted to be here were here and I believe that Guyana is moving forward,” Henry told News Source.

While the PPP Parliamentarians stayed away from the event, the party released its independence message and pointed out that as a nation, “we must celebrate and salute the sacrifices and struggles of our leaders and fore-bearers, who toiled indomitably to win, firstly, internal self-government and ultimately, political independence, from our colonial masters after centuries of brutal slavery, servitude and exploitation by foreign forces.”

The Opposition party said it has done some self-examination “and wishes to acknowledge that although we have implemented transformative changes in Guyana during our tenure in office we have to persevere even more, to bring greater ethnic, religious and class unity among our people; we have to toil even harder, to bring greater economic and social prosperity to this land and we have to dedicate even more energies, to improve our system of government, strengthen our democratic institutions and enhance the rights and freedoms of our people, if we are to realize the aspirations and goals of our independence architects.”

It offers best wishes to the nation.

The opposition should act like statesmen and show patriotism to their country's independence. If they can hug up and kiss up during Phagwah celebration, they can also attend and represent Guyana as one on this important day in history. Their absence shows lack of maturity. This is not what we expect from our politicians.

Shut YUh Baxside.  Where were you when the ANIMALS roamed for 22 years,, doing as they please, unleashing MO FIAH, SLO FIAH????????????????????????

If you continue in this fashion, the next generation of Guyanese will take your footstep to do the same without any solution to their problems. How many more years would you want this to go on?

If Jagdeo cannot show his patriotism to Guyana now, would it be fair for him to ask Afro for their votes in 2020?

Pointblank posted:

Unbelievable! These MOF's boycott the ceremony...don't wish to be part of anything Guyanese and yet "acknowledge the need for more unity" 

The definition of Unity means, "join as a whole." The PPP have joined themselves together as a-holes alright.

Totally friken unbelievable. 

Amral bai, delete that post. You don't want to start sounding crazy like the stupid snake.

Dude, I see a change in the guy, his posts have become less hateful..he's my newest idol, he better doan make my hanz fall.

Pointblank posted:

Unbelievable! These MOF's boycott the ceremony...don't wish to be part of anything Guyanese and yet "acknowledge the need for more unity" 

The definition of Unity means, "join as a whole." The PPP have joined themselves together as a-holes alright.

Shut yuh rass. Count how many times PNC/AFC boycott PPP hosted events during their 23 years tenure.  This was not a Guyanese affair but rather a PNc jackass jump up bacchanal. 

Pointblank posted:

Shut yuh rass. Count how many times PNC/AFC boycott PPP hosted events during their 23 years tenure.  This was not a Guyanese affair but rather a PNc jackass jump up bacchanal. 

Cain is another Kim Jung Un., Xi, Putin, King Salman, ISIS, and the Taliban. They kill their dissidents through beheading, poisoning, execution etc. He wants to poison anyone who doesn't support hi PNC. No wonder he supports the installed PNC, another dicktator in Granger.  Maybe he will be proud to change his name to Kim Jung Cain.

Amral bai, delete that post. You don't want to start sounding crazy like the stupid snake.

Dude, I see a change in the guy, his posts have become less hateful..he's my newest idol, he better doan make my hanz fall.

That is good for him. But don't put too much confidence in him becoming normal because he may end up slivering back to his crazy self. I have to give him credit though for being able to switch his personalities back and forth as he logs on to his many handles.

Turns out that the Jackass PNC were also guilty of boycotting the flag raising ceremony during the PPP tenure:

An excerpt from Ricky Singh's article in 2003 :

http://www.landofsixpeoples.com/news301/nc30223.htm

Nevertheless, let it be said that the "strategic retreat" was itself a welcome development in this early post-Desmond Hoyte period when Guyanese from all strata of society are anxious to see signs, across the political spectrum, for new initiatives that could offer hope to a severely traumatised people.

It would have been encouraging, for example, if the PNC/R had agreed to end its boycott of the national flag-raising ceremony and to participate in the Mashramani Float Parade.

However, since its boycott of parliament is to resume, and given the years of such negative politics, this would have been too radical a change. Yet, the current situation in the country seems to cry out for radical changes - on all sides, governing and opposition. Changes that are being hampered by too much self-righteousness.

If there is really to be an end to the current political impasse, the PNC/R would need to move away from the obsession by some within its ranks for executive power-sharing and concentrate on a pragmatic approach with the governing party to conflict resolutions.

Well last year they didn't have seats for members of the Opposition so maybe this year they didn't want to tek a chance and get snubbed again!

No the PPP merely proved that last year they never intended to attend the event. Seats available and once again the PPP shows its contempt for Guyana. 

Celebrating Guyana's independence should be a NATIONAL event. Not one for Jagdeo to show his ass.

Interesting that you scream every time mention is made of Jagdeo, wailing that he is no longer president, yet you love to drag up past history about the PNC.

So I will continue to criticize Jagdeo's failure as president (both de jure between 2000-11 and de facto from 2011-15).

Interesting that you scream every time mention is made of Jagdeo, wailing that he is no longer president, yet you love to drag up past history about the PNC.

So I will continue to criticize Jagdeo's failure as president (both de jure between 2000-11 and de facto from 2011-15).

As usual, you duck the blatant incompetency of the PNC, the present govt in power, and try to shift the focus to the PPP who are in opposition.  

I suspect you are a 3 card monte dealer in Brooklyn, this card trick will only last so long before people are no longer fooled. 

As usual, you duck the blatant incompetency of the PNC, the present govt in power, and try to shift the focus to the PPP who are in opposition.  

I suspect you are a 3 card monte dealer in Brooklyn, this card trick will only last so long before people are no longer fooled. 

You cannot have your cake and eat it too.  When ever I remind you of the destruction of Jagdeo you wail that he is no longer president so we should not speak of it.

So using your narrative what ever the PNC did in the past shouldn't be up for discussion.

You cannot have your cake and eat it too.  When ever I remind you of the destruction of Jagdeo you wail that he is no longer president so we should not speak of it.

So using your narrative what ever the PNC did in the past shouldn't be up for discussion.

First of all there was no destruction by Jagdeo, the only folks doing the destroying were the PNc with their street protests and support of criminals, freedom fighters, rioters, slow fiah mo fiah etc.  

Second, the people did not vote for the PNc to hear excuses about a man who has not been in power since 2010. They voted because they were told that the PNC had the answers. All they got was a govt with no vision, only focused on socu/sara, paying slop can carriers to write propaganda, taxation. They don't care about revenue growth through business expansion, but rather squeezing the people via taxation.. 

I don't think he destroyed anything.  He made his mistakes, but accomplished more than he lose.  He brought Guyana forward however, there were gaps and failings and some forced errors due to his style of leadership! He did drift away from the grass roots.  We could criticize him but I would never agree that he destroyed anything!

In this instance, I don't fully agree with the boycott however, I don't know all what transpired.  There is some back story more then him just deciding to boycott!

Without knowing more, I would prefer they attended as it's a national event!

....... All they got was a govt with no vision, only focused on socu/sara, paying slop can carriers to write propaganda, taxation. They don't care about revenue growth through business expansion, but rather squeezing the people via taxation.. 

The PNC has always been about blood-sucker economics, then and now!  This is why they will fail...but then there is oil!

First of all there was no destruction by Jagdeo,.

Oh so Guysuco is a highly profitable company and when the PPP appointee who was the CEO wailed that GuySICKO needed government to immediately inject millions of dollars or all the workers would have had to remain redundant, this being said in May 2015, even before the coalition formally took office. He lied?

Jagdeo destroyed GuySICKO as he did everything that he put his hands on.

ba$eman posted:
Amral posted:

Same shit always in Guyana. If it is not the opposition boycotting it is government 

Guyana is all about checkmate politics, and the people are simply pawns!

Yes Jagdeo set out to punish bauxite workers because they didn't vote PPP. So why scream when the PNC returns the favor to the PPP workers.

If Indians weren't so ethnocentric they would have learned that so went Guymine so might go Guysuco, but then I recall the boasts that "Indians are hard working so it doesn't matter what happens to sugar".

Now the wails and the screams.

Linden and Kwakwani are watching to noting that now Rosehall and Skeldon will punish just like them.

First of all there was no destruction by Jagdeo,.

Oh so Guysuco is a highly profitable company and when the PPP appointee who was the CEO wailed that GuySICKO needed government to immediately inject millions of dollars or all the workers would have had to remain redundant, this being said in May 2015, even before the coalition formally took office. He lied?

Jagdeo destroyed GuySICKO as he did everything that he put his hands on.

Jagdeo did not destroy Guysuco,  the parliament set out to save it from the backlash of the elimination of EU subsidies with the ill concieved Skeldon plant. The rest of the Caribbean took the decision to close down their sugar industry because they had tourism as a bakup. Guyana had nothing as backup, hence the attempt to modernize and remain competitive.  Guysuco was on its way out if no action was taken. Now jackass Granger looking to give away the factory to friends and family.

Jagdeo did not destroy Guysuco, .

He could have shifted its emphasis away from sugar and was in fact given assistance from the EU to do so.

FACT.  No company can survive if it spends 2c and earns back 1c. Surely even a jackass like you knows this.  It must re-invent itself to survive.

Jagdeo instead DUG IN by trying to expand sugar, and failed to do this encumbering Guysuco with US$200 million in debt in a white elephant. He was told NOT to do this and screamed and wailed and ranted at those who insisted that Skeldon factory was a bad idea.

Where is the money going to come from to endlessly bail out Guysuco?

BTW people who cut cane don't get jobs in hotels so it isn't as if tourism is a replacement for sugar.  I would argue that people who cut cane could be trained to plant other crops and to be offered a lease to own option on lands. 

Guysuco could have then gone into agri food processing and could have been sold to private interests in Guyana and T&T.  I could see DDL being an owner in a reduced Guysuco.  Or Angostura in T&T.

So in fact Guyana was in a BETTER position to reduce its sugar industry than was St Kitts.

But then this takes more brains than you and Jagdeo have!  The world is short of food, but isn't short of sugar.

And how is Guysuco competitive? In fact under Jagdeo is became LESS competitive as its production costs ESCALATED because of the Skeldon fiasco!  THAT is who Jagdeo destroyed Guysuco!

He could have shifted its emphasis away from sugar and was in fact given assistance from the EU to do so.

FACT.  No company can survive if it spends 2c and earns back 1c. Surely even a jackass like you knows this.  It must re-invent itself to survive.

Jagdeo instead DUG IN by trying to expand sugar, and failed to do this encumbering Guysuco with US$200 million in debt in a white elephant. He was told NOT to do this and screamed and wailed and ranted at those who insisted that Skeldon factory was a bad idea.

Where is the money going to come from to endlessly bail out Guysuco?

BTW people who cut cane don't get jobs in hotels so it isn't as if tourism is a replacement for sugar.  I would argue that people who cut cane could be trained to plant other crops and to be offered a lease to own option on lands. 

Guysuco could have then gone into agri food processing and could have been sold to private interests in Guyana and T&T.  I could see DDL being an owner in a reduced Guysuco.  Or Angostura in T&T.

So in fact Guyana was in a BETTER position to reduce its sugar industry than was St Kitts.

But then this takes more brains than you and Jagdeo have!  The world is short of food, but isn't short of sugar.

Hindsight is 20/20. Woulda coulda shoulda, makes you the expert. At the time only you could have predicted the demise of the Skeldon plant knowing what you know now as you could see into the future.  The fact is that parliament(not Jagdeo as parliament is not a dictatorship), decided to move forward with the Skeldon project with the blessing of Ramjattan and Nagamootoo. It was not Jagdeo's idea but that of Booker Tate which was implemented by parliament. All feasibility studies showed that the project would be successful hence the financing was secured. There is blame to go all around, yes, not only Jagdeo but the entire PPP and AFC defectors. 

And how is Guysuco competitive? In fact under Jagdeo is became LESS competitive as its production costs ESCALATED because of the Skeldon fiasco!  THAT is who Jagdeo destroyed Guysuco!

Like yuh head hard? Skeldon dragged down the industry to some extent, but even Skeldon aside, all other estates struggled with production efficiency.  The bottom line is that sugar had been on its death bead and the PPP put a bandaid which turned out to be laced with cyanide. This only pushed it to a quicker death. And your rantings about Guysuco bailouts, tell us how many years Guysuco was bailing out Guyana before it needed help itself. 

Jagdeo did not destroy Guysuco, .

Yes, it could!  The 2c is local input costs, the 1c equivalent is of forex earnings.  That 1c forex multiplies itself 10X in the local economy with the import of materiel for local industrial added-value.  And sugar is not a 2/1 ratio, admittedly, it is a 2 to something less that 2, but not 1!

This is why it must remain in Govt hands!