APNU/AFC did promise rice farmers $9000 per bag for Paddy

Sep 04, 2015, Kaieteur News

Dear Editor,

With regards Mr. Ganesh Mahipaul ‘s letter published in Kaieteur News on Monday August 31, 2015, I would like to bring to light to Mr. Mahipaul, the rice farmers and the Guyanese public that the APNU/ AFC did ,whole heartedly promised rice farmers $9000 per bag for paddy at several of their political meetings. This declaration was made with gusto by our Prime Minister, Mr. Moses Nagamootoo in Region Six , while our Public Security Minister, Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan ensured that he was not denied the opportunity and hence made this “juicy promise” to the rice farmers at political meetings in Regions 4 and 6.

This promise was eventually repeated by Dr. Turhane Doerga, who did not hesitate to jump on the bandwagon and the $9000 per bag declaration was made by him at a political meeting that was held in the rice growing community of Cane Grove in Region 4. Mr. Mahipaul should not be totally blamed for his lack of recollection for such a promise being made by men in high offices of the present Government. It is understood that by nature some people conveniently suffer from “fading recollection” of information to achieve their own purpose. The truth is that rice farmers were promised $9000 per bag of paddy by the current APNU/AFC Administration, and as we all know that one cannot, in any way, alter or improve the truth. In a world made up of a deceit, the APNU/AFC has used the “tool of deception” to its fullest and should by all means be given full credit for this deceptive scheme which will result in over 7000 rice farmers suffering the consequences for what surely looked like a failed promise.

As a rice farmer I am in full support of Mr. Jagdeo’s demand for the APNU/AFC Government to fulfill its promise to rice farmers. The leader for the opposition is simply doing his duty and what is right. This is not to gain political points as was mentioned in Mr. Mahipaul’s letter. The PPP/C is simply demanding that the Government deliver on its promise. What is wrong with holding the Government accountable?. They (Government) should see the wisdom of delivering on this promise knowing full well the importance of this vital industry to Guyana’s economy. Or maybe this is too much to expect of them. Rice farmers and the 150,000 people who depend on the rice industry directly and indirectly are sincerely hoping that the Government will make good on its promise and pay rice farmers $9000 per bag for their paddy. The Government should do the “wise thing” and live up to its promise. If not, this industry in no doubt will suffer severely under their governance.

Benjee Singh (Rice Farmer, Region # 4)

Remember APNU/AFC campaign slogan?

IT IS TIME!

It is time - for Moses Nagamootoo.

It is time - for young people to get jobs.

It is time - to tell lies and denied the truth.

Soon it will be time- to dig Guyana out from the grave. 

Is there a legitimate reason why you are not an English teacher somewhere??!!

He is meant for a higher destiny, to build houses without foundation. 

In a flood plain.

Lol... is Warria connected with the monument at Palmyra??

APNU/AFC did promise rice farmers $9000 per bag for Paddy

Sep 04, 2015, Kaieteur News

Dear Editor,

With regards Mr. Ganesh Mahipaul ‘s letter published in Kaieteur News on Monday August 31, 2015, I would like to bring to light to Mr. Mahipaul, the rice farmers and the Guyanese public that the APNU/ AFC did ,whole heartedly promised rice farmers $9000 per bag for paddy at several of their political meetings. This declaration was made with gusto by our Prime Minister, Mr. Moses Nagamootoo in Region Six , while our Public Security Minister, Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan ensured that he was not denied the opportunity and hence made this “juicy promise” to the rice farmers at political meetings in Regions 4 and 6.

This promise was eventually repeated by Dr. Turhane Doerga, who did not hesitate to jump on the bandwagon and the $9000 per bag declaration was made by him at a political meeting that was held in the rice growing community of Cane Grove in Region 4. Mr. Mahipaul should not be totally blamed for his lack of recollection for such a promise being made by men in high offices of the present Government. It is understood that by nature some people conveniently suffer from “fading recollection” of information to achieve their own purpose. The truth is that rice farmers were promised $9000 per bag of paddy by the current APNU/AFC Administration, and as we all know that one cannot, in any way, alter or improve the truth. In a world made up of a deceit, the APNU/AFC has used the “tool of deception” to its fullest and should by all means be given full credit for this deceptive scheme which will result in over 7000 rice farmers suffering the consequences for what surely looked like a failed promise.

As a rice farmer I am in full support of Mr. Jagdeo’s demand for the APNU/AFC Government to fulfill its promise to rice farmers. The leader for the opposition is simply doing his duty and what is right. This is not to gain political points as was mentioned in Mr. Mahipaul’s letter. The PPP/C is simply demanding that the Government deliver on its promise. What is wrong with holding the Government accountable?. They (Government) should see the wisdom of delivering on this promise knowing full well the importance of this vital industry to Guyana’s economy. Or maybe this is too much to expect of them. Rice farmers and the 150,000 people who depend on the rice industry directly and indirectly are sincerely hoping that the Government will make good on its promise and pay rice farmers $9000 per bag for their paddy. The Government should do the “wise thing” and live up to its promise. If not, this industry in no doubt will suffer severely under their governance.

Benjee Singh (Rice Farmer, Region # 4)

I hope no one try to demonize the letter writer... the coalition did promise this amount on the campaign trail... politicians lie all the time...

Warriabai, you talk like me  nanee an nana  who come from India and grow rice  ah Guvana to mek abie goo school

If dem gewt  education like some pun dis Guvana writing thing, dem woulda been able to rite betta and be  smart like dem too. But dem dead now,dem  mek abie come ah nice country wid adda people  who     tink dem  betta dan  abie.

Me sarry dem dead and gane wid no education  bvut me think some people pan dis writing thingh shame na done.

Bai,  watch de flies circle and dive down at the heap,at feeding time.

No..he did much better. He assisted with building a home for a poor family but some ungrateful PORTERS have nothing good to say about him because he does not hang out in their shit pile.

The issue is whether the promise was made to pay or ensure that rice farmers receive $9000 for a bag of paddy, not whether it was ever sold for that price. Warrior is trying to divert attention away from the issue. Moses is caught in a lie again. He lied about Cheddie promising him to be president. not voting for Jagdeo salary increase, the effects of the Cummingsburg Accord, etc. He is the APNU poodle.

Z

No..he did much better. He assisted with building a home for a poor family but some ungrateful PORTERS have nothing good to say about him because he does not hang out in their shit pile.

The second part below applies to Warrior. He did a slap dash job, when for a few dollars more he could have poured foundation. Not because the people poor should he treat them like second class citizens.

Matthew 7:24-27New Living Translation (NLT)

Building on a Solid Foundation

24 “Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. 25 Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock. 26 But anyone who hears my teaching and doesn’t obey it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. 27 When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will collapse with a mighty crash.”

THATS's COOL!

Zed posted:

The issue is whether the promise was made to pay or ensure that rice farmers receive $9000 for a bag of paddy, not whether it was ever sold for that price. Warrior is trying to divert attention away from the issue. Moses is caught in a lie again. He lied about Cheddie promising him to be president. not voting for Jagdeo salary increase, the effects of the Cummingsburg Accord, etc. He is the APNU poodle.

Moses is the biggest scumbag and liar. Notice how he is hiding from Indians these days and only visits Congress place to Praise Burnham. Karma will take care of this crook.

THATS's COOL!

YES, REAL COOL !!     Instead of sitting behind a keyboard and criticize. Its typical for some Guyanese to find fault, instead of assisting to do the work. For this reason, we might all be screwed and the   name  Guyana will remain  backwards  and us with it. With others looking down at us.

Some Guyanese don't need others to kill them self , they do it all alone in their negative lifestyle.

On the matter of this topic heading, I did hear  mentioned during the election campaign in Essequibo, $9000/bag for rice. But I cant remember who said it. This was my interest,  because my friend is a rice farmer there.  

Warria is my brother. He is an old dog who is set in his ways. Not everyone is programmed to be educated. We should not be so hard on him. At least he can read and write some.  

Tola posted:

THATS's COOL!

YES, REAL COOL !!     Instead of sitting behind a keyboard and criticize. Its typical for some Guyanese to find fault, instead of assisting to do the work. For this reason, we might all be screwed and the   name  Guyana will remain  backwards  and us with it. With others looking down at us.

Some Guyanese don't need others to kill them self , they do it all alone in their negative lifestyle.

On the matter of this topic heading, I did hear  mentioned during the election campaign in Essequibo, $9000/bag for rice. But I cant remember who said it. This was my interest,  because my friend is a rice farmer there.  

APNU/AFC never said rice farmers would be paid $9,000 per bag of paddy

Aug 31, 2015 Source

Dear Editor,
I have heard several times the opposition telling the government to fulfill the campaign promise of giving rice farmers $9000 per bag of paddy but I cannot recollect hearing such promise.
What I do remember is Dr. Turhane Doerga and Mr. Jinnah Rahaman telling the public at many public meetings of which I was in attendance that the previous government could have afforded to pay rice farmers nothing less than $3000 for a bag of paddy because the Venezuela deal is working out to somewhere around $9000 a bag of paddy.
Maybe the opposition, more specifically Jagdeo can provide the evidence to support his claim because I really cannot remember listening to any public speaker from the APNU\AFC saying rice farmers would get $9000 per bag of paddy.
It is my opinion that Jagdeo and his colleagues are trying to frustrate this new government by claiming what had never happened. It is factual that rice farmers should be paid better prices for their paddy but never did APNU\AFC say $9000.
Jagdeo as Opposition Leader, deliberately misleading the public for cheap political points is somewhat understood but as a former president, he should not lie to the public.
Then again, it is my opinion that lying to the public is a genetic feature of the PPP\C.
Ganesh Mahipaul

Rice farmers demand concessions …to cushion fallout from low paddy prices

October 7, 2015 Source

BACKED by the PPP, rice farmers who protested along the Vlissengen Road entrance to the Agriculture Ministry yesterday have promised to continue this exercise indefinitely, until a reasonable solution is found by government to assist with the poor prices of paddy and a static market.

Some of their placards read: “RPA demands tax concession for rice farmers”; “Rice Industry is not only private, GRDB is state entity for managing rice”; “Mr. President, where is the $23B?”; “Farmers need tax free fuel”; “Renew the PetroCaribe deal for rice”; among other things.
Some who travelled from as far as Region 2 (Pomeroon-Supenaam) and the Upper Corentyne, Berbice, said they feel the new government has a responsibility to keep the APNU+AFC manifesto promises.

Meanwhile, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder has disclosed that the government may consider the option of providing rice farmers with certain concessions. The considerations will be made as preparations for the 2016 fiscal budget are in high gear. The farmers are pleading with government to work towards the restoration of an industry which benefits thousands of rice farmers across the country. The farmers are also citing the promise made by the APNU+AFC on the campaign trail to make payments of up to $9,000 per bag of paddy.

Rice Producers Association (RPA) General Secretary Dharamkumar Seeraj, who was leading the protest, said the industry is going through some tough times, and farmers were promised high prices for their paddy in the period leading up to the May 11 elections. Underscoring that promises were made for $6,000 to $9,000 per bag of paddy if the APNU+AFC were elected to office, Seeraj said: “now we have a situation where farmers are getting $1,500 and $1,600 per bag of paddy, which will lead to a crisis.”

Request for concessions
Adding that rice farmers have protested many times before, he said farmers are requesting concessions on fuel, spare parts, and government input to cushion the present crisis in the rice industry.

“A lot of the farmers have not been paid for paddy supplied since last March… Another issue is that farmers have started harvesting and are getting very low prices, and there is no way they can survive on the present prices they are being offered currently.”

He explained: “This will definitely affect the next crop, and they will be unable to pay mortgages; and those who have borrowed from the banks will be unable to pay their loans, which would cause bankruptcy. Banks will go after them because of the Financial Institutional Act; loans may have to be restructured along with many other issues to assist farmers.”

He said this kind of protest will be continued until they see favourable responses from the government.
“Government cannot say that rice is private sector and they don’t want to intervene, while they are intervening with fiscal measures for the gold industry. Rice is much bigger than that, since 120,000 people benefit directly and indirectly from the rice industry. Now they say they may be considering concessions for next year. But until then, many farmers will not be able to go back into the crop because of the tremendous loss,” Seeraj lamented.

He said the rice board is totally financed by the farmers. “So you can’t say to the industry that is totally financed by farmers that they are private sector, then you totally control it and not want to give support to farmers.”

Oh oh..what a dirty Indian.

Rice Producers Association (RPA) General Secretary Dharamkumar Seeraj, who was leading the protest, said the industry is going through some tough times, and farmers were promised high prices for their paddy in the period leading up to the May 11 elections. Underscoring that promises were made for $6,000 to $9,000 per bag of paddy if the APNU+AFC were elected to office, Seeraj said: “now we have a situation where farmers are getting $1,500 and $1,600 per bag of paddy, which will lead to a crisis.”

This fella is the crook who can't account for loan borrowed from GRDB to pay Rice farmers.

Rice farmers demand concessions …to cushion fallout from low paddy prices

October 7, 2015 Source

BACKED by the PPP, rice farmers who protested along the Vlissengen Road entrance to the Agriculture Ministry yesterday have promised to continue this exercise indefinitely, until a reasonable solution is found by government to assist with the poor prices of paddy and a static market.

Some of their placards read: “RPA demands tax concession for rice farmers”; “Rice Industry is not only private, GRDB is state entity for managing rice”; “Mr. President, where is the $23B?”; “Farmers need tax free fuel”; “Renew the PetroCaribe deal for rice”; among other things.
Some who travelled from as far as Region 2 (Pomeroon-Supenaam) and the Upper Corentyne, Berbice, said they feel the new government has a responsibility to keep the APNU+AFC manifesto promises.

Meanwhile, Agriculture Minister Noel Holder has disclosed that the government may consider the option of providing rice farmers with certain concessions. The considerations will be made as preparations for the 2016 fiscal budget are in high gear. The farmers are pleading with government to work towards the restoration of an industry which benefits thousands of rice farmers across the country. The farmers are also citing the promise made by the APNU+AFC on the campaign trail to make payments of up to $9,000 per bag of paddy.

Request for concessions
Adding that rice farmers have protested many times before, he said farmers are requesting concessions on fuel, spare parts, and government input to cushion the present crisis in the rice industry.

“A lot of the farmers have not been paid for paddy supplied since last March… Another issue is that farmers have started harvesting and are getting very low prices, and there is no way they can survive on the present prices they are being offered currently.”

He explained: “This will definitely affect the next crop, and they will be unable to pay mortgages; and those who have borrowed from the banks will be unable to pay their loans, which would cause bankruptcy. Banks will go after them because of the Financial Institutional Act; loans may have to be restructured along with many other issues to assist farmers.”

He said this kind of protest will be continued until they see favourable responses from the government.
“Government cannot say that rice is private sector and they don’t want to intervene, while they are intervening with fiscal measures for the gold industry. Rice is much bigger than that, since 120,000 people benefit directly and indirectly from the rice industry. Now they say they may be considering concessions for next year. But until then, many farmers will not be able to go back into the crop because of the tremendous loss,” Seeraj lamented.

He said the rice board is totally financed by the farmers. “So you can’t say to the industry that is totally financed by farmers that they are private sector, then you totally control it and not want to give support to farmers.”

I HATE WHEN THESE  - CUT AND PASTE PNC PEOPLE - MESS UP MY THREAD WITH RUBBISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ganesh Mahipaul is an AFC mole, so what do you expect him to say, he is no different than Django  who has himself and families living and benefiting from the PNC government in Guyana. What a shame, you guys barking like PNC Bull Dogs just for a bone.

I HATE WHEN THESE  - CUT AND PASTE PNC PEOPLE - MESS UP MY THREAD WITH RUBBISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well i have noticed you also cut and paste,the two articles are rebuttal to the one you posted,should we swallow your post only.By the way who is PNC ??

I hate it too, but we have to find out whether Django was taught "précis" in school. Then you and I have to volunteer to teach Django how to précis. Are you up to the challenge? For Django:

pré·cis
prāˈsē,ˈprāsē/
noun

1. 1.
    a summary or abstract of a text or speech.

Ganesh Mahipaul is an AFC mole, so what do you expect him to say, he is no different than Django  who has himself and families living and benefiting from the PNC government in Guyana. What a shame, you guys barking like PNC Bull Dogs just for a bone.

kp,

my family are PPPites they live moderately and carry on with their lives,all have the means to put food on the table,they aren't the bitch and moan type.

kp,

my family are PPPites they live moderately and carry on with their lives,all have the means to put food on the table,they aren't the bitch and moan type.

Do your PPPites family read your posts on this BB????

kp,

So you are the back stabber.  Do they know that you are Pnc.

kp,

Do your PPPites family read your posts on this BB????

Maam,they know where i stand and they have great respect for my views.

kp,

So you are the back stabber.  Do they know that you are Pnc.

Bhai,where did you get i am a PNC ??

I don't cow tow to any party,

just saw a post Harmon instruct the customs to back off from an SUV imported by his friend B.T.