Our Hero and Saviour Bharat. He will not be matched by any other Indo in 1000 years.

He stood toe to toe with the PNC sponsored terrorists hellbent in murdering Indos at will.

Dont you ever choke on your own bullshit? A significant number of educated Indians ( not you of course) would reject jagdeo given he is a crook and they will not want him to further tarnish their good name. The Indian elite do not want to be the slave to another Putin

Our Hero and Saviour Bharat. He will not be matched by any other Indo in 1000 years.

He stood toe to toe with the PNC sponsored terrorists hellbent in murdering Indos at will.

Dont you ever choke on your own bullshit? A significant number of educated Indians ( not you of course) would reject jagdeo given he is a crook and they will not want him to further tarnish their good name. The Indian elite do not want to be the slave to another Putin

What a bizarre statement coming from GNI's most notorious liar. How soon you forget that you got caught lying about knowing Fip. You must really feel salty or you got no shame.

I do not know how you can catch me lying when I see him on our school register. I know who he was as a kid. He was not my friend. I did not remember him until I saw him on the school site. Now you go and pretend you catch me in a lie all you want

Are you trying to cover up a lie with another lie? Did you attend Tagore High School? I doubt it. If you didn't, then you must have known another  Makeshwar Motilall. I would doubt very much there was another Makeshwar Motilall around in Guyana.  A good piece of advice to you:YOU DO NOT KNOW EVERYONE. ACCEPT THE FACT AND MOVE, GIVE SOME ELSE THE TITLE OF "FATHER OF ALL LIARS". Or do you want to be the "mother of all liars"?

Skelly,

The Honourable Rev used to describe D2 as have a male version of menopause. He was 100 percent correct.

The compulsive liar D2 has been busted for lying once again !!! D2 does it again !!!

He cannot fool us Berbicians.

He has the nerve to label ALL Indos as racists and refuses to accept an Indian National Hero. 

Don't expect this man to admit his error. Some 10 years back he claimed that a saki winki was a bird, to this day he has not recanted. 

RiffRaff posted:

Any hero yet...or yall still got plenty jan jaat?

Yes, the clear consensus is that Jagdeo should be nominated due to his efforts countering the onslaught by PNC operatives during his time in office. 

Definition of 'consensus': 

general agreement.
"a consensus of opinion among judges"

Definition of'clear': 

leaving no doubt; obvious or unambiguous.
"it was clear that they were in a trap"
synonyms:obvious, evident, plain

CONCLUSION: There is no clear consensus on Jagdeo. Indeed, there are some dissenting opinions. Re-read all the comments.

Gilly, even you who was led astray by the slop can crew, will admit that Jagdeo is the man of the decade in Guyana.  It appears you were living under a rock during the dark days in Guyana, freedom fighters running loose, PNC street protesters beating Indians randomly and burning their property. The Bartica/Lusignan/Lindo creek massacre by pnc fineman and his gang. Jaggy did what was needed to bring the country under control and even managed to grow the economy as well as triple the price of house and land. 

RiffRaff posted:

Any hero yet...or yall still got plenty jan jaat?

Yes, the clear consensus is that Jagdeo should be nominated due to his efforts countering the onslaught by PNC operatives during his time in office. 

Put some funds towards a statue now....make sure it's not the same people building that Indian Arrival monument

Don't expect this man to admit his error. Some 10 years back he claimed that a saki winki was a bird, to this day he has not recanted. 

I know..like I have a dollar store!

Zed posted:

The question underlies basic issues. Is there a national consensus about what constitute a national consciousness or a national understanding?  Another issue is how was Cuffy selected as the National Hero? Was there national consensus on his selection? Is Cuffy's stature as a national hero tied up in some way with the Burnham dictatorship and what it meant for a significant section of the population?

before D2 gents into a rant, no, I do not believe in having national heroes based on ethnic requirements. Nor do I believe that Balram Singh Rai could be a likely candidate.

Kofi was selected as a liberation symbol. Compared to him no other person so successfully motivated the entire society to resist the might of a empire.

Balram Singh Rai was a segregationist and colonial pawn not a national hero. His position to head a party was to act as a wedge to resistance against the colonials.

Compared to him no other person so successfully motivated the entire society to resist the might of a empire.

To be fair...there were no other races (except Amerindians and whites) in Guyana at the time..NO?

Cuffy (Kofi..same person??) was a hero to Africans because he liberated them from slavery. He is a symbol...just as Walter Rodney was a symbol of resistance to all Guyanese.

However, when ethnic groups consider people like Jagan and Baliram Singh as their heroes but others tell them NO, that is where the problems develop.

Who is making the judgment call? AND, who are we to tell others that the person they consider a hero is NOT a hero. By the same token, there are people who want to revive Burnham, the Kabaka, to revise history and make him a hero to all. You and others should not have a problem with this except to point out Burnham's fallacies.

Gandhi is a hero to most Indians (1 billion plus) but there are Africans removing his statues throughout Africa because they have some issues with him. Should Indians not condemn Gandhi and reevaluate his weaknesses and strengths?

My point: We need to be sensitive how we define our heroes. By this logic, if most Indians (the largest ethnic group) continue to see Jagdeo as a champion of their cause at this time, who are we to tell Indians that they are misguided? 

Vintage D2

Nice to read your posting again

Vish M
Ramakant-P posted:

Guyana does not need a national hero. They need food, clothing and housing.  Anyone who give them those necessities will be a national hero.

Guyana has all the resources to do that for all on a 3 day week. The people are clearly not motivated, creative or want to be there. They are looking over into their neighbor's yard.

I know..like I have a dollar store!

At least you are not begging on the streets. That Howard education came to some use. 

Gilly, even you who was led astray by the slop can crew, will admit that Jagdeo is the man of the decade in Guyana.  It appears you were living under a rock during the dark days in Guyana, freedom fighters running loose, PNC street protesters beating Indians randomly and burning their property. The Bartica/Lusignan/Lindo creek massacre by pnc fineman and his gang. Jaggy did what was needed to bring the country under control and even managed to grow the economy as well as triple the price of house and land. 

Drugb, should I regard you as The Moving Target Man? First, you told RiffRaff about a 'clear consensus'. I pointed out there is no clear consensus here according to the dictionary definitions. Further, I invited you to verify my statement by re-reading all the thread's comments. Instead of doing that as a gentleman would, you now bring up more of your hero's "qualifying" properties and, true to form, you dashed in some ad hominem words. 

Drugb, Gilly respects your right to name Jagdeo as your Indian hero. Please respect my right to name Balram Singh Rai as my Indian hero. And other posters who named their preferred heroes, please respect their rights too. 

Let me repeat: There is NO CLEAR CONSENSUS on this issue.

Drugb, should I regard you as The Moving Target Man? First, you told RiffRaff about a 'clear consensus'. I pointed out there is no clear consensus here according to the dictionary definitions. Further, I invited you to verify my statement by re-reading all the thread's comments. Instead of doing that as a gentleman would, you now bring up more of your hero's "qualifying" properties and, true to form, you dashed in some ad hominem words. 

Drugb, Gilly respects your right to name Jagdeo as your Indian hero. Please respect my right to name Balram Singh Rai as my Indian hero. And other posters who named their preferred heroes, please respect their rights too. 

Let me repeat: There is NO CLEAR CONSENSUS on this issue.

If you told me that this Balram Singh beat back the PNC, I would agree. However I don't even know who he is, maybe some obscure figure from the 60's. Never heard of him during my time growing up under the PNC and seeing the destruction by Burnham and his crew. 

How about Banwaree? An indentured man of 1838, maimed by jiggers. He lost a leg and was refused to honor his servitude contract. He bear his chafee in GT fetching uppity Black folks baskets from Big Market. Never serious about giving him a frek, they chased him after reaching, houts dog on him and have lil chidren called him dutty skin cooolie.

This chap is an East Indian national Hero. He signifies that no matter what are the trials of East Indians, they will find a way to life. Burnham years was really a trial for Indians. And like Banwaree, they bear their chafee and survived.

Banwaree would look great along side Cuffy. One almost naked and the other clothed in torn rags.

Ramakant-P posted:

Guyana does not need a national hero. They need food, clothing and housing.  Anyone who give them those necessities will be a national hero.

Guyana has all the resources to do that for all on a 3 day week. The people are clearly not motivated, creative or want to be there. They are looking over into their neighbor's yard.

that is very true...grass always seem greener on the other side

RiffRaff posted:
Ramakant-P posted:

that is very true...grass always seem greener on the other side

Nonsense, the people lack leadership in both private and public sector.  You folks ran out of Guyana to a ready made nation without making any of the sacrifices for nation building, now you got the nerve to look down your nose at those who remained behind.