The National Hero for East Indians in Guyana is none other than Anant Ram.  The first Indian to step on shore in British Guiana on May 5th, 1838 when he stepped of the Whitby, which took 112 days to cross the Kaala Pani from Calcutta, India.

The question of National Hero isn't one easily answered since like it or not, the majority of opinions are swayed by race. I remember when the Cuffy dollar coin was released and people wanted nothing to do with a coin that had  ''the head of a blackman" on it. I am proud to say I have over 50 in my collection. While Cuffy is A national hero, he is not THE national hero and one has to question how and why he was chosen to have a statue erected in his name. I believe it was a highly political statement by LFSB. The 1763 uprising while significant was not the definitive event. My memory is a little vague here but didn't Cuffy after having an argument with another slave leader, I believe it was Accara, bury the weapons and in so doing lead to their defeat? Mind you, the colonial powers of that time were going to quell any such rebellion. Remember other colonial powers came to the aid of the Dutch. The 1823 Rebellion however is a different matter. In this context, Quamina would have been a better choice. My choice for another National Hero, Heroes in this case, would be the Enmore Martyrs.

The National Hero for East Indians in Guyana is none other than Anant Ram.  The first Indian to step on shore in British Guiana on May 5th, 1838 when he stepped of the Whitby, which took 112 days to cross the Kaala Pani from Calcutta, India.

Another Excellent Choice.

Picture Anant Ram wearing his Dhoti and Kurta disembarking with the Whitby in the background with hundreds of our forefathers from India. 

Please keep the choices coming. Indos deserve a monument of a National Hero.

I believe a great Indian hero is alive and will reveal himself in the very near future. Men become heroes during times of crisis. We are heading into a major crisis. A crisis of unparallel scale and destruction.  The time for sacrifice is coming and it is coming fast. Be prepared to make the ultimate when the hour comes. 

Please...the only sacrifice is maybe forgoing lazing around in Guyana for some hard work overseas

 While Cuffy is A national hero, he is not THE national hero and one has to question how and why he was chosen to have a statue erected in his name. I believe it was a highly political statement by LFSB. The 1763 uprising while significant was not the definitive event. My memory is a little vague here but didn't Cuffy after having an argument with another slave leader, I believe it was Accara, bury the weapons and in so doing lead to their defeat? 

There were three leaders of the 1763 slave revolt: Cuffy, Accara and Accabre.

Burnham believed Cuffy was the hero. Jagan believed Accabre was the hero.

Jagan underlined his point by naming the PPP ideological school ACCABRE COLLEGE. Lots of ignars thought the school was named after a Russian.

. A case in point...Cuffy is seen as an African hero (yes, wrongfully so), but is Gandhi and Jagan seen as a hero for Africans?

It is the sickness of Guyana why SOME will consider Cuffy to be an ethnic hero. His selection was because his revolt was the first major attempt by Guyanese to seek their liberation.

It is appropriate for a multi ethnic nation to seek to ensure that its NATIONAL heroes represent the full gamut of what the nation represents. So I am perfectly fine with Kowsilla being selected, from what I know of her. She represents the struggle of the working class and of Guyanese women.  She was also not a politician, and in fact showed bravery.

If Jagdeo is selected then chose Burnham as well as they are two peas in a pod. Evil and full of themselves.

Guyana will remain the laughing stock of the Caribbean if the Indo KKK continues to think that Indian and Indian considerations alone be factored in. Such behavior then creates a "blacklash" and here we continue to collapse further into the sordid latrine that Guyana has become.

 While Cuffy is A national hero, he is not THE national hero and one has to question how and why he was chosen to have a statue erected in his name. I believe it was a highly political statement by LFSB. The 1763 uprising while significant was not the definitive event. My memory is a little vague here but didn't Cuffy after having an argument with another slave leader, I believe it was Accara, bury the weapons and in so doing lead to their defeat? 

There were three leaders of the 1763 slave revolt: Cuffy, Accara and Accabre.

Burnham believed Cuffy was the hero. Jagan believed Accabre was the hero.

Jagan underlined his point by naming the PPP ideological school ACCABRE COLLEGE. Lots of ignars thought the school was named after a Russian.

Cuffy was the overall leader of the rebellion.

If the Indo KKK found out that the PPP school was named after "one blackman" they would have hurled themselves into a funeral pyre.

, he continues to be beloved in Guyana, especially among Blacks. They called him the father of the nation during his tenure

Please explain why in 2006 they decided to stay home or vote AFC when they were angry with Corbin.  He didn't get their votes.  They didn't vote PPP in 2011 and they definitely did NOT in 2015, despite the high visibility of Jagdeo in that election.

Its a pity that your racism leads you to cite the words of ONE hungry soup licker in Linden, and another former Hammie Green thug who ran to the PPP when he discovered that they paid more.

The fact that less than 7 percent vote for him affirms that lie. You imagine others are in convulsions. He is easier for the APNU to run against because he has a record as a crook.

He would have picked up another 25% had he run for a 3rd term.  

He didn't pick up 25% in 2011 or in 2015 and by 2006 blacks were quite familiar with him.  He was very visible in the 2015 election. If Jagdeo was loved by blacks they would have followed his exhortations to vote PPP.

Blacks hate Jagdeo and consider him to be Satan.  I do recall after 2011 when all the Indo KKK like you were screaming "dem blackman ungrateful" and you threatened to starve out Linden when that town rejected the PPP.  Linden remember how the PPP slaughtered them by turning out in record numbers in 2015 to REJECT the PPP.

Cobra posted:

Indians can never be national heroes when they frightened Blackman. 

Speak for yourself,looks like you a wan coward.

You didn't crossbreed with Negro? 

You might be surprised how many don't know their identity.  I was watching some pictures and videos from a PNC event that took place in Brooklyn last Friday night.  And some abbey coolie didn't waste time to show up and "chattaay" as the old people used to say.  When you mek youself small, you get small boy treatment.  Self esteem and dignity is a very important thing.

He is then told to sell plaintain chips and tambrind ball.  

You should then love Granger because Jagdeo left Lindeners to do the same one when he sold the bauxite industry and 80% of the workers lost their jobs.

In fact these were the same persons who called Jagdeo the father of the nation when he gave them computer training and massive retrenchment back pay to hold them over. Many of them had hard head and could not take the computer training. That is when the PPP stepped in to facilitate jobs in the mining industry and overseas in the Islands. 

You are sick get the matter in your cranium checked.

No one need to know about your porno fantasies,maybe Yugi is interested that's why he posted the pic from a different angle of the monument imagining his short comings.

The goes to show how knowledgeable you are about Guyana. Back in the 70's and 80's, every school child knew the running joke about cuffy pumping.  Nuff of yall jackasses out of touch with Guyana. 

, he continues to be beloved in Guyana, especially among Blacks. They called him the father of the nation during his tenure

Please explain why in 2006 they decided to stay home or vote AFC when they were angry with Corbin.  He didn't get their votes.  They didn't vote PPP in 2011 and they definitely did NOT in 2015, despite the high visibility of Jagdeo in that election.

Its a pity that your racism leads you to cite the words of ONE hungry soup licker in Linden, and another former Hammie Green thug who ran to the PPP when he discovered that they paid more.

He did get significant numbers of the Black votes. In fact, had he run in 2011, it would have increased to some 20%. 

He didn't pick up 25% in 2011 or in 2015 and by 2006 blacks were quite familiar with him.  He was very visible in the 2015 election. If Jagdeo was loved by blacks they would have followed his exhortations to vote PPP.

Blacks hate Jagdeo and consider him to be Satan.  I do recall after 2011 when all the Indo KKK like you were screaming "dem blackman ungrateful" and you threatened to starve out Linden when that town rejected the PPP.  Linden remember how the PPP slaughtered them by turning out in record numbers in 2015 to REJECT the PPP.

Just as Hillary lost despite Obama's support, so did Ramoutar. At the end of the day no ex president can translate the love of the people to another person. 

No one need to know about your porno fantasies,maybe Yugi is interested that's why he posted the pic from a different angle of the monument imagining his short comings.

The goes to show how knowledgeable you are about Guyana. Back in the 70's and 80's, every school child knew the running joke about cuffy pumping.  Nuff of yall jackasses out of touch with Guyana. 

Banna you are donkey,check your grey matter in your cranium.

I believe a great Indian hero is alive and will reveal himself in the very near future. Men become heroes during times of crisis. We are heading into a major crisis. A crisis of unparallel scale and destruction.  The time for sacrifice is coming and it is coming fast. Be prepared to make the ultimate when the hour comes. 

i know for sure it will not be you this is not the time for wimps

If the Indo KKK found out that the PPP school was named after "one blackman" they would have hurled themselves into a funeral pyre.

That's presumably why they convinced themselves Accabre was a caucasian Muscovite comrade. Vladimir Accabre.

The school trained subversive comrades of the PPP. The comrades were trained by the selected ones sent to the Soviet Union for subversive training. Returning to Guiana, they were given teaching postions at Acrabe.

Everything about the Jagans were Soviet, so it is not surprising that a faction of Guyanese saw their endeavours as Soviet.

Striving to stay young is one thing but an old rass like you identifying with school children is unhealthy.

Banna you are donkey,check your grey matter in your cranium.

What grey matter?? That calabash empty and please don't insult donkeys.

In fact these were the same persons who called Jagdeo the father of the nation when he gave them computer training

Yes he taught them how to turn on and off a PC, but did nothing to attract investment to Linden, so those skills were useless.

I suggest to Jagdeo that he is a fool if he thought that the PPP clown he called him "daddy" represented Linden because Linden turned out to vote in 2006 and the PPP was STOMPED. Again stomped in 2011 and in 2015 DEMOLISHED because they wanted to punish the PPP which tried to slaughter them on the bridge.

You can furnish no evidence that the PPP was ever loved in Linden.

I assume that most of you are from Berbice,  anyone from GT would confirm that the statue of cuffy is made fun of for masturbating by even pnc supporters. In fact the PNC supporters screamed how the depiction of cuffy was monsterous and not a complement to the real man.

Don't worry. Yuji wants to know why Cuffy had to resort to pumping when his PPP behind is lusting for such ample PNC equipment.  Yuji is greased and bent over and wanting to know what Cuffy is waiting for. I suspect that Yuji's wrinkles made something belonging to Cuffy get very soft.

That's presumably why they convinced themselves Accabre was a caucasian Muscovite comrade. Vladimir Accabre.

This was like when Yuji or cobra had to be put on suicide watch when one of their relatives married a black man. Shaitan bust open that story and the rage want on for days.  The "shame" of the family all out for all to see.

I mean a black man is OK for them but not for their female relatives. Shaitaan busted open that story to that many sons of the Indo elites had black boy friends, maybe to spite their fathers.

This was like when Yuji or cobra had to be put on suicide watch when one of their relatives married a black man. Shaitan bust open that story and the rage want on for days.  The "shame" of the family all out for all to see.

I mean a black man is OK for them but not for their female relatives. Shaitaan busted open that story to that many sons of the Indo elites had black boy friends, maybe to spite their fathers.

Our brahmana family will never cross the line. Keep your BS lies about Yuji and his relatives to you self. PNC liar !!!

You are a racist PNC thug who is like a wolf in sheep clothing.

Day in and day out you support a bunch of PNC racists, not once have you spoken out against the harassment of Indos.

You show up to mess up a thread dedicated to Indo heroes because you can't stand Indos due to your inherent racism.

Gwan Suh !!! Huut !!! Huutt !!!

Carib has spoken out against the PNC govt and their ill treatment to all. You are a dumb  lying racist skunk. To you and ur buddies everything that sleazebag fag BJ did was fine so who is the lying racist bullshitter?

And Yuji has screamed that blacks are a vile bunch of creatures and that none in his family will ever marry one.

As an honorable member of the Indo KKK no wonder Yuji has these views.

Our brahmana family will never cross the line. Keep your BS lies about Yuji and his relatives to you self. PNC liar !!!

You are a racist PNC thug who is like a wolf in sheep clothing.

Day in and day out you support a bunch of PNC racists, not once have you spoken out against the harassment of Indos.

You show up to mess up a thread dedicated to Indo heroes because you can't stand Indos due to your inherent racism.

Gwan Suh !!! Huut !!! Huutt !!!

you such a high caste indian name a indo hero or if you ever see one in action