April 12, 2017 Source

TWO judges and a sitting member of the board of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) are reportedly on the shortlist of names which Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo intends to send to President David Granger for the post of chair of the elections body.
Jagdeo recently told another newspaper that he had shortlisted eight names for the new list, which he intends to finalise in another week or two. President David Granger recently laid out the criteria for the position, among them being that the person must have no political affiliation and that the person should have the general characteristics of honesty, integrity, faithfulness, and diligence.

The Guyana Chronicle understands that the list of persons which Jagdeo is expected to submit to President Granger includes: Retired Justices: Claudette Singh and B.S. Roy. Other nominees include former PPP Member of Parliament and GECOM commissioner, Bibi Shadick, Attorneys Timothy Jonas and Kashir Khan and environmentalist, Annette Arjoon-Martins.
Shadick, a former minister under the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) administration, was sworn in as a GECOM commissioner in September 2015. Justice Claudette Singh, a legal luminary with 40 years of experience, was appointed Senior Counsel in January this year.

She was called to the Bar in London in 1973 and admitted to the Bar in Guyana in 1976. Justice Singh served as the Deputy Solicitor General and as a Puisne Judge and a Justice of Appeal. During her tenure at the Chamber of the Attorney General (AG), she spearheaded the Modernisation of the Justice Reform Project and is currently serving as the Guyana Police Force’s Legal Advisor.

In 2001, Justice Singh had famously pronounced over an election petition which declared the 1997 elections null and void. The judge made the declaration on the grounds that a requirement for voter identification was beyond the legal authority of the Constitution of Guyana. As such, the PPP’s five-year term in office was cut to four years.
Justice B.S. Roy has presided over the courts for a number of years. Recently, the Court of Appeal ruled that the presidential term limit was null and void. Justice Roy along with retired Chancellor of the Judiciary (ag) Carl Singh, upheld a previous ruling made by retired Chief Justice Ian Chang.

Jonas has been in the legal profession for over two decades. He served as President of the Guyana Bar Association from 2010 to 2012. After assuming office, the government appointed several state boards. Jonas was named Chairman of the Competition and Consumers’ Affairs Board.
Khan has also served the legal profession here for a number of years. He also served as President of the Guyana Bar Association. Arjoon-Martins, a qualified pilot and aviation manager, spent many years as a conservationist, mainly in the marine sector.

In January, President Granger made it clear that he will choose someone who is fit to be a judge as the new chairperson of GECOM. During his weekly recording of ‘The Public Interest’, the President revealed that the Constitution is clear on the required qualifications and it is obvious that what the drafters of the document had in mind was someone who had arrived at the position of a judge. The President made the comments after he deemed “unacceptable” a list which the Opposition Leader had submitted.

Having had his first list rejected, Jagdeo then requested that the President explain what he interprets as “fit and proper” before a second list could be submitted. The letter he (Jagdeo) received on March 16, 2017, detailed the “qualities that the candidate to be Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission should possess.”

As reported by this newspaper last month , Jagdeo noted that he had decided to return to and consult with civil society bodies which had participated in December 2016 consultations with him. Late last month he met with 55 representatives of 33 civil society organisations. The representatives included religious leaders; members of the private sector; trade unions, including the Guyana Trades Union Congress (GTUC) and the Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Guyana (FITUG); Indigenous organisations, including the National Toshaos Council; the Indian Action Committee (IAC); and the Justice Institute.

No, Granger wouldn't pick any of them.  New rules - You have to have red hair, weigh less than 90 lbs. and speak 13 languages then you will can become Chairman of GECOM.

Wuh stinkin excuse...he gonna talk bout you?

His FILTH HEAD will kiss his ask and lick his gravy.): That is you FILTH HEAD Cain , I understand why you need the explanation.

BJ like he lost his marbles. No one will  be acceptable to Granger. Dumbger want someone who will rig elections so that he can stay in power. He already has one of his army buddies lined up for the job. You want to take a guess - 

Last edited by randolph

CHRONICLE HEADLINE: "GECOM chairman – BS Roy, Claudette Singh on new list"

DJANGO HEADLINE: "GECOM chairman - BS Roy, Claudette Singh on new list, will Granger pick one from the list??"

GNI Political has a better Editor than Chronicle, folks.

Have been thinking one name on the new list is Granger pick he had in mind,

Gill, come in wha you seh bout this new list.

Gill will not share his thinking with Django. When Django openly declares he will fight for free and fair election in 2020, Gill will consider sharing his thinking with Django on Granger's pick for GECOM Head. 

Meanwhile, Django's consistent posts denouncing and demonizing Jagdeo is leading Gill to believe that Django will turn a blind eye to rigged election just to keep Jagdeo out. 

randolph posted:

BJ like he lost his marbles. No one will  be acceptable to Granger. Dumbger want someone who will rig elections so that he can stay in power. He already has one of his army buddies lined up for the job. You want to take a guess - 

Army buddy who is a judge, if I may add.

Gill will not share his thinking with Django. When Django openly declares he will fight for free and fair election in 2020, Gill will consider sharing his thinking with Django on Granger's pick for GECOM Head. 

Meanwhile, Django's consistent posts denouncing and demonizing Jagdeo is leading Gill to believe that Django will turn a blind eye to rigged election just to keep Jagdeo out. 

Ha..ha..you let the cat out of the bag,was suspecting for a while now.

What does that mean? I declared up to recently that I want free and fair elections in 2020. I also said honestly that if the majority of voters choose the PPP in 2020 I will respect that. That is democracy. I am not a voter in Guyana's elections. Now, if you're playing dumb and you want me to complete the equation, here is my declaration: If the 2020 election is free and fair, and if APNU/PNC wins, I will respect that too. I cannot be more candid than that. Gilbakka does not put personal animosity before democracy. There were 1,001 reasons why I should not have supported APNU+AFC and Granger in the 2015 election but I did, to my regret. 

Sorry bass,I missed your declaration.

"Democracy means different things to different people"

I found an interesting article read  here

I would agree to that...whatever is necessary to keep a crook out...except I don't think this has to be done. Even though some errors were done and some stupid moves were taken,I still keep the faith in Granger to do the right thing. BJ not a dam chance, not when he is still in lie mode.

"Democracy means different things to different people"

I found an interesting article read  here

Look, guy, reading a bundle of your posts I conclude that when you're cornered you behave not like a frightened rat but a sly smartass rat. You resort to prevaricating, equivocating, shilly-shallying, sidestepping, evading, beating around the bush etc.

But Gilbakka will beat you with your own stick, namely, that "interesting article" you recommend to me. Here is a quote from it: "I already mentioned Iraq. Take a look at the democracy there. Yes, it means free elections and an outcome that represents the will of the majority. But that’s where the similarity between American democracy and Iraqi democracy ends. Here at home, democracy means that within a few weeks of the election, the winner has the loser over to the house for white turkey chili. In Iraq, the winner — the majority’s choice — does what he can to silence the losers — the minority — maybe to crush them, and in response, the losers set off bombs to obstruct the winner’s governance."

Now, applying the American-style democracy to Guyana, did the winner David Granger invite the loser Donald Ramotar to his house for white turkey chili or duck curry or chinese fried rice? NO. Instead, Granger seems to be applying the Iraqi formula to crush the losing PPP. Is that the kinda democracy you want? Yes or No? Don't resort to poooosy-foooting.

Well bhai,

more than gobblers,quack quack and the famous chinese fry rice was offered, here is a quote from Granger when he was sworn in

“I extend the arm of friendship to former president, Donald Ramotar, and the members of the PPP to join this great movement of national unity,” President Granger said on Saturday May 17 moments after he took the oath of office.

The Head of State also stated “We the Guyanese people have chosen to inaugurate a ‘government of national unity’ and to promote our multi-party, inclusionary partnership. We are convinced that this is the best way to overcome our historic divisions.”

take note the Former President Ramotar and members of the PPP were invited,we all saw what happened,Ramotar was shoved aside and the "Sly Rat" took the reins after that excuses were made not to take the offer.

The "Sly Rrat" thinks he got the "bardaan" to look after the affairs of the people,that rat love to slide in thru the backdoor,I will not support no "Con"

You not only drink the Snakeoil but asked for seconds. Stupidity has no limit for you!!  Measuring the depth of STUPIDITY will be impossible for any Scientist working on you!!!!!!!!!!

Well bhai,

more than gobblers,quack quack and the famous chinese fry rice was offered, here is a quote from Granger when he was sworn in

“I extend the arm of friendship to former president, Donald Ramotar, and the members of the PPP to join this great movement of national unity,” President Granger said on Saturday May 17 moments after he took the oath of office.

The Head of State also stated “We the Guyanese people have chosen to inaugurate a ‘government of national unity’ and to promote our multi-party, inclusionary partnership. We are convinced that this is the best way to overcome our historic divisions.”

Time has proved the hollowness of Granger's words at his swearing-in ceremony. He raised hopes for many including Gilbakka and then he dashed our hopes less than two months later with giving his ministers Cadillac-style salaries in a donkey-cart economy. Then his government turned and disappointed public servants, market vendors, small street vendors, etc.

At no time did I ever think that the AFC would be regarded as an equal partner of APNU. What I saw in 2015 is the PNC using the AFC in the same way as the PNC used the UF so many decades ago. While the accord required that some AFC members be appointed to certain key ministerial positions, The PNC went about neutralizing that obligations by creating other ministerial positions to overlook those AFC members and then for good measure creating junior ministerial positions to complete the boxing in of those AFC ministers. All this did apart from making those AFC members basically inconsequential is guarantee the rebirth of the old style PNC rule. Granger is part of that old style PNC regime and so is Norton. Nagamootoo is basically rendered impotent and he knows it. Now Granger asking for someone who does not support any political party is guaranteeing that there is never a Chairman of GECOM as I am willing to bet that everyone in Guyana supports one party of the other. No fully functioning elections commission means no elections. What an excellent excuse that is for Granger.

I used to see the AFC as check for the PNC and PPP. Unfortunately the AFC sold their soul for their ambition and since Guyana does not have a true representative government, it is winner take all. Given the haplessness of the current government there doesn't seem to be much left to take.