My friend is an investment banker and he runs a small farm. He has 50 acres or so and a few milk cows, a portion allocated to hay and the rest to seasonal vegetables. He also has an apple orchard that I visit in the fall for apples. He makes a few hundred gallons of apple cider each year.  He already makes craft beer. To him it is all for fun not profit though I suspect he makes money though.

One of the guys who works for me has a large farm.  He has to get up at 4 am to feed the animals and spends many hours after work looking after them.  His wife works full time on it.  That's too much work for me.  Maybe after retirement I could raise some animals to feed Schenectady LOL.

There is a lot of farmers here on GNI you can probably tell who they are. Them does dig shit and plant onion, when them open them mouth it stink like hell, that will make you cry like when peeling onions. Ayo know them is who.

On another note I doan mind having a goat farm     

ball

I think there is a certain age when one can realistically think of becoming a farmer. At 65 years, it is an impractical proposition for me. I think the best years of farming life lie between ages 20 and 60. 

In today's world,  age does not matter, you can plant grass the smoking type, there is no age barrier for that, it is also a very lucrative cash crop. HeHeHe   

ball
Last edited by ball

I plan on buying shares very soon in that banna..my buddy did and he's made some good scratch. That is exactly what I have said for years...never mind sugar..'erb is where the moolah is...so is bamboo.

Guys, Cobra is a farmer's son. I have been there, done that, and still can do it regardless of age. With my accounting experience from Guyana, I further my studies in New York, and open a white coller business to sit on my ass everyday. If I were to get back into farming, I would do it for fun because love it. I even came in first in agricultural science in Guyana. That speaks volume of my knowledge in this area. Please don't fool around with farming if you're lazy or love to thief what other people's  grow. Amen. 

Cobra posted:

Guys, Cobra is a farmer's son. I have been there, done that, and still can do it regardless of age. With my accounting experience from Guyana, I further my studies in New York, and open a white coller business to sit on my ass everyday. If I were to get back into farming, I would do it for fun because love it. I even came in first in agricultural science in Guyana. That speaks volume of my knowledge in this area. Please don't fool around with farming if you're lazy or love to thief what other people's  grow. Amen. 

What did you farm? Acreage...How many cows/chicken/hogs/horses you have so you have an idea what it takes to plant rice, raise chicken, feed hogs etc? Plus farming here has no parallels to home. Most milk cows do not know what grass feels like or taste like. Chicken lives on 4 square feet are called free range!

D2 posted: Chicken lives on 4 square feet are called free range!

“Free Range”, “Free Ranging” or “Free Roaming” imply that the animal lived its life out of doors, in the open air, and was free to roam about, grazing, foraging and running about. There is no standard definition as it applies to amenable meat such as beef or pork. For poultry the term “free ranging” is regulated, and requires that the bird have access to the outdoors, but for an undetermined period each day. That means that the door to the coop or stall could be opened for five minutes a day and if the animal(s) did not see the open door or chose not to leave it could still qualify as "free range." 

Them chickens are locked up all day so they gorge themselves to the point where they cannot walk more than two feet before they collapse, so even if you open the door them ent able fo get out. Every day the keepers haul out six to ten dead chickens from the coop which there is limited natural daylight. In Delaware there is a Guyanese family that raises chicken for one of the major suppliers, the brand name I will not mention.   

ball

My friend is an investment banker and he runs a small farm. He has 50 acres or so and a few milk cows, a portion allocated to hay and the rest to seasonal vegetables. He also has an apple orchard that I visit in the fall for apples. He makes a few hundred gallons of apple cider each year.  He already makes craft beer. To him it is all for fun not profit though I suspect he makes money though.

He must be good at time management. How do you do all of that and still keep a job.

The man probably got Tajic and Pathan refugees wuking the land in exchange for free milk, veggies an' cider ..what u think? Heheee

He has a band also and they gig at clubs/festevals/batmitvha anything on weekends and all summer. I play lead with them in the summer. They play southern rock mainly.