I lived during the PNC rule in Guyana,family,friends and myself never considered our selves as "Second Class Citizens".I can't recall being treated that way we were free to go any where,no invasion of our villages by PNC supporters.Indians were allowed to run their businesses.Burnham was surrounded by Indians.The Region i reside in there were two Indian Regional Chairman.Indians held top positions at the Regional Offices,Indian Headmasters,teachers..etc..

I can recall in the early 70's was living in Georgetown would walk from Plaza Cinema to Durban and Smith St,where i reside,passing Metropole Cinema 12 in the night and no one bothered me.

I can go..on..and..on

What's your story???

Django...

To begin with, some coolie can pass as Blackman ( complexion . Hair ) maybe you are one of them.

Have you heard of the Linden massacre, I found this for you https://m.facebook.com/events/754009868050208/?ref=3

The folks here will provide additional information for you .

You are a BIASED individual base on your views and the news you posted every morning. 

Your friends must be all BLACK and your family is your type.

So what happened? Did you buy a couple cans of black paint and a couple of Afro wigs?

Skelly,you left early for the ole USA to set the footing,suh you are excused,no story to tell.

I was ahead of my time. Smart to get out at that time. My family suffered though. I was really disappointed when I returned to Guyana in 1977 with my wife. Our house was invaded by a jeep load of 7 GDF soldiers. My wife was petrified and did not know what the hell was going on. That's my story.

Imran,

Sorry bhai,

me fambly are brown skin and some light skin,good looking too,wha yuh telling bout Linden,I was 11 yrs old you think i had any clue ? read what happened both sides of the fence,there were atrocities,now why we gat to go back so far??

Tell how you were treated as Second Class Citizen.

I hope you read about Black Friday in Guyana.. I think it was in 1962.

So what happened? Did you buy a couple cans of black paint and a couple of Afro wigs?

Skelly,you left early for the ole USA to set the footing,suh you are excused,no story to tell.

I was ahead of my time. Smart to get out at that time. My family suffered though. I was really disappointed when I returned to Guyana in 1977 with my wife. Our house was invaded by a jeep load of 7 GDF soldiers. My wife was petrified and did not know what the hell was going on. That's my story.

One of my brother-in-law [ex-wifey] did the same,his second brother was  killed in the 1964 disturbance,that family was different they never held a grudge against Blacks.

Imran posted:

Django...

To begin with, some coolie can pass as Blackman ( complexion . Hair ) maybe you are one of them.

Have you heard of the Linden massacre, I found this for you https://m.facebook.com/events/754009868050208/?ref=3

You are a BIASED individual base on your views and the news you posted every morning. 

Look at this. And this Imran guy is implying that I am a racist for wanting the peaceful creation of a nation to protect the political and human rights gains of East Indian Guyanese.

Imran,

Sorry bhai,

me fambly are brown skin and some light skin,good looking too,wha yuh telling bout Linden,I was 11 yrs old you think i had any clue ? read what happened both sides of the fence,there were atrocities,now why we gat to go back so far??

Tell how you were treated as Second Class Citizen.

I hope you read about Black Friday in Guyana.. I think it was in 1962.

The whole story about the disturbance,at that time was 9 yrs old.

Imran posted:

Django...

Look at this. And this Imran guy is implying that I am a racist for wanting the peaceful creation of a nation to protect the political and human rights gains of East Indian Guyanese.

Prashad I am not implying you are racist. I was saying get over this sovereign state you keep talking about 

Imran posted:

You ask a question,

why should we forget the atrocities that was done to Indians.

In 2001 , Indians were rape and strip of their clothing on Regent St by blacks in broad day light. Indians businesses were set on fire. 

http://www.guyanaundersiege.com/ethnic%20crimes.htm

I read all of that,the questun is were they "Second Class Citizen" also was it Nation wide.

Hooligans in the City will do any thing.

Imran posted:

Django...

Prash, I tell you what brother. I am with you with your sovereign nation. Only coolies will be allowed. We will ask India to adopt us as a state, just like Puerto Rico. No blacks or douglas allowed. Any niggro caught in the country will be castrated and enslaved for life. When they are too old to work, we will build moco moco rafts and set them sailing at the mouth of the Berbice river. No Chinese, Putagees etc.Only dalits.

Imran,

does swing like a pendulum,this post cranked him up.

Oye Prash,were you a Second Class Citizen,hope you don't mind the questun.

Everyone has their personal experience, but for our children and future generations we need to move forward. Should we forget the pass ... absolutely not . 

I personally suffer at the hands of Blacks. But there is good people out there.

Why was the shopping complex built in Blacks neighbourhood.

You had to go in Blacks neighbourhood for drinking water. 

Django take your head out your ass

Imran posted:

Imran,

Everyone has their personal experience, but for our children and future generations we need to move forward. Should we forget the pass ... absolutely not . 

Imran,

In my neck of the woods we had it different,didn't experience things like going to Black Villages for drinking water.

Further i don't think some of these issues were nation wide.

Prash, I tell you what brother. I am with you with your sovereign nation. Only coolies will be allowed. We will ask India to adopt us as a state, just like Puerto Rico. No blacks or douglas allowed. Any niggro caught in the country will be castrated and enslaved for life. When they are too old to work, we will build moco moco rafts and set them sailing at the mouth of the Berbice river. No Chinese, Putagees etc.Only dalits.

Oh skites Skelly,

that was what the early East Indians wanted,wondering if my Great Grandfather had that same thought.

Imran posted:

Imran,

Imran,

In my neck of the woods we had it different,didn't experience things like going to Black Villages for drinking water.

Further i don't think some of these issues were nation wide.

Then your village was not only Indians.

Durban and Smyth ... mostly Afro 

Oh skites Skelly,

that was what the early East Indians wanted,wondering if my Great Grandfather had that same thought.

You sure your great grandfather wasn't from. Africa 

Oh skites Skelly,

You know I am just shooting the breeze here.

Imran posted:

Django...

Skeleton buddy East Indians Guyanese are their own nation. We are not India Indians or even Trinidad Indians. We have to take Douglas who love their Indian heritage and the allies of the East Indian people regardless of race. 

Imran posted:

Oh skites Skelly,

You sure your great grandfather wasn't from. Africa 

You like to shoot cr...p,i willn't bother with you.

Banna pure Indian one of the early Indentured East Indians,My Great Grandfather some time like early 1870's i will have to dig the records,my grand father was born in 1896,there was a gap couple years my Great Grandmother arrived in British Guiana.

I have more claim to the homeland more than most East Indian,just kidding.

I lived during the PNC rule in Guyana,family,friends and myself never considered our selves as "Second Class Citizens".I can't recall being treated that way we were free to go any where,no invasion of our villages by PNC supporters.Indians were allowed to run their businesses.Burnham was surrounded by Indians.The Region i reside in there were two Indian Regional Chairman.Indians held top positions at the Regional Offices,Indian Headmasters,teachers..etc..

I can recall in the early 70's was living in Georgetown would walk from Plaza Cinema to Durban and Smith St,where i reside,passing Metropole Cinema 12 in the night and no one bothered me.

I can go..on..and..on

What's your story???

Talking about Metropole, I was robbed of a pair of brand new Dunlop sneakers I just bought and was on my way to see a flick at Metropole.  

All top positions in the government, army and police were African dominated except for token Indians.  What else would it take to make you a second class citizen when you cannot get to the highest level you are capable of?

Hoyte tried to change things but the Burnham structure was hard to break.

I can go..on..and..on

What's your story???

Did you enjoy such freedom under the PPP governments of the Fifties and sixties?  How about Colonial times?

Django's testimony to counter charges of discrimination against the PNC regime is not unusual.  The PNC wasted no time in getting Indos to say that there was no rigged elections nor discrimination against Indians in Guyana.  All governments do this.  The White government of South Africa boasted of black millionaires and responsible black leaders. Pakistan staged demonstrations against India using Pakinstani Hindus to discredit any charge of religious intolerance in the Islamic State.  By the way, Pakistan's first Justice minister was a Hindu who returned to India in the sixties. 

Django's BS cannot fool us.  Let him give his definition of a second class citizen and we will take it from there.

VVP posted:

I can go..on..and..on

What's your story???

Talking about Metropole, I was robbed of a pair of brand new Dunlop sneakers I just bought and was on my way to see a flick at Metropole.  

All top positions in the government, army and police were African dominated except for token Indians.  What else would it take to make you a second class citizen when you cannot get to the highest level you are capable of?

This is funny, remember my buddies got their pay from Guysuco and went shopping for foot wears. They wear the new booths and pack the used one in the box,  ... it was choke and rob style then . 

They went drinking at the corner of Robb and Republic St ... it was a garmont style bar ... as they got  downstairs, their bags get snatched, another one had a bangle made of copper... he told them robbers please tak  am  ... used foot wears were in the box ... my buddies had to run for their lives fearing the robbers would return after realizing the loot was fake . 

VVP posted:

I can go..on..and..on

What's your story???

VVP,

Great you shared your experience.

I worked in that area 1976 to 1985 never got robbed,one of my co-worker a town man got robbed at Metropole,seems like town boys were targets,bear in mind not putting down any one.

I can go..on..and..on

What's your story???

Did you enjoy such freedom under the PPP governments of the Fifties and sixties?  How about Colonial times?

Billy,

I have stated my age and when i migrate on this BB you can conclude from the info.

VVP posted:

I can go..on..and..on

What's your story???

VVP,

I worked in that area 1976 to 1985 never got robbed,one of my co-worker a town man got robbed at Metropole,seems like town boys were targets,bear in mind not putting down any one.

Django is our GNI Dan man lol

VVP posted:

VVP,

If there is any good story to this was that I told a black cop that I got robbed and he went walking around with me to see if we could find the guys.  We went all the way to vendors arcade. 

Even though Africans tend to be the majority of robbers in those days, there were lots of Africans that would kill them if they caught them robbing.  This is the town man experience 

Django's testimony to counter charges of discrimination against the PNC regime is not unusual.  The PNC wasted no time in getting Indos to say that there was no rigged elections nor discrimination against Indians in Guyana.  All governments do this.  The White government of South Africa boasted of black millionaires and responsible black leaders. Pakistan staged demonstrations against India using Pakinstani Hindus to discredit any charge of religious intolerance in the Islamic State.  By the way, Pakistan's first Justice minister was a Hindu who returned to India in the sixties. 

Django's BS cannot fool us.  Let him give his definition of a second class citizen and we will take it from there.

I have stated never felt like a "Second Class Citizen",maybe because i worked in the Private Sector,individuals who worked in the Public Sector may have different experiences,I am aware there was discrimination in the Sugar Industry where YSM boys got top jobs with no experience.There was a square peg Factory Manager at Uitvlugt Estate.

VVP posted:
VVP posted:

VVP,

If there is any good story to this was that I told a black cop that I got robbed and he went walking around with me to see if we could find the guys.  We went all the way to vendors arcade. 

Even though Africans tend to be the majority of robbers in those days, there were lots of Africans that would kill them if they caught them robbing.  This is the town man experience 

Did you tips the cop or buy him a Fried Rice

Imran posted:
VVP posted:
VVP posted:

VVP,

Did you tips the cop or buy him a Fried Rice

I have stated never felt like a "Second Class Citizen",maybe because i worked in the Private Sector,individuals who worked in the Public Sector may have different experiences,I am aware there was discrimination in the Sugar Industry where YSM boys got top jobs with no experience.There was a square peg Factory Manager at Uitvlugt Estate.

Downes?

Downes?

He was GM,me thinks.