Zed posted:

There is something about the exception proving the rule. Or maybe. He has realized that the coalition is clueless about managing the economy and poor people and their families are suffering. 

Zed,

I know what is poverty been there.

May i ask if you can provide some stats on poverty in the homeland,how many were uplifted by the past administration.

Thank you.

I am in solidarity with sugar workers. I support peaceful picketing. However, the workers must also protest responsibly. Putting little children in the frontline as human shields is dangerous. Only yesterday Granger urged his soldiers to maintain internal security in the face of Jagdeo's call to bring out PPP foot soldiers. If the armed forces decide to disperse protesters with teargas, those kids will suffer.

As I mentioned some time ago, I participated in exactly 20 demonstrations in the 1970s-'80s in Guyana. None of them involved little children. That was not the Cheddi Jagan way.

PPP-GAWU do not need kids to dramatize their protests. Anyone with a heart knows that the closure of sugar estates will affect thousands of children's welfare. I urge the organizers to rethink.

RiffRatoff posted:

Protest is good for democracy

The flip side to democracy in Guyana is to suffer coolie and them pickney by killing rice and sugar factories that families depend on.When you kill something, have some alternative job placement for the workers. 

On that we agree. It's not only the loss of jobs and the residual effect. The country is losing revenue too. And it's not just the sugar industry. I really had hope that Granger would have been neutral along racial lines and things were finally going to change. From the way things are progressing, it looks like we've come full circle. As long as supporters of both parties continue to follow blindly and refuse to acknowledge their parties' mistakes and shortcomings, Guyana is headed nowhere and fast.

Granger and his team have no idea how to develop an economy.  The PNC is embarked on a witch-hunt and AFC Hoodwinkers are dancing to their tune. The people gave them a chance to govern with less corruption but this is not happening.  What is happening is negative economic growth with greater corruption.  This will lead to a bankrupt economy. 

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin
Zed posted:

There is something about the exception proving the rule. Or maybe. He has realized that the coalition is clueless about managing the economy and poor people and their families are suffering. 

Zed,

I know what is poverty been there.

May i ask if you can provide some stats on poverty in the homeland,how many were uplifted by the past administration.

Thank you.

I am uncertain why you are bring in the previous government when the comment was about these now in power and their inability to manage the economy. 

Also, please read carefully. Do not assume or equate suffering with poverty. Where did I mention poverty? 

Seriously, You seem to have lots of time on hand and you are more aware where you can get that info. I will have to spend hours trying to find that info. hours I do not have.i cannot remember seeing comprehensive data that one can trust. Anecdotally, one can compare the poverty under the PNC and look at the society at the end of the previous regime. Many will argue that things were better under the PPP government.

The Kids are there to support their hard working, civil and peaceful Parents!!!!

the protests are peaceful and the use of soldiers is not literally. I see nothing wrong with the children accompanying parents to these peaceful demonstrations. I remember that I was involved at a very young age and it helped to shape the person I am. It is better that the hooligans at many  of the AFC and APNU protests when they were in opposition and now when they are trying to counter opposition protests.

django can sit in the comfort of his US home and cast aspersions on how these parents are raising their children, but he does not putt money in their pocket at the end of the week. And to call the cane cutters klepto

Z
Zed posted:

django can sit in the comfort of his US home and cast aspersions on how these parents are raising their children, but he does not putt money in their pocket at the end of the week. And to call the cane cutters klepto

Watch story hey,where did i call cane cutters klepto,

show the post please,

Thank you.

I lived 43 yrs of my life in Guyana,my parents aunt and uncles  worked in the Sugar estates,my mother born in 1932 [she is gone close to 2 yrs ago] actually left school at 4th standard and start working due to her father became sick,i am aware what estate life is.

My parents or none of the villagers get their children involved in protest for that matter i have never seen that,I was 11yrs in 1964 and was never told there are disturbances,i was a little inquisitive and found out,well that was long time the parents did want to burden their children with such issues,now modern day people  drag their children in picket line.GAWU and the PPP instigate these protestors to do that.

Shame on GAWU and PPP.

Take a look at this picture what does it tells you.

Who brought their kids? Who is the klepto?

Do not give me that about knowing what estate life is. Visiting relatives who live on the estate is a different matter than the reality of daily existence there.

Are you insinuating that GAWU and the PPP asked the picketers to bring their children?

you left Guyana approx 20 years ago. How many times have you come back and for how long. You do not have first hand knowledge of things in Guyana, just what you read or hear. The statement stands. You do not put money in their pockets at the end of the week. What makes you a better parent that the person who took his child with him? In 1978, I took my one year old daughter to a peaceful demonstration. What is wrong with that? She grew up to be a well educated socially conscious successful young woman and professional.

Z
Zed posted:

Who brought their kids? Who is the klepto?

Did the kids just showed up ?

Some members of the past administration are kleptocrats

Do not give me that about knowing what estate life is. Visiting relatives who live on the estate is a different matter than the reality of daily existence there.

I lived in Sugar Estate on WCD,worked as laborer and cane cutter for a few years

Are you insinuating that GAWU and the PPP asked the picketers to bring their children?

Yes,

I was a GAWU rep for casual workers.

you left Guyana approx 20 years ago. How many times have you come back and for how long. You do not have first hand knowledge of things in Guyana, just what you read or hear. The statement stands. You do not put money in their pockets at the end of the week. What makes you a better parent that the person who took his child with him? In 1978, I took my one year old daughter to a peaceful demonstration. What is wrong with that? She grew up to be a well educated socially conscious successful young woman and professional.

I started life in the ole USA at the age 43 had to focus on taking care of my children,plus set up the foundation to have a decent life my self,their future and my retirement,could not have one foot here and one foot there.Is any thing wrong with that ??

I am sure you did the same when you migrate.By the way what a 1 yr old can comprehend at a protest.Sorry,your statement is like water in basket.

Show the post where i said cane cutters are klepto,

I will be 64 soon and have a sharp memory.

1. Regarding klepto, then be more careful with what you state in your post.

2. Sure, I lived abroad for a long time, and like many guyanese was involved in guyanese political and social organizations abroad and did considerable support work for the struggle in Guyana. Still able to get a decent education, save , provide for the kids and saved for retirement, whether it be in Guyana or elsewhere. And, I am still involved, not in political work, but in doing charity work. But, i guess, any port in a storm. I do not spend a large proportion of my free time posting on social media.

3. The point about my daughter was that she was not traumatized by her experience. Certainly, it was the start of many such activities. There was nothing there about her understanding what the protest was about. Did not think that I had to explain that to you.

4. Your implications about GAWU and PPP asking parents to bring their children is a wild assertion, not proven  unless supported by facts. 

5. The question is still what makes you a better parent than the one who took his child to the picketing

exercise. You have not ventured a response to that.

5. Now we have a new set if Klepto in power. Corruption is still here. The bond deal, the new fiasco about emergency drug purchases, sweetheart deals, etc.

Z

Bhaiya Zed,

You are aware i didn't call the cane cutters "klepto" dunno which post you saw that,also the question of better parenting was presented by you,I didn't respond because i found it not to be relevant,in my view "to each his own"

The GAWU+PPP advise to the protestors regarding bringing children,let sleeping dogs lie,we will not get any where.

What is this ?? i am in la...la...land to figure it out.

There is no doubt about new kleptos,some of the politicians are greedy.Guyana seems to lack honest politicians.

Congratulations on your Charity work,I have some plans to do same in a few years,will see if will materialize.

Bhaiya Zed,

You are aware i didn't call the cane cutters "klepto" dunno which post you saw that,also the question of better parenting was presented by you,I didn't respond because i found it not to be relevant,in my view "to each his own"

The GAWU+PPP advise to the protestors regarding bringing children,let sleeping dogs lie,we will not get any where.

What is this ?? i am in la...la...land to figure it out.

There is no doubt about new kleptos,some of the politicians are greedy.Guyana seems to lack honest politicians.

Congratulations on your Charity work,I have some plans to do same in a few years,will see if will materialize.

Hey Django, I usually travel in the latter part of the week so catch up on how things are going. I was off to the Essequibo Coast so got up early to catch the 5am ferry. Over one hour of travelling from the East Coadt to Parika. Was hoping to take some stuff there in my vehicle but by the time I got to Parika, the list for the boat indicated that it was full. Had to pay a trucker to take the stuff in his vehicle. A successful day though.

Z

These youngsters should work for the peaceful creation of an independent sovereign country for Guyanese East Indians, douglas who embrace their Indian heritage and allies of the East Indian people of Guyana in East Berbice and the Essequibo islands.

Carib is an ally of non-racial East Indian people. Don't lock him out of your independent sovereign country.