Nandlall queries role of UK expert in SOCU work.

Former Attorney General Anil Nandlall today queried the role of UK expert Sam Sittlington in the operations of the Special Organised Crime Unit which saw the arrest of former President Bharrat Jagdeo on Tuesday and the questioning of several former PPP/C Ministers.

An abridged statement from Nandlall follows:
I note that Mr. Sam Sittlington has taken the liberty of making statements which have political underpinnings and seems to be functioning as part of the operations of the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU). As a result, I now question his role in the law enforcement process of Guyana. Is he operating under the auspices of the British High Commission in Guyana? If so, then one will have to assume that there is some linkage between his actions and the British Government. This must be clarified by the British High Commission.

Or, is he a consultant and if so, for whom is he consulting and who is really paying him? If he is a consultant, then it would appear that he is acting way outside of his remit and is engaged in operational matters.

I recall as Attorney General, Mr. Sittlington, was around offering his services to assist the then Government in dealing with the Anti-Money Laundering Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) issues at the time. However, the Government  did not retain his services because our difficulties at the time was getting the Opposition’s majority support in  Parliament for the Bills to be passed. I also recall that Opposition Members of Parliament were consulting him in assisting them in drafting counter amendments to the Government’s AML/CFT Amendment Bills.

It now appears, that this Government has either retained the gentleman or has promised him a contract, hence his deep involvement in this matter .

What has also become clear, is that the Government itself seem to be divided on the arrests which took place on Tuesday of Former President Jagdeo and other officials of the PPP Government by SOCUs officers. The President, Mr. David Granger, at the meeting with Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo, at State House last Wednesday, at which I was present, was apologetic, claiming that he was unaware of the incidents and that it was Minister of State, Mr. Joseph Harmon, who drew it to his attention. He explained, that Former Presidents should be treated with dignity and that he recognises that Governments change. The Leader of the Opposition expressed the view that some of his Ministers may be directing the SOCU officers. The President promised to personally inquire into the incident.

All who thinks BJ will be the president of Guyana again,should do an analysis,my take it aint gonna happen.

Sorry for Jagdeo and Nandalall the aged military man is sharper than  them.

Not sure I am reading this right...but it is absurd to think that Granger was hesitant in arresting Jagdeo and, secondly, that he was not aware of the arrest until it was brought to his attention. If these are Nandlal words, then he is woefully naive. . He does not understand Granger's game plan. 

And secondly, how do you extrapolate from your highlighted section that this information means that Jagdeo will never be president again. This reality may be true, but on what do you base this epiphany.

And who is going to answer for the crimes committed during the Burnhamite 28 years?

I have notice the call for investigation Burnhamite 28 yrs,well most of the players are dead,also probably all the records vanished,any ideas where to start??

Granger is far smarter than Jagdeo and Nandalall,bhai read between the lines and follow all the news sources,the PPP will be in opposition for a while the current crop lacks leadership,due to Indian majority they were the winners,that majority have changed,different ball game in future Elections.

I have notice the call for investigation Burnhamite 28 yrs,well most of the players are dead,also probably all the records vanished,any ideas where to start??

The PPP had 20+ years to do so and they did nothing. Instead after the death of Dr Jagan they took it a few steps further and upped it a notch.  It took this govt under 2 to get the ball rolling.

Granger is far smarter than Jagdeo and Nandalall,bhai read between the lines and follow all the news sources,the PPP will be in opposition for a while the current crop lacks leadership,due to Indian majority they were the winners,that majority have changed,different ball game in future Elections.

Looks like you got paid yesterday. See how quick you jump and defend the PNC and you say you are and independent? Independent PNC supporter? Independent Granger slop can carrier?

How is that a defense ??,it's realistic opinion.

Skelly,i have respect for you [although we have not met] and your opinion as such you should avoid following the "Gandu"

Django bhai, That last statement is just giving you a little sh*t early morning. Don't take it too serious.

Not really,i think it's crude,especially when done by adults.

All who thinks BJ will be the president of Guyana again,should do an analysis,my take it aint gonna happen.

You sure damn right... Granger and his acolytes will f*** the electoral machine 

Banna you amazes me but then again you drink Granger soup or you don't get paid . 

You don't feel sorry for Dr Jagdeo. He don't needs your sympathy. 

Imran posted:

You sure damn right... Granger and his acolytes will f*** the electoral machine 

Banna you amazes me but then again you drink Granger soup or you don't get paid . 

You don't feel sorry for Dr Jagdeo. He don't needs your sympathy. 

Ow bhai,to each his own,that fella is no Dr. he is a kleptocrat,take the wool off you will see the "Con"

Skelly, what does Gandu mean? 

I am totally ignorant of word Gandu. I never heard this word until Django unleashed it from his vocab. It must be a word used in Django's town. Our side coolies don't use or heard of this "swahili" word. All I know it's not complimentary.

A Google explanation: "Gandu is a Hindi abusive word that literally means ass." Skelly says Django introduced that word in this forum. If true, Django is abusive to other posters. I urge him to put forward his POV without resorting to dirty names.

Numerous times i have warned "drugb" to avoid label,until that Indian keyboard warrior abstain,he is a "Gandu"

Django [Indian],had hang up his belt a long time,decided to strap it back for that fool or any one who thinks Seniors are weakling.

I am not D2 and the rest who accept his foolishness.

A Google explanation: "Gandu is a Hindi abusive word that literally means ass." Skelly says Django introduced that word in this forum. If true, Django is abusive to other posters. I urge him to put forward his POV without resorting to dirty names.

Numerous times i have warned "drugb" to avoid label,until that Indian keyboard warrior abstain,he is a "Gandu"

Django [Indian],had hang up his belt a long time,decided to strap it back.

I expect better of you. By allowing Drugb to bring out your worst response, you give him the upper hand. Let 'restraint' be your keyword, padna.

Django [Indian],had hang up his belt a long time,decided to strap it back.

I expect better of you. By allowing Drugb to bring out your worst response, you give him the upper hand. Let 'restraint' be your keyword, padna.

I agree with you,except the highlighted,

he need to stop his foolishness,I am a Senior [don't hold political office] have decided not take abuse from any one whether in cyberspace or in my presence.

Django does shoot straight.