NYPost, 11/30/16

There’s going to be the same old “sheriff” in this town.

Preet Bharara, the gungho Manhattan federal prosecutor, has agreed to “stay on” as U.S. Attorney for the Southern District after President-elect Donald Trump offered him the gig during a meeting Wednesday afternoon at Trump Tower in Midtown.

“We had a good meeting. I agreed to stay on. I have already spoken to Sen. [Jeff] Sessions, who is as you know is the nominee to be the attorney general. He also asked that I stay on, and so I expect that I will be continuing to work at the southern district,” Bharara said in the lobby of Trump’s Fifth Avenue skyscraper following their 40-minute powwow.

Bharara, who earned the moniker “The Sheriff of Wall Street” for his aggressive prosecution of bankers, also heaped praise on his own office. “The president-elect asked, presumably because he’s a New Yorker and is aware of the great work that our office has done over the past seven years,” Bharara said.

The meeting came on the one-year anniversary of Bharara’s winning a corruption conviction against former Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, indicating that Bharara was trying to highlight his successes to keep his job.

“One year ago today, Sheldon Silver got justice, and at long last, so did the people of New York,” Bharara tweeted on Wednesday just prior to his face-to-face- with Trump. He also contacted outgoing U.S. Attorney General Loretta Lynch to inform her of the meeting, a source said.

Silver, 72, is currently out on bail while he appeals his 12-year prison sentence for abusing his lofty position in the State Senate to swindle millions in kickbacks and bribes.

Silver aside, Bharara has won convictions against some of New York’s most notorious white collar villains, corrupt politicians and international terrorists, including ex-NY Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos and al Qaeda terrorist Khalid Al-Fawwaz.

During a Nov. 17 press conference, Bharara hinted that he didn’t want to leave his post.

“Have you put any thought into whether you would stay on in the Trump administration?” a reporter asked him.

“I have said and I’ll say again, I love my job, I enjoy doing my job, I think we’re still doing great work here in the office. I serve at the pleasure of the president like every U.S. attorney does, and if and when our president decides to replace me, I’ll ride off into the sunset,” Bharara replied.

Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-NY) was one of the first to toot Bharara’s horn to Trump — and even put the president-elect directly in touch with the prosecutor to set up the meeting, a source said.

“President-elect Trump called me last week and asked me what I thought about Preet Bharara continuing his role as U.S. Attorney. I told him I thought Preet was great, and I would be all for keeping him on the job and fully support it,” Schumer said.

“I am glad they met and am glad Preet is staying on. He’s been one of the best U.S Attorneys New York has ever seen,” the new Senate minority leader said.

Republicans — fully aware of ongoing investigations focusing on Gov. Cuomo and Mayor de Blasio’s administrations — were thrilled that Trump was retaining Bharara.

“That’s good news. Bharara has done a lot of good,” said Staten Island GOP chairman John Antoniello.

“Bharara has unfinished business. He should bring these investigations to their fruition,” upstate Assemblyman Steve McLaughin (R) tweeted mischievously, “How’s your day going Governor?

Bharara sees himself as a non-partisan law enforcement official, which likely appeals to Trump’s anti-establishment sensibility, people who know the prosecutor said.

“He’s been an outsider and not behold to the Democratic Party or the Republican Party,” an attorney who worked under Bharara said. “He’s just an independent law enforcement agent.”

Others who were being considered for the plumb position, included Rudy Giuliani’s ally Marc Mukasey, but he hadn’t met with Trump, a source said.

Mukasey served eight years as a prosecutor for the Southern District of New York. He was also an attorney for the Securities and Exchange Commission.

RiffRaff posted:

Riff, how you know Preet is a Hindu??

KP said he is another bright Hindu selected by Trump...I responding to KP

So if KP jump off the Verezano Bridge Riff will be right behind.

I aint know what this got to do with bridges...KP wanna know how come HIndus getting all the jobs...he wanna know about Muslims...I tell him cyar he backside and stop worrying bout Muslims

RiffRaff posted:

He was an Obama appointment...obviously, he is good at his job...

Are Hindus so paranoid of Muslims that they have to ask about them all the time...??

He was appointed by Obama and he is a Democrat.  But Trump knows he has the goods.  He should have Preet prosecute Thrillary on her email shindig, she will go straight to jail.

RiffRaff posted:

Are Hindus so paranoid of Muslims that they have to ask about them all the time...??

He was appointed by Obama and he is a Democrat.  But Trump knows he has the goods.  He should have Preet prosecute Thrillary on her email shindig, she will go straight to jail.

Why would there be a prosecution of her dummy? The highest law enforcement agency said she committed no crime. *******s like you with your bullshit pretensions to intellect, good breeding, and good sense do not seem to have it when sound opinions are necessary.

Preet is the typical koolie he will kick he fellow koolie so that he can jump over the moon and run away with the political spoon. I hope Trump and the Republicans throw him to the curb.

Trump has a knack for intelligent, hard working, outstanding Citizens of the World.

Yet you does cuss the man that he is an orange Orangutan. He draining the swamp to get out them packoos. 

Danyael posted:
RiffRaff posted:

Why would there be a prosecution of her dummy? The highest law enforcement agency said she committed no crime. *******s like you with your bullshit pretensions to intellect, good breeding, and good sense do not seem to have it when sound opinions are necessary.

Report back to me when Trump get he own server too!!!

and no evidence of conflict of interest.

Whats good for the Goose is good for the Ganda.

AJ

Show me the mafia godfathers that Preet brought to Justice. Richmond Hill is controlled by two mafia families the Bananos and the Gambinos. No crime goes down there without these two families getting their cut. Preet scared that he will have a godfather like carmine the snake on his hands. Preet goes after reform jews conservative jews and modern orthodox jews. Because they will not do him anything. Show me the ultra orthodox jews that Preet went after. You will not find one. Preet knows that they can break him into a million pieces

Preet is an ambitious man.

He has two types of targets.

1. High profile "has beens" like Silver and that other GOP man.  Ageing and past their expiration date, but high profile enough to make Preet look like a hero.

2. He goes after nonentities who lack the political heft to defend themselves.  Ed Ahmad and company. Emperor of the RH ghetto, so he thought that he was big time. John Sampson and the other black/Latino politicians, ditto.  But convicting them en masse makes him look very "ethical".

I look forward to him tangling with Cuomo or De Blasio, both of whom have done things which aren't quite ethical.  Cuomo in particular quite savage and capable of slicing him into small pieces.

Or going after Trump himself, who definitely has engaged in criminal behavior of some sort, as have many other NYC real estate tycoons.

But he will not.......He is too ambitious to risk them destroying his career.

Indian Americans are intelligent enough to pick someone whom they can trust in terms of having them represented.

They picked the winner Trump indeed. Trump announced during the campaign that he loves Indian Americans and he delivered.

That's the way politics works. I am so proud of Trump.

Long Live Mathama Trump !!! Long Live Mahatma Trump !!!

Show me the mafia godfathers that Preet brought to Justice. Richmond Hill is controlled by two mafia families the Bananos and the Gambinos. No crime goes down there without these two families getting their cut. Preet scared that he will have a godfather like carmine the snake on his hands. Preet goes after reform jews conservative jews and modern orthodox jews. Because they will not do him anything. Show me the ultra orthodox jews that Preet went after. You will not find one. Preet knows that they can break him into a million pieces

Prash, we cannot be like crabs. Let us wish the Indo Brother well. 

Is we time now ! Patience paid off.

Indian Americans are intelligent enough to pick someone whom they can trust in terms of having them represented.

They picked the winner Trump indeed. Trump announced during the campaign that he loves Indian Americans and he delivered.

That's the way politics works. I am so proud of Trump.

Long Live Mathama Trump !!! Long Live Mahatma Trump !!!

He got less of the Indian vote than latinos.

RiffRaff posted:

Mahatma Trump?..gaad, some ayuh coolie real dotish

That is what happens when you would take it up the rear just because you are recognized by a "big" man. Even Burnham was krishna!

1. High profile "has beens" like Silver and that other GOP man.  Ageing and past their expiration date, but high profile enough to make Preet look like a hero.

2. He goes after nonentities who lack the political heft to defend themselves.  Ed Ahmad and company. Emperor of the RH ghetto, so he thought that he was big time. John Sampson and the other black/Latino politicians, ditto.  But convicting them en masse makes him look very "ethical".

I look forward to him tangling with Cuomo or De Blasio, both of whom have done things which aren't quite ethical.  Cuomo in particular quite savage and capable of slicing him into small pieces.

Or going after Trump himself, who definitely has engaged in criminal behavior of some sort, as have many other NYC real estate tycoons.

You talk sheer sh1t.  How about your criminal PNC in Guyana?

What Trump need to do is correct the error and injustice in Guyana.  Obama sponsored regime change in Guyana, now risk of economic decline is real.  Trump needs to see good governments are in charge to create stability.  He needs to help get the PPP back in power in Guyana!

RiffRaff posted:

These moder fouck er hate any thing muslim and black.

ba$eman posted:

You talk sheer sh1t.  How about your criminal PNC in Guyana?

WTF does PNC have to do with this thread banna? You rass losing it?

Jews and Muslims are thinkers and they recognized from early that Trump is  an out of control racist and  bigot.

ON the other side the Hindus decided to worship him.

Sadly,  since elec tions  more Hindus got killed  due to Trump rants.

So who scoring g Bibi?

Another bright Hindu selected by Trump, where are the Muslims appointments??? America run by Jews and Hindus.

Preet Bharara is sikh.  His father was sikh and his mother was hindu. His wife is a Pakistani Jew.

Jews and Muslims are thinkers and they recognized from early that Trump is  an out of control racist and  bigot.

ON the other side the Hindus decided to worship him.

Sadly,  since elec tions  more Hindus got killed  due to Trump rants.

So who scoring g Bibi?

Those poor godforsaken Hindus causing trouble!!!!!   Preet was not single- handedly chosen by Trump to be fired.  He was one of 46 US attorneys who were "transitioned" out.  Same as those godforsaken coolies who were "transitioned" out by the PNC in Guyana.  Funny how y'all don't like it when you get a taste of your own medicine.