Bandits posing as Police Officers beat, rob Herstelling family

One of the ransacked rooms at the Herstelling home

An East Bank Demerara man was briefly hospitalised after he was beaten by several armed men who posed as police to gain entry into the premises. According to reports gathered, around 02:45h Thursday, 5 bandits stormed the Lot 463 Herstelling home of Lalta, his wife Esther Sammy and their 21-year-old daughter.

Guyana Times understands that the gunmen arrived by car. The five men exited, four of whom kicked down the door to the house while the fifth kept watch. The men then held up the man and dealt him several blows to the back and chest with a cutlass. They then ordered the woman to kneel on the floor as they turned their attention on the daughter.

This publication was further told the bandits took the young lady into the upper flat of the house where they ransacked the bedrooms. They then carted off an undisclosed sum of money and a quantity of jewellery. One of the neighbours recalled what she witnessed.

“They run and kicked down de door and one of the man say we is police and say open de door so the man said why I must open me door for and dem run and kick down the door and go in and hole up de man,” the woman explained.

Eyewitnesses also said that as the robbery was unfolding they made repeated calls to the Providence Police Station but all were unsuccessful. It was sometime later that ranks reportedly attached to the Brickdam Police Station who were on patrol came and took the report.

“We couldn’t do anything because when we peep through we window, we see de gun, we couldn’t come out. We just put on de light and tek it off back… everybody calling [the Providence Police Station] dem seh de phone na working,” the woman said.

This newspaper was however made aware that when one of the eyewitnesses visited the Providence Station, two telephones were working.

The police are continuing their investigations but no arrests were made.

It was only Wednesday around noon that a Cuban vendor Maria Puig, 61, was shot to her right hand outside a store in Regent Street, Georgetown, after being robbed of $5000 cash. The bandits reportedly fled on a CG motorcycle.

Meanwhile, over the past week, both armed and unarmed bandits carried out over 20 robberies on several businesses in the Vreed-en-Hoop, West Coast Demerara. In many instances, excessive violence was used. The area’s Acting Divisional Commander, Leslie James met with stakeholders there where he related that more patrols will be set up at strategic locations.

It is time that if GT&T cannot get working phones in the country working............then it is time that they should become history:

Other companies want and need their Jobs:

As dumb as is the Government of the day will not realize this.

This APNU/AFC Government does not understand the need for working phones........It is time that GT&T be givein their walkinging papers like Baishan Lin.

No one misses Baishan Lin just as well as no one will miss a Fked up GT&T who has been like a blood suckers on the Guyanese backs whilst the impotent Government seems to be skinning their rotten teeth.

Telephones not working is damn poor excuse,they were probably sleeping.

Maybe this is why they took 50 to 100 percent increase in salary to become more stupid than they really are.
It is time that Ramjhattan kick some dust, the most non performing Minister is this Government.

Where is the President Granger? when the citizens needs some explanation?

Maybe he need to become a patient to the Cuban Eye Doctors, this man is really blind as it seems that he cannot seems to see what is going on in the country that he governs.

Gunmen pose as police ranks, kick down Herstelling family’s door

– Escape with $2M in cash and jewelry after beating, terrorizing victims
Five gunmen, posing as police ranks kicked down the door of a Herstelling, East Bank Demerara (EBD) family home, and beat them before escaping with $2M in cash and jewellery.hert
The 15-minute ordeal has left the victims, Esther Harrinauth, 43; her husband 46-year-old Anganauth Harrinauth and their 22-year-old daughter, Vidyawattie Harrinauth traumatized. They all received a sound thrashing at the hands of the gunmen.
The incident occurred shortly after 02:00 hrs at Lot 463 Fourth Street, Herstelling, East Bank Demerara (EBD).
A neighbour’s surveillance footage showed when two cars stopped in front of the family’s two-storey home and five persons exited. The vehicles then drove up the road where they waited on the men to return.
A traumatized Esther Harrinauth yesterday recalled that her husband had just got up to use the washroom.
When he returned to bed, they heard the sound of a car engine in front of their premises.
“Before we could have peeped, we hear like someone jumping the fence and my husband shouted and asked who it was and someone said ‘police.’ Before we could have done anything, we hear them kicking at the door,” the woman said.
The men first broke a window but when they realized it was grilled, they kicked down their victim’s door, which only took a few seconds.
According to Esther Harrinauth, after breaking the door, the five men, all armed with guns rushed up to their rooms and demanded that they remain quiet while claiming that they were police officers. The woman said that they had no time to hide or shout for help.
“They looking and asking where the money and jewelry is and they hit my husband with the gun and a cutlass they collect from downstairs. They hit me and my daughter with the gun,” the woman related.
She explained that while the men were beating her husband, they requested that she and her daughter lie on the floor.
Throughout the ordeal, the men reassured the victims that they were police ranks and demanded that they be quiet.
The victims asked no questions. They did as the men said. The gunmen were not masked. Meanwhile, neighbours who gathered at the victim’s home yesterday, said that it was the first time that such an incident occurred in the quiet community.
Up to press time, no one has been arrested.

This is the fate of Indo Guyanese as they continue to face the brunt of crime. Thanks to Granger et al.

It is back to Burnham Days again where the Country was infested with "Kick down the Door Bandits" Now it is Granger and Kick down the Door Bandits all over again. 

This is the fate of Indo Guyanese as they continue to face the brunt of crime. Thanks to Granger et al.

Seems like the Guyana Police Force is infested with Bandidos. They have a Police Station (Providence) gate padlocked and no phone working. The Guyana Police Force along with the GT&T and the ruling coalition APNU/AFC  Government seems impotent:

The Country needs another Roger Khan/Gajraj again to rid Guyana of its infestations.

asj posted:

Seems like the Guyana Police Force is infested with Bandidos. They have a Police Station (Providence) gate padlocked and no phone working. The Guyana Police Force along with the GT&T and the ruling coalition APNU/AFC  Government seems impotent:

The Country needs another Roger Khan/Gajraj again to rid Guyana of its infestations.

Yep, nothing like putting the PPP criminals against the PNC criminals so the PPP criminals can do their work unabated.

asj posted:

Yep, nothing like putting the PPP criminals against the PNC criminals so the PPP criminals can do their work unabated.

The Police Station is not working, drawing down money under false pretense, they were supposed to help the community, but what do we see..........everybody is sleeping, and that include the Providence Police Station, the Police, the GT&T and I might go so far as to think that the Government of the day is sleeping too.

There will come a time when Guyanese Citizens of Indian decent, will resort to Vigilante Protection. We have lost confidence with the 95 percent Black Police Force.

Can we say the same thing of the current Government?

asj posted:

Cain bro, you have had too much already for the next month. Put the bong down. Either that or your brain has shrunk.

Mr.T posted:

This is what the legacy of the PPP is. An outdated infrastructure as far as crime fighting is concerned. It will take years to rectify.

You are an expert on security. Why don't you go there and help your fellow nigroes? The PNC is in power for more 16 months now. Don't invoke the PPP in crime control now. PNC is in charge of crime and are part of the thefts going on.

SHIT HEAD T will bray and kick. HAHAHA His SHIT HEAD PNC left Guyana like one BIG OUTHOUSE, the PPP brought Guyana back from the dead. But the SHIT too plenty in his head, how can he know this. Not his fault, he was born a SHIT HEAD!!!