The only thing that is holding up the Guyana economy right now is the price of gold.  If that dips the way oil did, it's game over for the whole country.  I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020, but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti.  Reality is stepping in.   People are fearful, including those in the PNC camp.

We have a historical precedent. In 1992 after the return of Cheddi Jagan to the Presidency, Guyana's sovereign debt was mostly forgiven. The country had no private foreign to speak of. The domestic treasury balance was another story. Freed from paying almost 90 cents on every US dollar earned to pay for INTEREST mostly, let alone the Principal, Jagan used democratization of the Party to woo foreign private investment. 

Most of it came from Guyanese expatriates and those in the diaspora who had accumulated wealth in North America in areas like fish and food processing and light manufacturing. After Asgar ally and Cheddi departed (the former being pushed out and the latter by death) the conditions that led to keeping the books straight and encouraging real, tangible investment got compromised. We had the disunited Janet years and the Jagdeo early years of drug-turf violence and capital investments slowing due to the security situation.

All Jagdeo needs is to democratize the PPP. It is too much a Jagdeo kingdom with powers greater than King James. The people love him so much that he has no fear of being thrown out of the leadership. He now needs to surround himself with smart non-partisan people. Let the overseas staffs work tirelessly to get private investments that Guyana can take advantage of - the products that Turkeyn's IST department throw out each year. Where are those relationships being cultivated. He also needs to reach out and poach a good number of Black communities away from blind PNC herding. 

If he can do that then I would say "who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo".

Kari posted:

The only thing that is holding up the Guyana economy right now is the price of gold.  If that dips the way oil did, it's game over for the whole country.  I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020, but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti.  Reality is stepping in.   People are fearful, including those in the PNC camp.

We have a historical precedent. In 1992 after the return of Cheddi Jagan to the Presidency, Guyana's sovereign debt was mostly forgiven. The country had no private foreign to speak of. The domestic treasury balance was another story. Freed from paying almost 90 cents on every US dollar earned to pay for INTEREST mostly, let alone the Principal, Jagan used democratization of the Party to woo foreign private investment. 

Most of it came from Guyanese expatriates and those in the diaspora who had accumulated wealth in North America in areas like fish and food processing and light manufacturing. After Asgar ally and Cheddi departed (the former being pushed out and the latter by death) the conditions that led to keeping the books straight and encouraging real, tangible investment got compromised. We had the disunited Janet years and the Jagdeo early years of drug-turf violence and capital investments slowing due to the security situation.

All Jagdeo needs is to democratize the PPP. It is too much a Jagdeo kingdom with powers greater than King James. The people love him so much that he has no fear of being thrown out of the leadership. He now needs to surround himself with smart non-partisan people. Let the overseas staffs work tirelessly to get private investments that Guyana can take advantage of - the products that Turkeyn's IST department throw out each year. Where are those relationships being cultivated. He also needs to reach out and poach a good number of Black communities away from blind PNC herding. 

If he can do that then I would say "who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo".

My pick for the PPP presidential candidate is Nandlall.  Over the past few months Jagdeo has attracted a certain rockstar status and a new set of followers who are pushing him to run again.  And he could, he is legally cleared to run again.  I hope he doesn't.

Guyana needs a whole new direction.  Granger had a chance to do that and he blew it.  The old Burnhamites are running the country from behind the scenes.  Granger listens to every word they say.  And that is not going to change by 2020. 

If Jagdeo runs again he will bring a lot of experience. Also he has forged goodwill around the world. Its a win win. As we see, despite all the bragging by the PNCites, no new development has occurred under Granger. These idiots are waiting for oil. Jagdeo is already well known and will attract votes that were previously lost. If this is not the case then it is the end of the PPP as we know it. 

The only thing that is holding up the Guyana economy right now is the price of gold.  If that dips the way oil did, it's game over for the whole country.  I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020,but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti.  Reality is stepping in.   People are fearful, including those in the PNC camp.

Are you for real is that Democracy??

By the way Guyana is just above Haiti,your hero didn't pull it farther away with all the smarts,imagine imports are in the country which can be produced locally.

Why did you not highlight the part where I said the PPP should have a fresh new candidate??

Because he is a PNC Mud Head!!!!!!!!!!!!

SHUT YOUR FRIGGIN MOUTH YOU FKIN DUNCIFIED GOAT. WE TIRE OF YOUR ASININE TWENTY WORD VOCABULARY.

Bibi, you did say PPP should have a fresh new candidate and yet followed through with saying (although not in these words) there is no one intelligent enough in the PPP who has what it takes to be a President.

If Jagdeo runs again he will bring a lot of experience. Also he has forged goodwill around the world. Its a win win. As we see, despite all the bragging by the PNCites, no new development has occurred under Granger. These idiots are waiting for oil. Jagdeo is already well known and will attract votes that were previously lost. If this is not the case then it is the end of the PPP as we know it. 

HAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Kari posted:

Only a people's movement can change the culture, as in 40 years from now Guyana will be exporting rice and timber and gold (and maybe oil) and importing everything else, including water, sugar and chicken. My goodness - what a future!!!

You are being generous.  If our rice continues to be expensive no one will buy it.  A political deal was made with Chavez, who was looking to oust the US from having influence in the Caribbean and Central America, so he concocted PetroCaribe. 

Well Venezuela is now broke, and its people are in the same position that Guyanese were in the mid 80s.  Worse off maybe as Venezuelans (aside from the elites) haven't migrated as much as Guyanese so there are no barrels to get.    The smuggling into Venezuela from Colombia and T&T cannot supply that nation as did similar smuggling into Guyana 30 years ago.

So rice farmers can wail and bawl as much as they wish but there will never be another deal that will subsidize the fact that Guyana is a high cost producer.  Its astonishing that Guyana lies in the midst of the biggest export market for rice, as Latin Americans eat it, but don't grow it.  But we can sell little of it as they can buy from cheaper sources.  Critical given that rice is a core food of the poor.  I don't think that the well heeled ladies of Ipanema, or Leblon in Rio eat it in huge amounts, as do the poor in favelas like Rocinha.

If Jagdeo runs again he will bring a lot of experience. .

I agree. Stealing. Hanging out with narco traffickers and sending his thugs to harass those who criticize him.

Because I don't know what else he accomplished.  Between 1998 and 2006 there was slower growth than in the late Hoyte years after his ERP reforms.  It was high gold prices which rescued Guyana from 2007 on.  Jagdeo didn't have a thing to do with high gold prices.

Hoyte's reforms ran their course until around 1998.  From then on growth rates were lower as the PPP didn't introduce any transformative ideas.

Even communist Cheddi saw better growth rates than did your hero Jagdeo, until gold prices increased.  No one will accuse Cheddi of being an economic wizard.

East Indian people of Guyana have to prevent any coalation or merger. It will only end in the East Indian people of Guyana losing their political gains. No to coalition and no to merger.

If it were up to you, Indians would still be shittin on the roadside and washin batty with their hands.

He might actually applaud that, calling it authentic "pre Bollywood/Chutney" Indo culture.

HAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Like this shit head gone insane, wait what am I saying he was born retarded!!!!!!!!!!!!

The only thing that is holding up the Guyana economy right now is the price of gold.  If that dips the way oil did, it's game over for the whole country.  I really think the PPP should have a fresh, new candidate for 2020,but unfortunately the only person in that country, right now, who can put Humpty Dumpty back together is Jagdeo and I don't know if he wants to go there again.  If he walks away, Guyana will be the new Haiti.  Reality is stepping in.   People are fearful, including those in the PNC camp.

By the way Guyana is just above Haiti,your hero didn't pull it farther away with all the smarts,imagine imports are in the country which can be produced locally.

Why did you not highlight the part where I said the PPP should have a fresh new candidate??

SHUT YOUR FRIGGIN MOUTH YOU FKIN DUNCIFIED GOAT. WE TIRE OF YOUR ASININE TWENTY WORD VOCABULARY.

Bibi, you did say PPP should have a fresh new candidate and yet followed through with saying (although not in these words) there is no one intelligent enough in the PPP who has what it takes to be a President.

True I did say that.  The final decision will be made in December by the party.  That said, I am also keeping an eye on a strong group who wants Jagdeo to run again.  In politics it is not always the best candidate who runs but the one who can bring in the votes.  We shall see.  The country needs new blood, new direction, new ideas, new strategy.

If Jagdeo runs again he will bring a lot of experience. .

I agree. Stealing. Hanging out with narco traffickers and sending his thugs to harass those who criticize him.

Because I don't know what else he accomplished.  Between 1998 and 2006 there was slower growth than in the late Hoyte years after his ERP reforms.  It was high gold prices which rescued Guyana from 2007 on.  Jagdeo didn't have a thing to do with high gold prices.

Hoyte's reforms ran their course until around 1998.  From then on growth rates were lower as the PPP didn't introduce any transformative ideas.

Even communist Cheddi saw better growth rates than did your hero Jagdeo, until gold prices increased.  No one will accuse Cheddi of being an economic wizard.

I see you believe if you keep repeating the same set of lies, somehow it will become reality.  No evidence supports your above diarrhea. This is the propaganda you and your PNC/AFC cronies have been spewing for years.

True I did say that.  The final decision will be made in December by the party.  That said, I am also keeping an eye on a strong group who wants Jagdeo to run again.  In politics it is not always the best candidate who runs but the one who can bring in the votes.  We shall see.  The country needs new blood, new direction, new ideas, new strategy.

Bibi 

I have to agree with you. The PPP needs new leadership, strategy and ideas.

Jagdeo is a major asset to the PPP and will continue to be so but the party needs a new leader who will take it forward, transform the economy and appeal the mixed and native races.

Indos vote PPP and Afros vote PNC. The new swing voters will become the mixed and natives. The PPP needs to think wisely and allocate resources and attention accordingly.

With the AFC/PNC becoming the modern face of corruption and as the economy collapses, the mixed and natives are starting to feel the squeeze. They will not blindly support the PNC.

The biggest blunder that the PNC and Carib are making an is an incorrect assumption that this block of votes will go PNC. They are dead wrong. This group will vote in there own best interest.

The youths who voted solidly for the coalition have already been cast aside by the coalition, they are also ripe for the picking but the PPP needs to become more tech savvy. Their last campaign style was from the 1980's playbook. They need to understand how this group interacts and the use of social media needs to be implemented.

The PPP/C campaign website was like a PDF cut and paste website.

These are also some areas where the PPP needs to improve on.

It is all for the PPP to take with a new leader who will appeal to this voting block. The AFC/PNC have become low hanging fruits.

Anil is a solid candidate but I am not familiar with local politics in Guyana and do not know what appeal he has to the new swing voter group. 

The old communist wing of freedom house needs to be sent packing. Time for reform and new blood. Time to reform the PPP and make it more transparent and democratic.

Those opposed to status quo must not be cast aside, their voices must be heard.

Look at how the PNC Afros kissed and made up after Granger rigged the leadership race. The PPP needs to become like Afros, fight and argue but French Kiss and makeup afterwards.

Yuji22

The PNC claiming to be an inclusive party is just as ridiculous as when the PPP makes such claims.  Both are riddled by corruption, incompetence, cronyism and ethnic exclusion.  They both like the "friends and family" program.  They both are happy to act as the humble servants of the oligarchs.

I hope the PPPites here see how fair you are. It would be hard to change their unreasonable perception of you, but they should at least have the decency to acknowledge your statement above in good faith.

Funny how the PNC gang are speaking out of two sides of their mouth now.  A year ago you all were screaming that the PNC is god's gift to mankind. 

No one is speaking "out of two sides of their mouth." Ralph Ramkarran said the Jagdeo-Ramotar PPP ran the most corrupt government in Guyana's history. APNU+AFC promised change. We accepted their promise in good faith. After 15 months in government, APNU+AFC is doing some things just like the PPP did. We are honest enough to point out the coalition's errors and misdeeds. Since last year I personally stepped down from full support to critical support of APNU+AFC. I never screamed that the coalition is "god's gift to mankind." I don't have the authority to speak for mankind.

Ramkarrran got silver medal from Apnu. 

The PPP will be played for photo ops. President Jagdeo will become just a powerless character for the photo op. The party must not fall for the trick. You cannot make deals with hardcore ideology drive people and expect to benefit. No to coalition and no to merger.

Prash,

No one is advocating a coalition. Over my dead body.

The AFC/PNC must fall on their own swords.

Ramkarran ran out his race. He is just like a piece of worn out tire.

RE: I am also keeping an eye on a strong group who wants Jagdeo to run again.

These people obvious care more for Jagdeo than the country, don't they know how to read the signs the man is bad for business?

I agree with the hilited, leave Jagdeo out, with him they will never win. Almost a sure shot as the US election is.

The rude boys are getting the limelight but that's what will place them in history as "also ran"

I see you believe if you keep repeating the same set of lies, somehow it will become reality.  No evidence supports your above diarrhea. This is the propaganda you and your PNC/AFC cronies have been spewing for years.

Go argue and scream with the World Bank and the IMF.  They all thought that the PPP was corrupt and dirty and were glad to see them gone.

. The new swing voters will become the mixed and natives. The PPP needs to think wisely and allocate resources and attention accordingly.

Yuji22

Sorry to break it to you.

1.  In 2015 the PPP had the power of incumbency, meaning that they had the ability to buy votes.

2.  The PPP no longer has this power, which has now gone to APNU AFC.  Immediate impact of this is the loss of dominance of the PPP in Regions 9 and 1 where APNU AFC made major inroads into the largest population centers in those regions.  Tied with the PPP in Mabaruma and beating them in Lethem. 

3.  So the PPP is in dire straights.  Rejected by at least 80% of the mixed population and at least 95% of the black population, with the Amerindian vote becoming wobbly.

4.  You need to know who these mixed people are.  Most of them are part black, accepted by their black relatives and are integrated into the Afro Guyanese population.  The result being their overwhelming support for the PNC. 

5. In 2001 the African vote was around 32%, with the mixed voting age around 12%.  With virtually no Indian or Amerindian support the PNC won 41%.  Clearly the vast majority of the mixed votes went to the PNC.

The mixed vote is NOT a swing vote accessible to the PPP once the Grand Wizard of the Indo KKK, Bharat Jagdeo remains as its head.

The PPP is fast becoming a 45% party.

RE: I am also keeping an eye on a strong group who wants Jagdeo to run again.

Yes APNU AFC want Jagdeo to run again so he can scream about "consolidating the PPPs East Indian support base", and scream "we are going to take back Guyana from those people".  He already stated that the PPP base is Indian so he is saying that "We (Indians) are going to take back Guyana from those people (obviously black and mixed Guyanese)".

Way to go as the Indian vote falls below 45%.  And the Amerindians selling their votes to the government, as they always do, except that the government is now APNU AFC!

Poor Jagdeo doesn't understand that in another 20 years mixed people are going to be the largest bloc, meaning that ethnic boundaries and identities in Guyana will be far less defined than they presently are.

No evidence supports your above diarrhea.

The fact that you are too illiterate to get basic data doesn't change the facts.  The Hoyte reforms boosted the economy, this lasting through the Cheddi era.  The Jagdeo era was characterized by mediocre economic performance until gold prices began to increase.

Now Jagdeo, a man who was a starving civil servant in 1992, is now a wealthy man.  And has been since 2011.  So how by 2011 did he accumulate his wealth?  His salary?   I hardly think so.

WikiLeaks emails indicates reports of Jagdeo and his criminal enterprise.  It described Guyana as a totally lawless country that made even T&T and Suriname, both quite corrupt, look law abiding in comparison.

ba$eman posted:

I hope the PPPites here see how fair you are. It would be hard to change their unreasonable perception of you, but they should at least have the decency to acknowledge your statement above in good faith.

Funny how the PNC gang are speaking out of two sides of their mouth now.  A year ago you all were screaming that the PNC is god's gift to mankind. 

No one is speaking "out of two sides of their mouth." Ralph Ramkarran said the Jagdeo-Ramotar PPP ran the most corrupt government in Guyana's history. APNU+AFC promised change. We accepted their promise in good faith. After 15 months in government, APNU+AFC is doing some things just like the PPP did. We are honest enough to point out the coalition's errors and misdeeds. Since last year I personally stepped down from full support to critical support of APNU+AFC. I never screamed that the coalition is "god's gift to mankind." I don't have the authority to speak for mankind.

Anyone who thought he PNC will go and be pristine, alyuh prapa naive.  The PNC boys were waiting to get their hands on that cookie jar, and it was filled with cookies for those PNC crookies.  Do you think they intend to work and retire in a hammock or easing chair outside Buxton?  The PNC want to get rich and when they lose, head to Brooklyn and invest in rental properties  

But they said the cookie jar was empty and then we hear Joe Wong Ping cannot for $5 mil(USD). Wey deh get all dis munny fram? Takers bai, Takers..coolie sweat.

Black Magic, no pun intended!!