5 Poorest Countries in South America

The 5 poorest countries in South America come to show that while the world is galloping towards a sci-fi like model of effortless everyday life, there is still much to be done about certain corners of the world. Take a look at our list of the 10 poorest countries in the world if you need to see some of the more obvious examples. In a world where monetary value is the only value that is recognized regardless of race, age, social status and so forth, being from a poor country is surely a very early red light on the way to a fulfilling and comfortable life.

To make matters worse, the gap between the rich and poor there is light years from what you can observe in the more developed parts of the world. Not only the wealthy and less economically fortunate there living in two completely different worlds but there is virtually no middle class in certain places. People don’t really see it that way but the continent has a very low population density overall and accounts for just six percent of the world’s population. People there haven’t adopted the “modern” type of crafts, trades, industries or whatever you may call it, due to the past hindrances in their economical development. The main types of economic activity there are mining, agriculture and forestry which is reflected in the country’s biggest exports which consist of natural resources and produce. All of the twelve nations on this piece of land are still battling poverty, poor urbanization and rampaging crime. It was all the way to 1990 that the countries of the continent started adopting the Free Market model which, in turn, eventually played an important role in bringing the continent out of a several decades-old debt crisis that was first brought on by a poorly designed economic model that aimed to make smaller businesses competitive.

While being very economically inactive in pre-WWII times, the country’s economy is rapidly developing nowadays but when starting from the bottom, it usually takes some time to get up to speed with the rest of the world.

Without any more dry and boring facts about the economy of a whole continent which probably mostly means beautiful scenery, Alpacas and coffee to you, let’s take a look at the 5 poorest countries in South America.

5. Peru

Peru has been jumping back and forth from the sixth to the fifth place in the rankings. However, this year it takes the fifth place in the countries with the lowest per-capita GDP even though the country ranks among the biggest producers and exporters of silver. While people claim that Peru is undergoing major development currently, this is only true for the more urbanized regions. On the other side, the rural parts of the country are basically stuck in the feudal age with little to no access to all we hold in high regard in modern civilization.

Poorest Countries in South America

Michael Zysman/Shutterstock.com

4. Ecuador

Our fourth contender is the beautiful Andean nation of Ecuador, where poverty is still so rampant it is an issue of national importance. Statistics show that over thirty-five percent of the population of the country are stricken by poverty and that a considerable amount of them live even lower than the poverty threshold. Recently, however, the situation has been improving after the country adopted the US dollar as a main means of monetary transactions.

3. Guyana

Guyana (about which some of you probably are wondering whether or not it was located in Africa) ranks third in our list of the 5 poorest countries in South America. A considerable portion of the population – above forty percent are living in poverty and about two-thirds of them are living life in an environment of the inhumane deficit of funds. The problems which hinder the improvement of these statistics are mainly centered around the very poor infrastructure there and the lack of skilled workforce.

Per Bengtsson/Shutterstock.com

2. Paraguay

Paraguay’s smaller cities and more rural areas are the main victims of the extreme poverty that has been plaguing the country for the better part of its existence now. Even though the country has witnessed one of its biggest economic growth spurts in the past five years, it has only taken it this far from where it started.

1. Bolivia

The least economically fortunate of the 5 poorest countries in South America is Bolivia, where poverty is pretty much the norm. Over half of its population lives below the poverty line and the levels of life-threatening lack of money affects the lives of a concerning part of them.While Bolivia’s government is trying to battle this horribly threatening issue, the results are still not too convincing.

Originally Posted by Observer:

In 5 years Haiti will be richer than Guyana.

what in your idiotic head made you arrive at this conclusion or are you just talking out your ass again?
Originally Posted by Mars:

what in your idiotic head made you arrive at this conclusion or are you just talking out your ass again?

Past two months, Guyana headed for the pits.

They found it in the pits. The economy does not change overnight in two months. Your beloved PPP was raping the treasury and cooking the books. All major industries were left in disarray by the PPP.

Guyana become the poorest country in SA since the PNC regime frigging up Guyana.

Your beloved PPP tiefmen stole everything they could put their filthy hands on.

They found it in the pits. The economy does not change overnight in two months. Your beloved PPP was raping the treasury and cooking the books. All major industries were left in disarray by the PPP.

Really, if they found it in the pits, how come it took a notable "downturn" since May?  Now that the treasury is no longer being "raped", you should have a nice continued flow of funds, no?  The only thing in disarray is the GoG leadership.  Alyuh try deh.

Guyana become the poorest country in SA since the PNC regime frigging up Guyana.

Your beloved PPP tiefmen stole everything they could put their filthy hands on.

Guyana was handed from the "tiefman" to the "poison ivy".

Really, if they found it in the pits, how come it took a notable "downturn" since May?  Now that the treasury is no longer being "raped", you should have a nice continued flow of funds, no?  The only thing in disarray is the GoG leadership.  Alyuh try deh.

What downturn? All the major industries were left in shambles by the PPP. Are you trying to tell me that gold, sugar, bauxite, rice got worse in two months and the new government is responsible? How so? Man you really stretching the truth.

With all of natural resources, we remain among the top 5 poorest nations in South America.

Sadly, it is politics and race that has held back Guyana.

1. PNC's focused political approach for Guyana.

2, Will worsen around 2020 by PNC cum AFC.

The only thing in disarray is the GoG leadership.

Indeed and the PNC cum AFC ministers are approaching issues as if they are kindergarten children.

I see cobra has begun his nightly anti PNC rant to ensure that his man***** receives a thorough work out by an angry PNC pole.

You bigots never cease! The PPP stold us in the poor house and left an empty coffer, failing industry, decrepit infrastructure, high crime rate and a mess from top to bottom and guyana is headed into the pits! Fool we are in a shit hole the PPP dug and are clawing our way out!

What downturn? All the major industries were left in shambles by the PPP. Are you trying to tell me that gold, sugar, bauxite, rice got worse in two months and the new government is responsible? How so? Man you really stretching the truth.

Hmm, from what I understand, even casareep production is down, making of a gloomy Christmas.

I think rice production was on "steroids" until the new Govt pissed off Maduro and lost 30% of the export market.

Hmm, from what I understand, even casareep production is down, making of a gloomy Christmas.

I think rice production was on "steroids" until the new Govt pissed off Maduro and lost 30% of the export market.

The government pissed off Maduro or his edict annexing the Essequibo was his grasping for attention? If you remember I noted the rice for oil is a poncy scheme so failure was inevitable and the fall out of such schemes is always loss of money. We have to be more creative in the use of and export of rice and ancillary products made from it. We also need to diversify and use our interior lands for that they can support, coffee, avacados, peanuts, coco, etc. The PPP in their 23 years of ignorant backward rule wasted our time and left us on the same path of non productive traditional industries created to fund colonialism. We need to fund and feed ourselves

Rice ponzy scheme!  Well, go back as you promised in 2011, and grow your cassava, coffee, avacados, peanuts, coco, etc.  Dem waiting for your brain thrust to help "fund and feed".

As usual, you dunces retreat into the presumption you deal with an idiot when unfortunately you just highlight your mediocrity. My mother grew coffee, avocados and coco is everywhere in the interior if you look. You only need to go up a creek to see the wild plants. I state the possible not ponder the nonsensical. That is your forte.

Maybe!

The limits of your "forte".

With all of natural resources, we remain among the top 5 poorest nations in South America.

Na Bai it is 23 years of PPP rule.

Pointblank

When will we learn, poverty/wealth will not be determined by how much oil, gold, and other natural resource we plunder from the earth.  The wealth of the nation will be determined by how much we invest in the greatest resource, the people.  A well disciplined, well educated, skilled and talented population will be more wealth-creating than any amount of wasting resource we can harness.

A well disciplined, well educated, skilled and talented population will be more wealth-creating than any amount of wasting resource we can harness.

Reasonable assessment and approach.