Venezuelan soldiers shoot at GGMC officers

Three Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) officers narrowly escaped injury yesterday when they reportedly came under attack from members of the Venezuelan army, in the vicinity of Eterinbang, in the Cuyuni River.

While details of what took place are not clear, Stabroek News was told that the soldiers, who were positioned on the Venezuelan side of the border, opened fire on the boat that was transporting the three GGMC officers yesterday afternoon.

Jubilee Over,things are heating up. Police can't stop local crime, can the soldiers defend the country???

Why not they have done it before,unless you may know they did not.

When have the GDF defended the country.

Are you kidding,have you read how they chased the Surinamese from the New River Traingle.

Jubilee Over,things are heating up. Police can't stop local crime, can the soldiers defend the country???

See if u remember this KP.

The assault on Tigri

The Chief Pilot of Guyana Airways Roland da Silva was convinced that an assault could be made onto the unfinished airstrip. The corporation’s De Havilland DHC-6 Twin Otter utility aircraft possessed a remarkable Short Take Off and Landing (STOL) capability.  Guyanese planning of the operation kept abreast of Surinamese construction of the airstrip until it was cleared to a usable length. DEFPOL elements in the camp, however, blocked the incomplete strip with several 200-litre metal drums.

Colonel Clarence Price by that time had been appointed Chief of Staff of the Guyana Defence Force and the task force selected for the operation comprised troops of the 1st battalion under the command of Lieutenant Colonel Robert Stephenson. Captain Martin Nascimento commanded No. 1 company; Captain Asad Ishoof, No. 2 company; Lieutenant Harry Hinds, the Medium Mortar Platoon and Lieutenant Marcus Munroe, the Reconnaissance Platoon. The aircraft were piloted by captains Roland da Silva, Michael Chan-A-Sue, Philip Jardim and Anthony Mekdeci.

In the three weeks prior to the operation, the ground forces and aviators trained intensely and became completely confident in the Twin Otters’ performance capabilities which were found to exceed both the manufacturers’ specifications and the operators’ expectations. According to Michael Chan-A-Sue’s The Guns of August and Philip Jardim’s Guyana Defends Itself – two first-hand accounts of the operation by the pilots – it was determined that a fully-laden Twin Otter could be brought to a halt within the space of 100 m and that its propellers could clear a 200-L drum standing upright, requiring only that the pilot manoeuvre the aircraft’s undercarriage between the drums to effect a safe landing. The interiors of the aircraft were stripped and the nose compartment of the lead aircraft was modified to carry a Light Machine Gun and a gunner. Warrant Officer Hartley Liverpool was selected as the gunner.

Prime Minister Forbes Burnham gave certain personal assurances to the civilian pilots who had volunteered to participate in the operation and were all immediately commissioned into the defence force as majors. He also visited the concentration area at Tacama in East Berbice where he delivered words of encouragement and personally met every officer and soldier taking part in the operation. The task force was then transported to the Apoteri aerodrome located at the confluence of the Rupununi and Essequibo rivers, about 145 km (90 miles) from the target area. It possessed a relatively good runway, was roomy enough to accommodate a few hundred troops, was remote from observation and its resupply lines were short.

The task force was then ready to launch a lightning assault – called Operation Climax because it was the culmination of years of confrontation by Suriname.  It was executed in three phases aimed at driving members of Suriname’s Defensie Politie from Guyanese territory – first, the capture of the airstrip; second, the capture of the camp; and, third, the consolidation of the position. The operation began at dawn on Tuesday, August 19.

In the first phase, each aircraft took off with 22 armed soldiers on board. On landing, the soldiers exited from the open doorway while the aircraft was still on the roll and, as soon as the last soldier was out the door, full power was applied and the aircraft leapt off the remaining length of the airstrip and sped away.  Once the airstrip was cleared of obstacles and secure from counter attack, rapid mortar fire was laid. In the second phase, assault troops moved quickly through the jungle towards the target. The Surinamese abandoned the camp, fled to the waterside and were allowed to enter their boats and return to their home country. In the third phase, patrols dominated the surrounding area one of them coming upon the 18-year-old Surinamese Margo van Dams who was apprehended and repatriated. In the space of less than 5 minutes, the two aircraft deposited 45 troops on the airstrip. Refuelling was done and reinforcements were ferried from Apoteri.

Remarkably, the task force took Tigri without bloodshed or casualties. Symbolically, Suriname’s five-star flag was replaced by Guyana’s Golden Arrowhead and the camp was renamed ‘Jaguar,’ the national animal.

Are you kidding,have you read how they chased the Surinamese from the New River Traingle.

They saw a jaguar and they shit and piss in their pants and ran away. Good defence force...brave warriors.

Yall have to go back to Burnham days in the 60's to dig up GDF defense stories.  Today they run like cowards. Even under Burnham they ran instead of defending Leo Ryan at Jones town. These clowns in the GDF just there to collect a paycheck until they get out to become robbers targeting Indians. 

Bai enjoy the commando style operation and rest yuh baxside, yeh.

Yall have to go back to Burnham days in the 60's to dig up GDF defense stories.  Today they run like cowards. Even under Burnham they ran instead of defending Leo Ryan at Jones town. These clowns in the GDF just there to collect a paycheck until they get out to become robbers targeting Indians. 

You mentioned the Jones Town incident, Viola Burnham along with Reid were the first to visit the site, they grab all the monies and valuables before reporters arrived.

Watch this story good.  The failing PNC government in power today will artificially create a war like George BUSH to hide their failure on the economic front.

Shameless people.  Lied to the masses.  Them think the masses are asses, well you what donkeys do every now and then - ONE good kick.

The kick coming in 2020.

Brian Teekah posted:

Watch this story good.  The failing PNC government in power today will artificially create a war like George BUSH to hide their failure on the economic front.

Shameless people.  Lied to the masses.  Them think the masses are asses, well you what donkeys do every now and then - ONE good kick.

The kick coming in 2020.

Well bhai Brian 2020 is a long way to go,there is still time to change things around,keep an eye on what the ABC are doing to assist the Coalition Gov't.

Brian Teekah posted:

The kick coming in 2020.

Well bhai Brian 2020 is a long way to go,there is still time to change things around,keep an eye on what the ABC are doing to assist the Coalition Gov't.

ABC trying, with the security money which I welcome.  It is time the Scotland yard come in and clean up the police and if that is achieved I am happy because Guyana gains; the people gains.

This is not about PPP or PNC, this about all the people and their family who getting slaughtered by the bandits.

I do not care who dit, PNC, PPP, it matter not to me.  Let us clean up the crime and wipe out the criminals off the map, even Roger Khan style.  

The Americans are going to be pumping some investment funds and systems into GOINVEST soon also, so hopefully some big American companies come.  They also want to build a small base in the North West.  Granger said yes already.

Great decision President Granger.  Jobs for the people of the northwest supplying the base of all services including sex service.  

That was not sarcasm, I truly welcome the US base in Guyana.  This base will cause the coalition to win if built before 2020.

Brian Teekah posted:

The Americans are going to be pumping some investment funds and systems into GOINVEST soon also, so hopefully some big American companies come.  They also want to build a small base in the North West.  Granger said yes already.

Great decision President Granger.  Jobs for the people of the northwest supplying the base of all services including sex service.  

That was not sarcasm, I truly welcome the US base in Guyana.  This base will cause the coalition to win if built before 2020.

Bhai why you had to stitch that in fuh.

Brian Teekah posted:

That's good keep the commies in check.

PPP impotency when similar aggression occurred under their watch. 

I wasn't aware that GGMC officers were the GDF.  Guyana GEOLOGY & MINES officers.

Under your boy Jagdeo the Venezuelans came over, beat up ORDINARY Guyanese, and destroyed their property.

You think that these are the people who we should beg to buy our rice.

I wasn't aware that GGMC officers were the GDF.  Guyana GEOLOGY & MINES officers.

Under your boy Jagdeo the Venezuelans came over, beat up ORDINARY Guyanese, and destroyed their property.

He was sucking up to satisfy his constituents,me think Uncle Sam was watching the unmannerly crew and wait for the appropriate time to get them booted them out.

Granger is more interesting in releasing more criminals in the streets of Guyana than defending its borders. The man is an idiot.

Billy you didn't see this.

Guyana to lodge formal complaint over attack by Venezuelan soldiers

Burnham used to do the same while mouthing about the strength and power of the GDF.  Granger doing the same darn thing.  Do you expect the results to be any different??

Granger is more interesting in releasing more criminals in the streets of Guyana than defending its borders. The man is an idiot.

Billy you didn't see this.

Guyana to lodge formal complaint over attack by Venezuelan soldiers

Burnham used to do the same while mouthing about the strength and power of the GDF.  Granger doing the same darn thing.  Do you expect the results to be any different??

I see that illiteracy is a major problem with the PPP. It said GGMC officers.  NOT GDF officers.

Under Granger they firing shots.  Despite all Granger big talk at the UN he cowering under his bed at the fear of Maduro skinning him alive and putting his head on a stick.  Why didn't the GDF react and fire back shots to teach the Venezuelans a lesson?

Brian Teekah posted:

The kick coming in 2020.

Yes, they knew there were many like you, just enough they needed.

2020 Guyana headed back to Burnham era, GDF and rigging.  Blacks/PNC will not voluntarily and peacefully allow another Indo-Guyanese president, even if he is another Jesus Christ!  Then it will get real rough and tumble!  It will become an internationalized conflict!!  This PPP will not roll over like the Jagan PPP!!

Well, that was a stupid-ass statement.  Many nations have conflicts/disputes and still have trading relationships.  I think Venezuela was/is the largest single overseas supplier of oil to the US even under Chavez.  CITGO operates freely in the USA.

These are the relationship which come in useful to help resolve disputes.  The mighty GDF stands no chance against one single division of Venezuela so you need friends and relations to resolve conflicts.

The GDF intimidates the defenseless civilians of Guyana and very few others!

Brian Teekah posted:

You sound like that Gaskin guy, leh we "hope", is like playing Powerball!!  What stupidness!!  American companies coming to invest mainly in mining/oil, they don't need the PNC to help decide.  Little else in Guyana is of interest!

Look at you, advertising sex as an investment incentive in NW.  I wonder what the mothers and fathers with young daughters would think!  Guyana has enough such vices. You must be one sick and dysfunctional soul!