With the Donald Trump phenomenon and Putin's popularity in Russia, it got me thinking about the Jagdeo phenomenon in Guyana.

Regardless of your views on Bharat Jagdeo he is very impactful on the Guyana situation - for better or worse. He is clearly a leader of people whatever you may think of his leadership style or substance. The ability to move people to action is a definition of leadership regardless of the goal or outcome.

It has often been said that no matter how non-racist one may profess to be - and that is a valid condition for a lot of people I know- given the historic racial conditions in Guyana Jagdeo's appeal to Indians - racist and non-racist alike - is that today's Indo-Guyanese is not your daddy's Indo-Guyanese. Whatever his methods and shenanigans of governance, the Jagdeo Indian persona has definitely changed. It doesn't matter that this does not address the other races in Guyana or Guyana's economic structure or social and other reforms.

Leadership? Or some other phenomenon at work here?

Amral posted:

a few indians i talked with in Guyana were quite content with Jagdeo as president. They saw nothing wrong with him

That is because they feel comfortable when their own ethnicity is in government,the same would be said by an afro of the current gov't.That is Guyana the people are divided by their ethnic make up,they don't choose a government that have the best economic plan for their betterment.

Amral posted:

a few indians i talked with in Guyana were quite content with Jagdeo as president. They saw nothing wrong with him

But when you ask the poor ones how come the "progress under Jagdeo" missed them they are lost for words.

All con men including Hitler have a way of fooling people, but they cannot fool all the people all the time.

The biggest tiefman in Guyana's history and still pushing divisive racist politics in the 21st century. Fire pun dat chi chi man.

All you been hollering thief, thief. To date, none of your lies have been proven in a court of law. It is just lies, unless proven in a court of law.

Your lies and nonsense can be thrown in Garbage bin.

AFC/PNC is talk and talk is cheap, audit and all.

Looks like Jagdeo still stuck in some of you people's craw. Time to move on and address the current govt and what it is that they are doing to resolve the current economic decline in the nation. 

It has been less than a year and Region Nine is facing food shortages.

These chaps are worse than Burnham 1000 times.

Looks like Jagdeo still stuck in some of you people's craw. Time to move on and address the current govt and what it is that they are doing to resolve the current economic decline in the nation. 

Dire times are ahead for the nation. I would advise that you get your family out of Guyana if any remain. Granger et al have intentions of reducing Indos to a notch above slave status in the country. Rawanda will look like a paradise after these new breed of crooks get done with Guyana. 

Region Nine bracing for food shortages as dry weather persists

Aye!!!!  Welcome back home Kari.  We were starting to miss you - dear prodigal son!!!!

H, I've never been a member of any political party in Guyana. While a student I was a polling agent for the Liberator party and that was it. I used to go to Freedom House as a teenager to listen to Cheddi Jagan. I worked for the Burnham government and supported the PPP back in the post-1992 days. So I don't know if I'm a prodigal son.  Also remember that a leader can lead this way or that way. I'm not naive to the Jagdeo Administrations. I was merely addressing his  impact on the people who support him regardless - the mark of a leader. While the PPP could argue that they won the last election it is clear that under his stewardship the PPP has lost voter share from elections since 2001.

Donald obviously is a leader of all those people who attend his rallies, poll for him, vote for him and and validated by the media that follow him from celebrity to a politician who has changed the dynamics of the Republican party. He does this without details of policies but speaking in platitudes.

Putin is revered in Russia but outsiders will look at his moves in tyhe Crimea, Ukraine and Syria (to prop up Assad) and see a leader whose country suffer from sanctions and a falling Rubble.

Jagdeo's record during the crime spree following the 2002 Mash jail break is well documented and his stewardship of the economy does not show a radical change in fundamentals towards greater light manufacturing and value-added and knowledge-based economy. With remittances, the steep prices of gold, dramatic rise in rice production coupled with rising prices, and remittances the economic future was masked by these temporal fortunes. Yet Jagdeo is worshiped by a substantial portion of the population.

Donald Trump phenomenon you ask?

Kari posted:

Donald obviously is a leader of all those people who attend his rallies, poll for him, vote for him and and validated by the media that follow him from celebrity to a politician who has changed the dynamics of the Republican party. He does this without details of policies but speaking in platitudes.

Putin is revered in Russia but outsiders will look at his moves in tyhe Crimea, Ukraine and Syria (to prop up Assad) and see a leader whose country suffer from sanctions and a falling Rubble.

Jagdeo's record during the crime spree following the 2002 Mash jail break is well documented and his stewardship of the economy does not show a radical change in fundamentals towards greater light manufacturing and value-added and knowledge-based economy. With remittances, the steep prices of gold, dramatic rise in rice production coupled with rising prices, and remittances the economic future was masked by these temporal fortunes. Yet Jagdeo is worshiped by a substantial portion of the population.

I see you finally sobering up to the realization you were high on glue!!

baseman posted:
Kari posted:

Should I make a similar statement like the  above,  I would be banned.

Easy Base Bhai. Let us have everyone back in the tent.

Time for those who got conned but the AFC/PNC to come home. Many have already come back home.

No hard feelings for those who made a mistake.

Except Granger's two Butlers, Moses and RUMjattan.

Ok, we will welcome him back "home".  I notice them couple banna, TK, KidhanB, etc still hiding under a rock!!  Dem prapa shame!!

Why this "coming home" sentiment? I am not changing my views on the need for a change from the PPP/C government that ended last year. My views on the PPP's internal party governance and its treatment of the Guyana economy and State assets have not changed. I also reiterate my views that Moses Nagamootoo did a lot of damage to the PPP's electoral chances. What this thread is about is that Jagdeo continues to get the kind of support - not unlike Trump or Putin - that makes him a leader of people. You can lead this way or that way. There were infamous people in history who were leaders but led their followers down a destructive path.

So there is no people hiding under a rock, or people making a mistake or coming home. Samjeh?

baseman posted:
Kari posted:

Should I make a similar statement like the  above,  I would be banned.

Mits..... the funny fellas will continue to Scratch and Itch publicly

like the Indian Scamp who left the Sugar Industry Bankrupt,

Stole all the money from the Petro Caribe Fund...

Stole Millions and put it in the Hands of Bobby Ramroop, Eddie Boyo, Brian Young, Manniram, Jerry Gouviea, Fip, EZJet, Brassington, Sudama, Clico, Sandford.

Granger moving in to Jail all them thieves....Is Now yuh gon see real Scratching & Itching

Mits yuh gon see all ah dem Thieves run and hide when I post the Video with their Indian President crawling across the toilet floor and hiding from Ravi Dev Jihajis.

Yuh think Yuji ready to face the truth?

Who say Jagdeo is honest?

UNDERHAND DEAL

Former GGMC Board Chairman, Clinton Williams

UNDERHAND DEAL

– transaction that takes months completed in days
– Gov’t probes alleged corrupt land deal between Bai Shan Lin and GGMC

By Svetlana Marshall
THE GUYANA Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) was allegedly riddled with corruption under the old regime, with the Chairman and Commissioner reportedly colluding with Bai Shan Lin to secure a plot of land in the Mazaruni Mining District No. 3.

Former GGMC Commissioner, Rickford Vieira

The Guyana Chronicle was reliably informed that a process which usually takes months, and sometimes more than a year, was completed in seven days, much to the satisfaction of the trio.

Reports indicate that, without any hesitation, former Chairman Clinton Williams and former Commissioner Rickford Vieira had allegedly moved to grant the Director of Bai Shan Lin, Hongbo Chu, a Prospecting Licence (PL) to operate in the Mazaruni Mining District. Less than seven days after, Chu reportedly converted the Prospecting Licence to a Mining Permit, paving the way for alluvial mining to be done, but not by him.

Putting the transaction into context, a reliable source explained that, in 2011, GGMC had granted Brian Chase a Prospecting Licence to operate in the area, but despite being notified of the due date, Chase had failed to renew his Prospecting Licence, and in keeping with the laws governing the Commission, the land, which belongs to the State, was reclaimed.

It is not clear when Chu, who is a naturalised citizen of Guyana, developed interest in the mineral rich area, but documents seen by this newspaper revealed that on October 9, 2015, Williams, Vieira and Chu affixed their signatures to a document that paved the way for the latter to acquire the Prospecting Licence. This allowed him to mine gold and precious stones in the area for a period of five years.

The document which paved the way for the Director of Bai Shan Lin, Hongbo Chu, to be granted the Prospecting Licence

Though it appears legitimate from the outside looking in, the source said, the deal, which was signed and sealed in one day, ought to be food for thought.

“This process normally takes months. Sometimes you apply, it takes more than a year, because it is a lengthy process and everyone knows that. GGMC is inefficient, they don’t deliver to the regular people; and for such a transaction to be signed off in one day, well, that is something strange,” the source posited.

According to the source, to make matters worse, Chu, within seven days, converted the Prospecting Licence to a Mining Permit, before renting the plot of land to Joa Oliviera Nascimento.

“The PL is large-scale, and they can’t do alluvial mining on a PL. In order to do alluvial mining, and to give the gentleman a contract, he converted it in a matter of six days, which is record-breaking. Nobody can get that process done in six days at GGMC. So, (because of) the haste in which it was done, it had to be complete collusion with the Board. The Board would have had to see the process through,” the source explained.

The receipt which was given to Joa Oliviera Nascimento by Hongbo Chu to operate in the Mazaruni Mining District

The receipt, which was also seen by this newspaper, indicates that Nascimento was required to pay an initial sum of $5M, and subsequently $2M on a monthly basis. According to the source, Vieira and Williams were paid more than US$166,000 to facilitate this and several other transactions.

“They were best of friends, but they became enemies because of greed. Vieira collected the money but didn’t give Williams the full amount, so that is how the problem started,” the source told this newspaper.

Less than two months after the Prospecting Licence was granted to Chu, Williams, being at the time the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the GGMC, moved a no-confidence motion against Vieira.

On November 28, 2015 the Board, under stewardship of Williams, moved a no-confidence motion against Vieira and several senior functionaries within the Commission. Williams had said that Vieira had failed the Commission in many areas.
Vieira was sent home, but his services were terminated only last month.

But while Williams moved a no-confidence motion against Vieira, the source said, Williams had pleaded with the Government not to have his (Williams) stint cut short.

“Everybody knows why the Chairman was begging for that opportunity; it was because he had already taken (sums of) money from miners for some favours, and this is not the only one, so he had to complete and he did complete.”

According to information reaching this newspaper, the Ministry of Natural Resources has launched an investigation into the matter, to determine whether any laws were breached in the process.

Cain is good thing Jagdeo gone