Ryhaan Shah

Bandits rob Ryhaan Shah at gunpoint

Rising Crime wave

…escape with cash, other personal items

Businesswoman and writer, Ryhaan Shah was on Thursday afternoon robbed by two gun-toting bandit just as she arrived home from an overseas trip.

Cultural activist and columnist of the Guyana Times, Shah, told this newspaper that she had just arrived home and drove her car into the garage under the house. She said as she was approaching the front door two men armed with hand guns walked into the yard. Shah said at the time her gate was still open. β€œAt first I thought they needed help with directions or something until they came right up to me and started to tug at my handbag,” Shah related.

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...an-shah-at-gunpoint/

Other armed robberies
Shah is the latest of several other persons who have been robbed in recent times upon their return from overseas. Back in June two men were held after they were nabbed by Police ranks in D Division (West Bank Demerara/East Bank Essequibo) moments after robbing an overseas-based Guyanese and his family at Goed Fortuin, West Bank Demerara (WBD) in the wee hours of Sunday morning.

Alex Roberts, 35, of Lot 324 Goed Fortuin, Squatting Area, WBD and his wife arrived at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) at about 00:30h and after clearing immigration, the couple left the airport and arrived home at about 02:00h. Reports were that Roberts and his wife, were collected at the airport by his brother-in-law and sister-in-law, had and upon their arrival home, he exited the car to open the gate. It was here that he was confronted by three men armed with handguns.  The men relived the family of US$140, G$55,000, jewellery, four mobile phones and travel document, along with two bags. From all indications, it appears that the perpetrators trailed the family from the CJIA, since records at the Demerara Harbour Bridge (DHB) proved that Roberts’ vehicle crossed the bridge at 01:47h and the vehicle the perpetrators was travelling in, bearing registration number PSS 9566 crossed at 01:48h.

In the same month another  US-based Guyanese woman who had returned to Guyana to visit her family in Mon Repos, East Coast Demerara was attacked and robbed at gun point, hours after landing at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, Timehri. Seerajie Shivram, 56 years old of Florida, was attacked and robbed by two gunmen as she was making her way into her house at Lot 2 Mon Repos. The woman was relieved of over US$3000, her asthmatic medication, her United States (US) passport, and US identification card and driver’s licence, among other important documents. Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum had explained that there are normally Police roadblocks along the East Bank Corridor from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) in Timehri to Georgetown, and Police Officers would usually stop suspicious vehicles, make inquiries and take the necessary action if something seems amiss. However, considering the progressive increase of these attacks on travellers, not only US-based Guyanese en route from the airport to their destinations, Blanhum had said the Police will definitely have to intensify their work to ensure the country is safer for tourists and returning Guyanese.

Dat place is now one BIG STINKING Land.  God HELP Abee Guyana.  No one is safe, PNC and the 2 House Slaves released over 100 CRIMINALS to create a land of savages!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Every criminal has a gun in Guyana thanks to Jagdeo and Ramotar allowing free rein of drugs in the country.  Drug running breeds crime so ahyuh know who to thank.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Dat place is now one BIG STINKING Land.  God HELP Abee Guyana.  No one is safe, PNC and the 2 House Slaves released over 100 CRIMINALS to create a land of savages!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Every criminal has a gun in Guyana thanks to Jagdeo and Ramotar allowing free rein of drugs in the country.  Drug running breeds crime so ahyuh know who to thank.

Please supply evidence that both of the former presidents gave instructions to the relevant authorities to allow free rein of drugs in Guyana. Yes. I agree that drugs is one of the reasons for crime, but there are many others. Also, gun crimes in Guyana were occurring even before the PPP government assumed power. Might want to look also at a corrupt police force, corrupt lawyers and a weak justice system among other things.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

Please supply evidence that both of the former presidents gave instructions to the relevant authorities to allow free rein of drugs in Guyana. Yes. I agree that drugs is one of the reasons for crime, but there are many others. Also, gun crimes in Guyana were occurring even before the PPP government assumed power. Might want to look also at a corrupt police force, corrupt lawyers and a weak justice system among other things.

You mean you looking for the black and white paper they signed their names on?  

I grew up in a village and we have not so nice names for people who propagate rumours and Gossip so have lesrnt to endure that there is evidence

to support what I say. All I am asking is that you provide the evidence or start your comment with a provisional intro. 

Z

I grew up in a village and we have not so nice names for people who propagate rumours and Gossip so have lesrnt to endure that there is evidence

to support what I say. All I am asking is that you provide the evidence or start your comment with a provisional intro. 

You looking for evidence that drug running became a "major industry" in Guyana during the Jagdeo and Ramotar presidency?  Where you head deh?  Please pull it out of wherever it is and use it wisely.

Zed forgot the story about the plane being grounded...same plane that has pictures of the prez on board. Also may have forgotten coke in the fish, coke in the panty, coke in the poke etc.