Earlier this week the party warned of the consequences our country and economy faces as a result of the confrontational approach adopted by the AFC/APNU defacto government. We urged an end to the witch-hunting and the arbitrary dismissals of public servants as well the reign of intimidation and fear now gripping our country.
We warned that triumphalist and insensitive chatter such as Finance Minister Winston Jordan’s “not being distracted" comment will only serve to "throw salt in the wounds" of the thousands who are still traumatized as a result of their being cheated electorally.
We posited that such insensitive statements from a man who is responsible for the economy of Guyana can have a far reaching and negative impact on the productive forces in the most dynamic sectors of the country's economy.
Well over the past several days, some of our leading companies which for many years provided employment for hundreds of Guyanese were forced to downsize staff.  Here’s a look at some:
Gafoors – 70 employees
Laparkan – 35 employees
Guyana Stores Limited – 30 employees
Muneshwars Limited – 35 employees

Source: PPP

Originally Posted by Conscience:

That is all I need to know to rubbish this.

You were fired because your job was a waste of tax payer funds. As a result the PPP left the government coffers empty.

Now you want to talk about a slowing economy?  Given that the coalition has been in power for just over a month, clearly the slowing economy has its roots in conditions which were already in place before.

The PPP did NOTHING to transform Guyana from being an exporter of unprocessed commodities.  It encouraged a speculative economy based on bubble like investment in real estate and the retail sectors, even as the productive sectors were all slowing.

Quit your cackle.

This quack regime don't have a plan in place to create jobs and strengthen the economy. More people are losing jobs instead. Guyana is heading for destruction.

When yuh give JACKASS to run a Country shit will happen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You were fired because your job was a waste of tax payer funds. As a result the PPP left the government coffers empty.

Now you want to talk about a slowing economy?  Given that the coalition has been in power for just over a month, clearly the slowing economy has its roots in conditions which were already in place before.

The PPP did NOTHING to transform Guyana from being an exporter of unprocessed commodities.  It encouraged a speculative economy based on bubble like investment in real estate and the retail sectors, even as the productive sectors were all slowing.

Quit your cackle.

If it were clear, there would be no argument about the issue. Please quote your source which stated that the Guyana economy was slowing because of factors before the new government assumed power. What is your source for a real estate  or retail bubble. Might not a slowdown be a result of people having no confidence in the government to manage the economy and promote promote opportunities for their companies to grow thus employ people? This is a question at this point.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

Quit your cackle.If it were clear, there would be no argument about the issue. Please quote your source which stated that the Guyana economy was slowing because of factors before the new government assumed power. What is your source for a real estate  or retail bubble. Might not a slowdown be a result of people having no confidence in the government to manage the economy and promote promote opportunities for their companies to grow thus employ people? This is a question at this point.

1.  Problems in gold, sugar, rice, bauxite.  Scandal that only raw logs were being exported.  Where do you see an economic boom.  All this was before May 11th and was discussed often on GNI.

2.  Real estate prices are way above what one would expect in a nation with incomes as low as that earned by most of the middle class.

3.  Retail is supported by consumer expenditures.  If these decline then so does the retail sector.  Guyana isn't St Maarten or Curacao, or even Trinidad or Barbados, where visitors arrive to buy from retail establishments.

YOU need to point out a source, other than the PPP, which states that coalition policies are responsible for the economic slow down.  As we speak they are still trying to ascertain where exactly the PPP have left Guyana.

What has the coalition gov't done to generate a lack of confidence?  Fire some incompetent and corrupt wastes like the fools who ran Guysuco to the ground.  How much confidence could the PPP have generated when Guysuco was a days from insolvency when they lost power, and evidence is that debts are higher, and cash reserves lower than they claimed that it was?

Quit your cackle.If it were clear, there would be no argument about the issue. Please quote your source which stated that the Guyana economy was slowing because of factors before the new government assumed power. What is your source for a real estate  or retail bubble. Might not a slowdown be a result of people having no confidence in the government to manage the economy and promote promote opportunities for their companies to grow thus employ people? This is a question at this point.

1.  Problems in gold, sugar, rice, bauxite.  Scandal that only raw logs were being exported.  Where do you see an economic boom.  All this was before May 11th and was discussed often on GNI.

2.  Real estate prices are way above what one would expect in a nation with incomes as low as that earned by most of the middle class.

3.  Retail is supported by consumer expenditures.  If these decline then so does the retail sector.  Guyana isn't St Maarten or Curacao, or even Trinidad or Barbados, where visitors arrive to buy from retail establishments.

YOU need to point out a source, other than the PPP, which states that coalition policies are responsible for the economic slow down.  As we speak they are still trying to ascertain where exactly the PPP have left Guyana.

What has the coalition gov't done to generate a lack of confidence?  Fire some incompetent and corrupt wastes like the fools who ran Guysuco to the ground.  How much confidence could the PPP have generated when Guysuco was a days from insolvency when they lost power, and evidence is that debts are higher, and cash reserves lower than they claimed that it was?

I am unsure to whom you were replying, Caribny. hiwever, the problems associated with the rice sugar and bauxite industries e sited for many years in which there was good growth.yes, the gold industry is negatively affected by the fall in price of gold and will be affecting the economy in a negative way. Regarding government debt, the general approach is to look at sustainability so the look at the debt as related to GDP. And, these do not necessarily lead to a slowdown. How much has this changed in the past few years. I am uncertain the government or anyone for that matter has a really good picture of consumer expenditure because of the large undocumented and underground economy. I mentioned in another thread that the Canadian custom officer said that a lot of currency was coming from Guyana. I know that this is anecdotal. I agree that retail prices are high, but has this dramatically increased over the past few months. People were purchasing just prior to the elections and then things slowed down for the elections and has not improved as yet from anecdotal sources.

Z

I am unsure to whom you were replying, Caribny. hiwever, the problems associated with the rice sugar and bauxite industries e sited for many years in which there was good growth.yes, the gold industry is negatively affected by the fall in price of gold and will be affecting the economy in a negative way. Regarding government debt, the general approach is to look at sustainability so the look at the debt as related to GDP. And, these do not necessarily lead to a slowdown. How much has this changed in the past few years. I am uncertain the government or anyone for that matter has a really good picture of consumer expenditure because of the large undocumented and underground economy. I mentioned in another thread that the Canadian custom officer said that a lot of currency was coming from Guyana. I know that this is anecdotal. I agree that retail prices are high, but has this dramatically increased over the past few months. People were purchasing just prior to the elections and then things slowed down for the elections and has not improved as yet from anecdotal sources.

When a nation is indebted and the treasury is empty public expenditures must be slashed, and this will cause an economic slow down.

The gold boom, and its multiplier effect hide other structural deficiencies within Guyana's economy.  Now that lower prices, combined with the more accessible areas being mined out, gold production is dropping.  So the economy is slowing.

If the productive sectors are not growing then how can secondary sectors like real estate or retain increase.  There is a bubble in Guyana, and the slowing economy will burst it.

I don't know why the PPP isn't glad that they were voted out.  Instead of being blamed as the economic slow down becomes more obvious, they will sit on the side lines and blame the coalition.

I do hope that the coalition has plans for this, but I some how suspect that they don't. 

But to blame the coalition for the slow down is nonsense, as they haven't even been in power for 2 months.  It takes at least a year for new policies to take effect.  If by year end they have no policies in place, then they should take the blame.

Much of the bubble factor in Guyana's economy comes from the under ground economy, much of it illegal.  I very much doubt that this part of the economy does anything other than concentrate much of the economic activity within a narrow class of oligarchs.  The fact that these PPP connected oligarchs might be attempting to shift assets outside of Guyana is their choice.

Quit your cackle.

The slow economy is because the productive sector (Indians) do not have confidence in the de facto APNU Government.Speaking to many business people today they will tell you that commerce is very slow as people seek to move their trade and money to other places such as Aruba and Trinidad. No one can forget the atrocities committed against the East Indians during the Burnham reign of oppression.Talk about biting the hands that feed you, the negroes have been living off the backs of East Indians as they produce nothing and own very little if any. Any business owner will tell you that they preferred the PPP government irrespective of the apparent crimes as have been told and retold by the de facto government without showing the facts.They provided a stable environment for development of the business sector a sector that generates the funds that is in the Treasury and which is used by APNU boys to provide Mashramani for their supporters.As I have said knocking two drum and selling cassava ball,souse and black pudding cannnot support the lifestyle of those in the non productive sector. The PNC (major section of APNU) sought to destroy East Indians and their livelihood in the process they destroyed the national economy and themselves.Just a simple example of their stupidity and hatred.Burnham under the pretext of saving foreign currency decided to ban split peas and flour among many other items.The negroes in the society and in the Ministries were extremely happy "we gun kill de coolie now,,they cant mek dhall,coolie cyant live without dhall.We gat them now deh cyant mek roti,deh dead now".That was the first few days of jubiliation of their war against the East Indians.However afterwards the negroes realised that this was abig mistake.Negroes need split peas for their cookup asd the needed flour to make saltfish and bake,Cassava and corn flour couldnt work. During the Hoyte days region three was deliberately given a small budget for infrastructure develeopment despite bringing in the larges amount of foreign currency to the country. Except those coolie crabdogs and nimakharams, East Indians cannot forget the PNC reign of terror against them acts that were deliberate and well thought out all. The PNC (APNU) regime is no different to those that we see in Africa throughout history since their independent.Same stupidity,same fight to mimic the white man. The APNU de facto government will degenerate into a new PNC with all the trimmings of a dictatorship very soon.They are not known to run an efficient government.They do not understand money and finance hence the wastage on self aggrandizement and Mashramani everyday till every cent is spent. Those negroes in Brooklyn,DC and Atlanta,strange people.A large majority emigrated during the Burnham and PNC reign of terror.They sufferred extreme hardship even more than the East Indians because they owned very little had very little money to live on.Now those same people have come out in support of the same part that they ran from.Yet with the APNU in power they will not leave the US to go back to Guyana.Talk about people who are confused. The APNU has a few years to survive and if they do survive on loans from IMF and the World Bank they will again announce audterity measures,ban split peas and flour. They do not have a clue of running cakeshp much less government.

Much of the bubble factor in Guyana's economy comes from the under ground economy, much of it illegal.  I very much doubt that this part of the economy does anything other than concentrate much of the economic activity within a narrow class of oligarchs.  The fact that these PPP connected oligarchs might be attempting to shift assets outside of Guyana is their choice.

I was disappointed that the government not did not quickly get parliament in session and pass an interim budget. I thought that this would have reduced the uncertainty after the elections.  I do not believe that in terms of broad economic policy, that the government did anything that resulted in a slowdown of the economy. It is a matter of confidence by both the consumers and those who own or hope to own businesses. 

The underground economy, I believe is much wider than a narrow class of oligarchs.  I am amazed at how much money people with low government jobs or lower clerical jobs in businesses spend. I keep complaining that many people live in Guyana but spend like Americans. The common understanding in Guyana, which I discovered to my dismay was that everyone is on the make.  I accept that there are oligarchs who are extremely wealthy, who have businesses and spend lots. They might be cutting back on spending until they figure out where the government is going with the issues they are concerned with.

The major spinoff effect is from the gold industry. We can easily calculate the spinoff effects of the fall in price of golD and on production. Part of getting a really good measure is verifying the cost of production of miners and the reliability of the numbers we have. The government is still spending because they of the one twelfth provision. They have not slashed any spending. The GRA is still collecting taxes, excise duties, etc, Sugar workers are still working and rice farmers are producing at record numbers. I still think that this is a crisis in confidence and this must be urgently addressed by the government if they hope to get things going. Have a good evening!

Z

Jobs will be lost in the sugar industry as the Government fails to upgrade the system.   As Indians leave the sugar plantation by the hundreds, blacks will be forced to cut cane to make up for the loses.  Skilled canecutters will be very scarce and grasscutters from the islands will be imported and turned them into

something......

Jobs will be lost in the sugar industry as the Government fails to upgrade the system.  

And the sugar industry can also be minimized to ensure sufficient sugar and molasses for local markets.  DDL will quite willingly acquire this remnant of the sugar industry.  They will mechanize the industry, and confine cultivation to places where this is possible.

Your reaction implies that GuySICKO is a net positive for Guyana. It isn't when production  costs are double the price that sugar can be sold for.

I leave you and your fellow racists to tell us why Barbados, and Antigua, more than 90% black, are more productive than is our 30% black country, as you imply that only Indians do any work.   Do you think that Guyanese blacks are lazier than other Caribbean blacks?

Earlier this week the party warned of the consequences our country and economy faces as a result of the confrontational approach adopted by the AFC/APNU defacto government. We urged an end to the witch-hunting and the arbitrary dismissals of public servants as well the reign of intimidation and fear now gripping our country.
We warned that triumphalist and insensitive chatter such as Finance Minister Winston Jordan’s “not being distracted" comment will only serve to "throw salt in the wounds" of the thousands who are still traumatized as a result of their being cheated electorally.
We posited that such insensitive statements from a man who is responsible for the economy of Guyana can have a far reaching and negative impact on the productive forces in the most dynamic sectors of the country's economy.
Well over the past several days, some of our leading companies which for many years provided employment for hundreds of Guyanese were forced to downsize staff.  Here’s a look at some:
Gafoors – 70 employees
Laparkan – 35 employees

SourcePP     Guyana got jokes.

This quack regime don't have a plan in place to create jobs and strengthen the economy. More people are losing jobs instead. Guyana is heading for destruction.

When yuh give JACKASS to run a Country shit will happen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The biggest Jacko to run Guyana was one donkey called Rumutar.

Gafoors – 70 employees
Laparkan – 35 employees

SourcePP     Guyana got jokes.

Source PPP.  shocking. anything from the PPP is a BIG FAT LIE.

Poor AFC pussies, they would never learn. no matter how bad the PPP appears to be, they are 1000 times better than APNU/AFC.

Two of the top ministers are idiots. That would be Moses and Khemraj.

When a nation is indebted and the treasury is empty public expenditures must be slashed, and this will cause an economic slow down.

The gold boom, and its multiplier effect hide other structural deficiencies within Guyana's economy.  Now that lower prices, combined with the more accessible areas being mined out, gold production is dropping.  So the economy is slowing.

If the productive sectors are not growing then how can secondary sectors like real estate or retain increase.  There is a bubble in Guyana, and the slowing economy will burst it.

I don't know why the PPP isn't glad that they were voted out.  Instead of being blamed as the economic slow down becomes more obvious, they will sit on the side lines and blame the coalition.

I do hope that the coalition has plans for this, but I some how suspect that they don't. 

But to blame the coalition for the slow down is nonsense, as they haven't even been in power for 2 months.  It takes at least a year for new policies to take effect.  If by year end they have no policies in place, then they should take the blame.

The slowdown is a point of inflection given the change in Govt and some unfriendly rhetoric.  The PNC needs to get their act together by instilling confidence if they want to see a return to growth.  Keep chanting your poppy-cock demagoguery, see how quickly the inflection becomes a tailspin. 

.  Keep chanting your poppy-cock demagoguery, see how quickly the inflection becomes a tailspin. 

What demagoguery?  That corrupt people must be allowed to continue to be corrupt merely because they are Jagdeo's friends?  If there is indeed a slow down due to the election, that is the reason. 

I can see nothing that the coalition has done to induce this as they ascertain the true financial situation which the PPP left Guyana.  Until they do so they cannot craft new policy. 

It is readily apparent that Guyana is more indebted, and the treasury emptier than what the PPP led Guyanese to believe.  Look at the Guysuco fiasco!  And the Consolidated Fund, and now all sorts of invoices being presented for dubious purposes.

The alliance has a better foundation to build on, than what the PPP inherited in 1992.   In 1964, Burnham also inherited a great foundation, but he and the PNC destroyed it because they didn't what to do.  They stole the PPP's development plans but didn't know how to implement them. Again the dirty Indos in the alliance are proposing Jagdeo's development plans and that is why they want the PPP to join them in a national unity government to implement the Plans.    

Yes Antiman,

Dem educated cultured Blacks in the PNC and AFC with decades of government experience need some uneducated low life coolies to show dem how to run tings.

Yes Antiman,

Dem educated cultured Blacks in the PNC and AFC with decades of government experience need some uneducated low life coolies to show dem how to run tings.

You are  insane.   In 23 years the PPP government completed over 5000 projects.

It's almost 100 days and the new unity Government cannot complete a single project. Don't talk about low life coolie because you can only talk about your mama.

The slowdown is a point of inflection given the change in Govt and some unfriendly rhetoric.  The PNC needs to get their act together by instilling confidence if they want to see a return to growth.  Keep chanting your poppy-cock demagoguery, see how quickly the inflection becomes a tailspin. 

Poppy-cock demagoguery indeed will continue for a long time, while practical solutions will be sparse and unfriendly rhetoric will progress.

It's almost 100 days and the new unity Government cannot complete a single project.

And perhaps, in 1,000 days the PNC government will still be talking about what to do.

It's almost 100 days and the new unity Government cannot complete a single project.

And perhaps, in 1,000 days the PNC government will still be talking about what to do.

Come on, give the team 100 days first, then judge.

Georgie
Originally Posted by Georgie:

They tried to cleanup the city and failed.

Now they are trying to cleanup criminal activities.  They hired the criminals in the police Force to do that. They placed an inept former PPP has been to head the Security department.  

They hired old and senile PNC farts over 75 years to do the most important jobs. Then you wonder why nothing is being done.

It's all talk and no work which will make Burnham Smile.

They tried to cleanup the city and failed.

PNC government ministers and officials looked on while it is the citizens who were involved with the sporadic cleaning up.

It will be of interest to see if this cleaning up will take place, at least. once a month.

It's all talk and no work which will make Burnham Smile.

Interesting observation.

They hired old and senile PNC farts over 75 years to do the most important jobs. Then you wonder why nothing is being done.

And very little practical things will be done for the public by 2020.

Gafoors – 70 employees
Laparkan – 35 employees

EVIDENCE.

Freedom House cannot be a source.

Quit your cackle.

Are you denying that people are losing their jobs?.  That is only the tip of the iceberg. Take your hatred for the PPP and go back to your fox hole.

Only yesterday, I was posting about layoffs and Harmon's attitude towards businesses especially Indo businesses. This is the first sign of a recession and the PNC is going about as if the economy is good. The economy is headed downhill and these chaps are clueless.

People are losing jobs and Moses is eating $ 50 million like a fat Pig. While in opposition, this very fat pig was talking about humility and an ordinary lifestyle. Today, his furniture cost 10 million, His house and SUV, over 50 million. 

Layoffs from the big players:

Gafoors – 70 employees
Laparkan – 35 employees

PNC's Ethnic cleansing:

GPHC's CEO sent on leave

The Chief Executive Officer of the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation, Michael Khan [right) assisting Public Health Minister Dr. George Norton in responding to questions by the opposition during the National Assembly's consideration of the 2015 Budget Estimates.

The Chief Executive Officer of the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation, Michael Khan (right) assisting Public Health Minister Dr. George Norton in responding to questions by the opposition during the National Assembly's consideration of the 2015 Budget Estimates.

The PNC never gave a damn about development or the suffering of people. Their own was squatting on lands in the SOPHIA area until the PPP came to power and gave them titles to house lots. They still went to the polls and voted PNC. It's just amazing.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

The PNC never gave a damn about development or the suffering of people. Their own was squatting on lands in the SOPHIA area until the PPP came to power and gave them titles to house lots. They still went to the polls and voted PNC. It's just amazing.

Well Billy, I believe its the nature of Guyanese and Indians  might do the same.

How do we resolve this racist crap ? 

Jagdeo and Granger meeting might be a start, if both are sincere.    

Tola,

The PPP gov't. was not perfect but they were far being a dictatorship like the PNC. The Burnhamnites way of dealing with the PNC's horrible past is to claim that the PPP was just as dictatorial and racist like the PNC.  This is how they absolve themselves and take no responsibility for what transpired in the post colonial period for almost three decades.

Billy,

The PNC had their style of government and the PPP had their style of government.

The new government is mixture of both governments, that some might not like.

But if they screw up, the  next election will address them.

Personally, I don't see consequences as negative, but as an experience to go forward in life.

I am confident, eventually, a government will be formed in Guyana that will be inclusive of all races, that will treat everyone equally.      

I am glad this thread came back alive. Even after going on four months for this regime, more and more skills people are losing jobs to unskilled Afros because of Indian marginalization, with no strategic plan to create additional jobs. High unemployment will encourage graduates to thief and kill. There is darkness at the end of the tunnel.

Are you denying that people are losing their jobs?.  That is only the tip of the iceberg. Take your hatred for the PPP and go back to your fox hole.

The economy grew when gold prices were high, and now contracts as gold prices drop.

Now what did the PPP do to remove Guyana from being 100% dependent on commodity prices?  NOTHING!