Watchdog groups complicit in conspiracy of silence – PPP

JUNE 19, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

An apparent conspiracy of silence is slowly taking over the country.
At least this is according to the People’s Progressive Party (PPP).
During a press conference held yesterday morning, Party Member Juan Edghill maintained that the entire nation – but particularly the media – has been condoning the shortcomings of the new APNU+AFC government by remaining silent.

Juan Edghill

According to Edghill the “conspiracy of silence” seemed to begin on May 11. He noted a number of deemed violations by the new government, including the dismissal of persons believed or known to have affiliations with the PPP. He also included “ethnic cleansing” as part of the list.
Edghill said that specific organisations and some sections of the media have remained silent as it relates to the violations taking place in the country.
Noting the case of Junior Social Protection Minister Simona Broomes writing to the Public Service Commission (PSC) to temporarily suspend employments in her ministry, Edghill opined that a similar letter was probably dispatched to the media.
“Maybe we haven’t seen that letter as yet, but perhaps there is a letter written to media houses and certain organisations to cease reporting on some specific things that are taking place in the country, and that is why I’m dubbing it a conspiracy of silence…maybe your letter exists and it has not yet surfaced,” Edghill said.
He continued, “I’m hard pressed to believe that the robustness that existed in the media fraternity and among social and political activists has actually been converted to inertia since May 11.”
During his remarks, Edghill went to great lengths to identify as many perceived violations as possible.
He said that those who have believed or known affiliations with the PPP are clearly being targeted and are quickly being dismissed. He maintained that Guyanese have the right to freely associate with whoever and whatever they please and, “a man or a woman cannot be terminated or fired because of their political opinion.”
As part of the deemed violations, Edghill included the dismissal of former Region 9 REO Claire Singh. According to Edghill, the new government’s appointment of Carl Parker to the position reeks of hypocrisy. He emphasised that Parker has known affiliations with APNU.
He also noted Acting Town Clerk Carol Sooba, who was recently sent on leave by the City Council. Edghill maintained that Sooba had been targeted in an “undignified, well-orchestrated, politically sanctioned” fashion by the APNU+AFC government. He added that Sooba had been publicly humiliated and disgraced.
“Yet we have not heard from the Justice Institutes, we have not heard from the Guyana Human Rights Association, we haven’t heard from the Guyana Bar Association…we have not heard from any of the watchdogs of justice and democracy and human rights in Guyana,” Edghill emphasised.
All of these actions, he said, are being done with due process. However, he said, no one has spoken out against these dismissals.
“These are violations of fundamental human rights, but it seems that we have lost our voices or are in league or we’re on vacation. It’s been condoned by the quiet acceptance of the people who should be speaking against it and this must stop. This must stop,” he said. He added, “The APNU+AFC cannot stand the scrutiny of light on these matters that we’re talking about.”
He further said ethnic discrimination or “ethnic cleansing” was ongoing by the new government. He added that though the PPP had been accused of running a racist campaign, it had actually been the coalition that had done so. He emphasised that stories reported by individuals daily indicate his claims.
When questioned on whether the PPP believed that the new administration was doing what the previous government had done, Edghill quickly responded, “worse”.
Since the new coalition came into power last month, PPP has repeatedly accused the new government of witch-hunting.

Pastor Edghill, a former head of Ethnic Relations, should not be using such strong language as "ethnic cleansing."

That's unhelpful to the cause of national unity.

There are some functionaries that would have to go regardless of race.

HOWEVER, GRANGER HAS TO BE SENSITIVE TO DIVERSITY issues and they have failed so far.

Originally Posted by antabanta:

Is ethnic cleansing referring to the sacking of all dem teef?

There are many instances of high profile Indos being fired. These were honest and competent Guyanese. I could care less about those who were corrupt.

I am never afraid to speak out. In fact, we must speak out now.

There are many instances of high profile Indos being fired. These were honest and competent Guyanese. I could care less about those who were corrupt.

A govt firing employees for whatever reason is not ethnic cleansing.

Guyana seems to be headed into the dark days of PNC ethnic cleansing. It must stop now before it is too late.

AFC can put an end to this ethnic cleansing immediately. They hold the balance of power in Guyana. It is important for the AFC to realize how much power they yield.

It is not unusual for senior administrators who are political appointees to go when the tenure of Government is brought to an end.

It just looks "racial" when you see Indian political appointees being dismissed to make room for Black political appointees. But the real cause of that is that the PPP as a party has to reward its political supporters (overwhelmingly Indian) and the PNC has to reward its political supporters (overwhelmingly Black). It's a matter of political patronage and the need of a Government to have its own party loyalists in key positions to carry out its agenda enthusiastically. Elections have consequences. If these were entrenched civil servants then, they couldn't be fired (at least not easily). However, the PPP in their infinite mudheadedness thought it was better to classify the Indos as "contract workers" so they would be more easily controlled and obedient to the will of Freedom House. So whose really to blame here?

Guyana seems to be headed into the dark days of PNC ethnic cleansing. It must stop now before it is too late.

AFC can put an end to this ethnic cleansing immediately. They hold the balance of power in Guyana. It is important for the AFC to realize how much power they yield.

Please do at least minimal research on the term ethnic cleansing.

Last edited by antabanta

I agree with you. But yuji's behavior (which seems a tad irrational in his choice of verbiage) is not unlike Rickford Burke and the PNC USA Brigade which for almost all of the past 15 years were screaming about Indos committing genocide against Blacks in Guyana. Really extraordinary stuff. The Indos were painted as all a bunch of Nazis killing grandma in her sleep.

Think again comrades..  The AFC signed a deal with APNU. one which they cannot backtrack on.   The objective of the PNC was to regain power and keep it forever.  Time and time again I posted that the PNC cannot be trusted.  The army, police, teachers, civil service and government employees will be 95% blacks and mixed.  Remember, I told you so. The Indians will have to go for the Professional jobs, like doctors, engineers, accountants, etc.  Comrades, you want change and you get change.  Now deal with it.   Guys like Caribj is blaming the PPP for this and he is damn well right.  The PPP did underestimate Moses and Khemraj who had no inclination of what they were doing.  God help Guyana.   What the Americans did, they were force to do. 

I agree with you. But yuji's behavior (which seems a tad irrational in his choice of verbiage) is not unlike Rickford Burke and the PNC USA Brigade which for almost all of the past 15 years were screaming about Indos committing genocide against Blacks in Guyana. Really extraordinary stuff. The Indos were painted as all a bunch of Nazis killing grandma in her sleep.

And when the likes of CaribJ and Nuff screamed the same screams on GNI I responded to them accordingly.

Think again comrades..  The AFC signed a deal with APNU. one which they cannot backtrack on.   The objective of the PNC was to regain power and keep it forever.  Time and time again I posted that the PNC cannot be trusted.  The army, police, teachers, civil service and government employees will be 95% blacks and mixed.  Remember, I told you so. The Indians will have to go for the Professional jobs, like doctors, engineers, accountants, etc.  Comrades, you want change and you get change.  Now deal with it.   Guys like Caribj is blaming the PPP for this and he is damn well right.  The PPP did underestimate Moses and Khemraj who had no inclination of what they were doing.  God help Guyana.   What the Americans did, they were force to do. 

I think there is something fundamentally wrong with your perception. How can you scream that the PNC cannot be trusted but say nothing about the rampant corruption of the PPP?

How you say that the PNC only want power as if the PPP wants something else?

The composition of the armed forces and civil service is not mandated by the govt. The absence or presence of indians is by their choice.

It is not unusual for senior administrators who are political appointees to go when the tenure of Government is brought to an end.

It just looks "racial" when you see Indian political appointees being dismissed to make room for Black political appointees. But the real cause of that is that the PPP as a party has to reward its political supporters (overwhelmingly Indian) and the PNC has to reward its political supporters (overwhelmingly Black). It's a matter of political patronage and the need of a Government to have its own party loyalists in key positions to carry out its agenda enthusiastically. Elections have consequences. If these were entrenched civil servants then, they couldn't be fired (at least not easily). However, the PPP in their infinite mudheadedness thought it was better to classify the Indos as "contract workers" so they would be more easily controlled and obedient to the will of Freedom House. So whose really to blame here?

Shaits,

I have to disagree with you on my analysis. Moderate Indos must speak out now and I have chosen to do so.

It may appear that Indos cannot depend on the AFC to defend them.

Cleanse the corrupted ones.

- The 'consultants' and family members of PPP leaders who were receiving $300,000 per month doing nothing

- The PPP bloggers and propagandists that were getting $50,000+ per month

- The PPP cronies who $100, 000+ per month light bill and phone credit that was being paid by the taxpayers.

Cleanse the ones that suck the taxpayers.

Shaits,

I have to disagree with you on my analysis. Moderate Indos must speak out now and I have chosen to do so.

dis shit is great comedy! You as a moderate is like sehing Hitler was a moderate.

Originally Posted by Itaname:
Shaits,

dis shit is great comedy! You as a moderate is like sehing Hitler was a moderate.

You know the future of Guyanese people is for us all to moderate our views.

You can't destroy every person who disagrees with you. 50pc of Guyana cannot annihilate the other 50pc.

Yuji has demonstrated a capacity to change. He was once a rabid enforcer of the PPP line. Now he isn't very dogmatic at all.

Most Indians and Blacks speak from a position of ethnic insecurity. The language they tend to use is reflective of a lack of the fine liberal arts framework to analyze and articulate their positions many have. I'm sure you have had the benefit of a liberal arts education. That puts you in probably the category of roughly 10pc of Guyanese people. A very small minority.

I'm convinced that ordinary uneducated Indians and Blacks use the shorthand language of race because they don't have the tools to do a deeper analysis. This is not to negate the real racial insecurity issues the three races of Guyana have.

Does a Black person hate Indian people when he observes "dem coolie only know fuh tief"? Does an Indian person hate Blacks when he says "dem Black people only know fuh bun down coolie property"? I don't think so.

Yugi where is the mass migration or killing of Indos? Show us the evidence.

They are being killed one by one until all are gone.

Any Snake relatives of yours get killed yet? Ayuh property and business get seized?

Can you name these Indos who have been murdered for being Indos by the new Government?

The newly elected coalition government is doing necessary house cleaning. Edghill and the PPP can howl ETHNIC CLEANSING but they are conspicuously silent that they themselves had handpicked mostly Indian family, friends and favourites to fill public sector vacancies.

PPPites are conveniently forgetting that after 1992, the PPP government had embarked on its own house cleaning. I have competent and qualified black friends who were kicked out of the Chronicle and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. 

Originally Posted by Gupta:

Cleanse the corrupted ones.

- The 'consultants' and family members of PPP leaders who were receiving $300,000 per month doing nothing

- The PPP bloggers and propagandists that were getting $50,000+ per month

- The PPP cronies who $100, 000+ per month light bill and phone credit that was being paid by the taxpayers.

Cleanse the ones that suck the taxpayers.

Gupta

I agree that the PPP leaches must go.

My concern is about some high profile non political Indos being replaced by friends of APNU. This must be addressed as soon as possible.

We have to sensitive to how our people are treated. We must not allow the past to repeat itself.

. The Indos were painted as all a bunch of Nazis killing grandma in her sleep.

Funny your complaints about this, given your hysterical screams that Indians would now be enslaved by blacks and the best thing to do would be for them to claim refugee status and flee. 

You tried to portray this last election as one of violent black women beating up Indo men.  So often you said this that you drove poor cobra under his bed, panicked about PNC Amazonian females with super cyats, pissing on him and setting him on fire.

The newly elected coalition government is doing necessary house cleaning. Edghill and the PPP can howl ETHNIC CLEANSING but they are conspicuously silent that they themselves had handpicked mostly Indian family, friends and favourites to fill public sector vacancies.

To folks like Jay this is an indicator of how diverse the PPP was, and how innocent they were of any charges of racism.

Yugi where is the mass migration or killing of Indos? Show us the evidence.

They are being killed one by one until all are gone.

Any Snake relatives of yours get killed yet? Ayuh property and business get seized?

Can you name these Indos who have been murdered for being Indos by the new Government?

A 6 foot tall 230lb PNC female snatched Cobra with one hand,  squeezing his neck, then pulled down her panties and skinned her super cyat, and pissed on him. 

He howled and bawled and sobbed so loudly that she felt sorry for him and so didn't treat him like she did the PPP flag.

That is Carib's dream come true.  He was sad that Afros controlled only the majority of the low level jobs and supervisory jobs, and that there was not a clean sweep of all the senior jobs.

Granger's grade on diversity so far is a big fat "F."

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

That is Carib's dream come true.  He was sad that Afros controlled only the majority of the low level jobs and supervisory jobs, and that there was not a clean sweep of all the senior jobs.

Granger's grade on diversity so far is a big fat "F."

Jay Bharat is screaming and crying that the coalition isn't 60% Indian as the PPP was, with Granger reduced to being a token.

As Indians do not dominate the coalition Jay Bharrat wails that the PPP was more diverse,

Jay.  Please prove that the PPP had a more diverse cabinet.  And that Moses has less power than Sam Hinds.  You are proving yourself to be quite the racist as you seek Indo domination of the coalition, even as 95% of them voted AGAINST them.

Carib said: "Jay Bharat is screaming and crying that the coalition isn't 60% Indian as the PPP was, with Granger reduced to being a token."

To all posters:When did anyone suggest that Coalition should be 60% Indian? And that Granger should be a token?

There must be some level of honesty here.

To all posters:When did anyone suggest that Coalition should be 60% Indian? And that Granger should be a token?

There must be some level of honesty here.

Of the 15 cabinet ministers FIVE are Indians and SIX are African and yet you bawl that there are too many Africans.

Has to be that you wanted NINE Indian cabinet positions.

Pastor Edghill, a former head of Ethnic Relations, should not be using such strong language as "ethnic cleansing."

That's unhelpful to the cause of national unity.

There are some functionaries that would have to go regardless of race.

HOWEVER, GRANGER HAS TO BE SENSITIVE TO DIVERSITY issues and they have failed so far.

How can you have national unity if the AFC and APNU government is hell bent in destroying Indians and the PPP?  What is national Unity?

A govt firing employees for whatever reason is not ethnic cleansing.

In the employees are Indians, then it is.

the retard bellow of the low functioning and true measure of your ignorance . . . uh huh

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Supporters of the PPP and Roar must always keep the issue of Berbice as a sovereign independent state as an option when dealing with total hate.

And Moses Nagamooto or Khemraj Ramjattan as Premeir. I don't see any qualified Berbicians in the PPP or Roar.

Supporters of the PPP and Roar must always keep the issue of Berbice as a sovereign independent state as an option when dealing with total hate.

It might eventually happen. Who knows ?

The Afc supercat Churchill quiet now days. The PNC three blind mice kari, wally and the chief quiet now days also. These fools must be in a date over ethnic cleaning. Not only East Indians from the Jagdeo/Ramotar erase getting fired but East Indians from Hoyte/burnham time getting fired also. That is total anti-koolieism for you fools.

Still waiting for the list of black head of state entities, appointed by the PPP, and retained by APNU/AFC.

For accusations of ethnic exclusion to be made there needs to be two facts.

1.  The PPP was equitable in appointing leadership positions.  It was not as its appointments were almost exclusively Indians.

2.  APNU/AFC will ahve to be excluding Indians, and retaining blacks.  To date BOTH blacks and Indians have been fired.

Why not focus on who APNU/AFC are appointing.  Ageing hold overs from the Burnham era.  THAT to me is more the point and THAT is where criticism ought to be directed.  Its increasingly apparent that these are ageing PNC stalwarts who want an opportunity to make some cash, before they move to the great beyond.

WHAT does Van West Charles know about running a utility company? Why is there a Ministry of Tourism, yet no Ministry of Economic Development or International Trade?

The Afc supercat Churchill quiet now days. The PNC three blind mice kari, wally and the chief quiet now days also. These fools must be in a date over ethnic cleaning. Not only East Indians from the Jagdeo/Ramotar erase getting fired but East Indians from Hoyte/burnham time getting fired also. That is total anti-koolieism for you fools.

Why dont your racist scont move to India and carry the other racist coolie scont holes with you?

You won't because you know dam well, you'd be looked down on.. you'd be seen as the lowest of the low.

How's dat for Anti-Koolieism?

. . . Why not focus on who APNU/AFC are appointing.  Ageing hold overs from the Burnham era.  THAT to me is more the point and THAT is where criticism ought to be directed.  Its increasingly apparent that these are ageing PNC stalwarts who want an opportunity to make some cash, before they move to the great beyond.

WHAT does Van West Charles know about running a utility company? Why is there a Ministry of Tourism, yet no Ministry of Economic Development or International Trade?

appointing a physician to head GWI is an inspired and forward-looking move

this is not GPL

safe, potable water is a public health issue first and foremost