Govt scraps Specialty Hospital contract

DEMERARA WAVES, SEPTEMBER 9 --- The Guyana government on Tuesday announced that it has scrapped the contract with an Indian company, Surendra Engineering Company Limited (SECL), to build the Specialty Hospital at Liliendaal after that company allegedly failed to account for public funds and allegedly engaged in fraud.

Demerara Waves Online News was told that the company has already drawn down US$3,636,000 as a mobilization advance. India has provided a US$18 million line of credit to construct the facility that has failed to gain support from Guyana’s opposition for, among other reasons, SECL’s track record in building Specialty Hospital compared to another bidder, Fedders Lloyd that was unsuccessful.

In a statement, the Guyana government The Government of Guyana said it has written SECL “about its deep concerns about its execution of the contract for the design and construction of the Specialty Hospital.”

Despite publicly advocating the merits of the project and continuing to lambaste the opposition for its non-support, the Donald Ramotar administration broke its silence and said that its own concerns date back to June of this year. “Since late June 2014, the Government of Guyana had been engaging SECL on a number of issues regarding allegation of fraud and financial irregularities.”

Government said that initially, the Government’s concerns related to delayed milestones and inadequate accountability by SECL for public funds the company had received on signing the contract with the Ministry of Health.

But subsequently, the Government of Guyana said it discovered that SECL’s representative in Guyana had allegedly submitted a fraudulent document purporting to emanate from the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago.

Since the allegedly fraudulent Act by SECL was confirmed by the Central Bank of Trinidad & Tobago, the Government said it has written SECL informing the Company of its intention to terminate the contract, pursue legal action against the company for alleged fraud and recover public funds from SECL for which it has allegedly failed to account fully.

GILBAKKA'S COMMENT: The AFC did the right thing during the last budget debate by not voting for funds for this bogus brainchild of Jagdeo's.

Iman woulda said something against dem tief also but I doan remember my exact words...could be givin tief lover yuji shit callin him patax an so on.

But this is just a start, how many more???

Govt to terminate Surendra contract for Specialty Hospital

Posted By Stabroek editor On September 9, 2014 @ 6:55 pm In Local News | No Comments

In a major embarrassment for it, the Government of Guyana today said it would move to terminate the controversial contract with Indian company, Surendra for the India-financed Specialty Hospital.

In a statement this evening, the government cited a series of problems and a fraudulent document purporting to emanate from the Trinidad central bank.

The government had used Surendra for several major contracts including the Enmore packaging plant and had been accused of favouring it in the Specialty Hospital contract. The government had persisted nevertheless.

The contract with Surendra was also in jeopardy as a rival Indian company had complained to the government in New Delhi about it and the matter was likely to be taken up shortly by the Indian Parliament.

Earlier this month, local construction company, BK announced that it would seek to sue Surendra in Indian courts for outstanding monies.

The government statement follows:

The Government of Guyana has today September 9th, 2014 written Surendra Engineering Company Limited (SECL) about its deep concerns about its execution of the contract for the design and construction of the Specialty Hospital.

Since late June 2014, the Government of Guyana had been engaging SECL on a number of issues regarding allegation of fraud and financial irregularities.

Initially, the Government’s concerns related to delayed milestones and inadequate accountability by SECL for public funds the company had received on signing the contract with the Ministry of Health.

Subsequently, the Government of Guyana discovered that SECL’s representative in Guyana had submitted a fraudulent document purporting to emanate from the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago.

Since the fraudulent Act by SECL was confirmed by the Central Bank of Trinidad & Tobago, the Government has written SECL informing the Company of its intention to:

1. Terminate the contract;
  2. Pursue legal action against the company for fraud;
  3. Recover public funds from SECL for which it has failed to account fully.

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-specialty-hospital/

Where is rev, yuji, cobra conscience and the PPP frauds.

Rev this is why the PPP will get 42%.

You may well have to congratulate President Granger in the not too distant future.

Me is not dem mumma man. Go ask the drunkard Rumjattan Na ? Me hear dat he was so drunk by You that he poured tea in his rice and had that for dinner.

How come AFC PNC  didn’t include you on their list ? They probably have no use for a lowly book keeper and are well stacked up with Fossils. 

Hey Hey Hey 

Me is not dem mumma man. Go ask the drunkard Rumjattan Na ? Me hear dat he was so drunk by You that he poured tea in his rice and had that for dinner.

How come AFC PNC  didn’t include you on their list ? They probably have no use for a lowly book keeper and are well stacked up with Fossils. 

Hey Hey Hey 

Sounds like yuh knocking dhaaru in you Brahmin ballahu. 

The specialty hospital was fuh people like you. Like yuh can't handle disappointment eh. 

Last edited by Mitwah

Sean-bhai, is what the Specialty Hospital was intended for? I heard the Idea came from India to be used for sex tourism in Guyana. Can you explain?

Banna, shut yuh poke.  When I lived there I visited the hospital where Ganesh was being treated and there were several patients from the USA.  They were considering opening a speciality hospital in the West to better accommodate their US clientele. I can see Guyana or the Caribbean the place.

Sean-bhai, is what the Specialty Hospital was intended for? I heard the Idea came from India to be used for sex tourism in Guyana. Can you explain?

Banna, shut yuh poke.  When I lived there I visited the hospital where Ganesh was being treated and there were several patients from the USA.  They were considering opening a speciality hospital in the West to better accommodate their US clientele. I can see Guyana or the Caribbean the place.

I thought the Indian doctors wanted an offshore hospital to perform body and sexual enhancement for foreigners. Likewise, when American women want satisfactory sex they go to Jamaica for Black hammering. 

There is that.  But the many like Ganesh were not there for that. They were in a life and death struggle.  I met some Americans. A lot of bypass, hip and joint, etc.  Yes, and there are those penis augmentation procedures.

And don’t put it past some older hard-up coolie Guyanese women to go Guyana and get their bull-dog hammering from 30 year old jocks!  Hey hey hey!

But unlike Vagas, what happens in Guyana makes it to Queens.🤪🤪