October 27 ,2020

Kaieteur News – It will cost the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) administration an estimated $34 million each month to purchase power from the Giftland Mall in order to compensate for the shortfall of electricity badly needed.
Giftland’s owner, Roy Beepat, explained that the huge part of the sum will be expended monthly on fuel. Beepat said that the power itself would cost around $9.9 million per month while fuel cost is estimated to be $29.5 million.
“What you have to be looking at, that $9.9 million is for servicing, we have to provide equipment, we have to keep for depreciation, and so on,” he said.
Guyana’s blackout woes is expected to ease as Giftland Mall is set to supply the Demerara-Berbice Interconnected System (DBIS) with almost five megawatts of power needed to boost the current supply of electricity to the national grid.
Once this is in place, it will aid in the shortage of power outages on the East Coast Demerara corridor.

The power supply is expected to be spilt with 1.5 megawatts being supplied during the daytime hours and 3.5 megawatts in the peak evening hours.
Giftland’s power system has a 6.7 megawatt output capacity but merely utilizes 1.6 megawatts during peak operation periods.

Back in January, after almost two years of back and forth, Beepat and the previous A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Coalition government had signed the agreement that would have seen the country benefitting from the additional 4.5 megawatts of power to augment the 120 megawatts that GPL is currently supplying to the power grid.
However, the protracted March 2020 Elections had put a halt on that deal.
However, the country was hit with a recent spate of blackouts, forcing the new administration to scramble for an additional 30 megawatts of power.

Since then, the request for Expressions of Interest (EOI) have been published in the local newspapers to identify appropriate suppliers that can potentially fulfill the minimum requirements for supplying the firm power generation needed.
Minimum requirements set by GPL for interested businesses to supplement its grid were for bidders to demonstrate the ability to deliver a complete project within two months of an agreement and demonstrate access to competent personnel with operation and maintenance experience at a minimum of one facility of similar size.
Additionally, bidders were asked to prove legal status via certified copies of company registration certificates/documents, copies of audited financial reports for the last three years (balance sheets, income and expenditure statements, auditors’ reports, etc.)

According to the project scope, GPL shall only be responsible for grid connection at the point of interconnection with the existing network infrastructure.
So far, at least 30 businesses with the capacity to supplement GPL’s grid have submitted their respective EOIs to the power utility company.

Something doesn't look right with the pricing for the supply of Electricity.

1 Megawatt = 1000 kilowatt

Average US Pricing for home use US 12 Cents per kilowatt/hr

Average Electricity US  household use per month is about 800 kilowatt/hr

If I had  to stay where I am now I would have looked into Geothermal, we've got five acres to work with. I plan on heading six more hrs North where the darn ground is quite rocky, not sure it would work there. It's in a gold mining town in Northern Ontario.

@cain posted:

If I had  to stay where I am now I would have looked into Geothermal, we've got five acres to work with.

I plan on heading six more hrs North where the darn ground is quite rocky, not sure it would work there.

It's in a gold mining town in Northern Ontario.

Cain; ....Perhaps, you will be at the North Pole enjoying the crisp cold nice weather.

@cain posted:

If I had  to stay where I am now I would have looked into Geothermal, we've got five acres to work with. I plan on heading six more hrs North where the darn ground is quite rocky, not sure it would work there. It's in a gold mining town in Northern Ontario.

Bai Cain, like yuh like tuh move always.

It must be worth it being able to experience living in many different environments.

@iLlum. The grandkid's banna, they keep asking their mom when will I be back. Houses where they are go at a decent price unlike Toronto and even where I am now. Homes that sold for 200k a few years ago now going for 500k, that is ridiculous. I just read condo prices are falling, people will be left holding large mortgages for a home not worth half as much.

The Amailia falls Hydro-electric project was killed.

The solar farm that the APNU/AFC promised to build in 2015 at De-Hoop, East Coast Dem. never materialized.

What the hell is this country doing to bring inexpensive and reliable power supply to the people and businesses???

BTW, how does Giftland produce power?  Solar?  Fossil fuel???

The Amailia falls Hydro-electric project was killed.

The solar farm that the APNU/AFC promised to build in 2015 at De-Hoop, East Coast Dem. never materialized.

What the hell is this country doing to bring inexpensive and reliable power supply to the people and businesses???

BTW, how does Giftland produce power?  Solar?  Fossil fuel???

WOW! It's inexpensive and reliable at the same time. We are not dealing with the APNU/AFC coalition now.  They are gone and will not be back. All their disasters will be fixed by the PPP.

Django is questioning the costs of electricity vs. what is being charged at the moment by Giftland.  I understand that it is an emergency situation and the government will have to pay more.  However, I think someone from the government should give an explanation to remove any doubts about a corrupt deal.

Prashad is planning to move to New Brunswick when he hit 70. I heard that it's a nice place to retire and very cheap.  Any of you fellas ever been there? I want to know if the people are friendly. My wife is mulatto and she doesn't want to go to any racist place.

@Prashad posted:

Prashad is planning to move to New Brunswick when he hit 70. I heard that it's a nice place to retire and very cheap.  Any of you fellas ever been there? I want to know if the people are friendly. My wife is mulatto and she doesn't want to go to any racist place.

Beautiful country. Been there, stayed in Chatham many years ago with an old flame...filled up on lots of Moose meat (ate just about everything at that time). Lots of snow

I went out there a few years ago to live, stayed a couple weeks but came back because of my grandkids. I don't recall seeing many non whites there. Also, you have to work on your French, not that it is a requirement but could help.

@cain posted:

@iLlum. The grandkid's banna, they keep asking their mom when will I be back. Houses where they are go at a decent price unlike Toronto and even where I am now. Homes that sold for 200k a few years ago now going for 500k, that is ridiculous. I just read condo prices are falling, people will be left holding large mortgages for a home not worth half as much.

Just messing with you bro. You are doing the right thing. Your observation on the market is well founded. I remember advising people to hold off buying back in December 2005. That was about two years before the housing market crashed. Lots of people were forced to foreclose back then.

@Django posted:

Something doesn't look right with the pricing for the supply of Electricity.

1 Megawatt = 1000 kilowatt

Average US Pricing for home use US 12 Cents per kilowatt/hr

Average Electricity US  household use per month is about 800 kilowatt/hr

What PNC propaganda you trying to sell - at .30 cents per KWh [price quoted by Cain] the cost of average 3.5 MWh of the 4.5 MWh capability is [3,500,000 x .30 = $1,050,000] per day, for 1 month is[30 x 1,050,000 = 31,500,000] that  is about 2.5 million more than GPL cost of production. Also remember GPL don't have to pay 17 % vat on on fuel and spare parts....where is the ripoff?

@cain posted:

Guyana is approx  25-30 cents per kilowatt.

@sachin_05 posted:

What PNC propaganda you trying to sell - at .30 cents per KWh [price quoted by Cain] the cost of average 3.5 MWh of the 4.5 MWh capability is [3,500,000 x .30 = $1,050,000] per day, for 1 month is[30 x 1,050,000 = 31,500,000] that  is about 2.5 million more than GPL cost of production. Also remember GPL don't have to pay 17 % vat on on fuel and spare parts....where is the ripoff?

I do not recall anything being said about PNC pricing but anyway I'll let that slide. I got those figures from another site, I tried to find it but this one came up.

Check the link.

https://www.costtotravel.com/c...lectricity-in-guyana

53.49GYD = 0.25 US

@cain posted:

Beautiful country. Been there, stayed in Chatham many years ago with an old flame...filled up on lots of Moose meat (ate just about everything at that time). Lots of snow

I went out there a few years ago to live, stayed a couple weeks but came back because of my grandkids. I don't recall seeing many non whites there. Also, you have to work on your French, not that it is a requirement but could help.

Thanks Cain. The wife told me that there is a French area there. I don't know one word in French.

@sachin_05 posted:

Your calculations are wrong ,brush up on it.  Electricity is sold as kilowatt/hr

@sachin_05 posted:

I know...y’all PNC math kinda hard to master like 32 >33 would take me some time to figure out...

LOL

That's simple math done by head for some ,who studied in certain fields.

Here is a hint 5000 Kilowatt = 5 Megawatt ,they are small generators bought in the stores.

@Django posted:

LOL

That's simple math done by head for some ,who studied in certain fields.

Here is a hint 5000 Kilowatt = 5 Megawatt ,they are small generators bought in the stores.

Haha.....like a true pncite you gona try to deflect..hint - don't try to correct me just use numbers to show the ripoff you claim "something not right" let's see your best PNC dance.....

Last edited by sachin_05
@sachin_05 posted:

Haha.....like a true pncite you gona try to deflect..hint - don't try to correct me just use numbers to show the ripoff you claim "something not right" let's see your best PNC dance.....

Bro, the PNC is a real force. And if dey decide to say, "Booo" plenty Indian can get hurt.

Treat dem with respect, they have supporters. And more powerful than Indian ppl.

Black ppl are Guyanese too.

@seignet posted:

Bro, the PNC is a real force. And if dey decide to say, "Booo" plenty Indian can get hurt.

Treat dem with respect, they have supporters. And more powerful than Indian ppl.

I don't need no schooling on what the pnc is capable of - rig election for more than quarter of a century, hold the country hostage for 5 months because of anomalies and allegations even though the civilized world witness their live rigging.. now you are saying I should show respect for these barbaric circus.....hahaha[maniacal laugh]

Last edited by sachin_05
@seignet posted:

There are some Indos on this GNI who treated Black People like gods. You know who they are. Indians were treated like second class citizens by the PNC during Burnham/Hoyte reign anf then again during Granger's rule.

Nobody hates black people, they only hate the devil that lives in them.

@sachin_05 posted:

Shows clearly the limitations in simple mathematics , fooled by megawatts and millions $ . There is huge rip off . Typical for some folks when others pin point the leech schemes ,they are called pncite.

@Django posted:

Shows clearly the limitations in simple mathematics , fooled by megawatts and millions $ . There is huge rip off . Typical for some folks when others pin point the leech schemes ,they are called pncite.

You made an allegation of anomaly with the cost of electricity [34mil for 1 month] you are being called a pncite because of your failure to provide figures to support your allegation....that’s a true pncite tactic...

@sachin_05 posted:

You made an allegation of anomaly with the cost of electricity [34mil for 1 month] you are being called a pncite because of your failure to provide figures to support your allegation....that’s a true pncite tactic...

It's simple calculation ,why don't you accept it's challenging for the noodle.

@sachin_05 posted:

If it's so simple, why don't you show your figures and calculations?

Else STFU.