11 more Cuban-trained doctors graduate in Essequibo

Written by Rajendra Prabhulall, Friday, 26 July 2013 21:18, Source

ELEVEN more Cuban-trained Guyanese doctors graduated last Saturday at the Suddie Hospital on the Essequibo Coast after completing a one-year internship there.

They were presented with certificates, having previously concluded a six-year General Medicine Programme in Cuba.

Addressing the graduands, officials of the Cuban Government and several other doctors, nurses and technicians in the Suddie Hospital Boardroom, Region 2 (Pomeroon/Supenaam) Chairman, Mr. Parmanand Persaud thanked the Government of Cuba for training the Guyanese.

He remarked that the cooperation between Guyana and Cuba is bearing much fruit in the field of medicine and pointed to the agreement that was made between former Guyanese President Bharrat Jagdeo and Cuba’s Ex-President Fidel Castro, which allowed students from Guyana to study and be trained in Cuba.

Persaud said the Guyana/Cuba friendship did not offer only scholarships, but also assistance through which doctors, nurses and technicians were provided to manage the five diagnostic centres across this country.

The Cuban Medical Brigade has contributed a lot to Guyana and its people and the nation is very thankful to the Cuban Government.

Tremendous contribution

Alluding to the Cuban contributions to his region, Persaud said every time a batch of doctors, nurses and technicians have to leave there and go back to Cuba it is very sad because of their tremendous contributions and services in the health sector.
He said Essequibians do not see them as Cubans, but as fellow Essequibians.

Persaud congratulated and thanked the Cuban Government for hosting the students for six years during their study and for training them at the Suddie Hospital for one year during their internship.

He also expressed thanks to the Government of Guyana for selecting the students and making all arrangements to get them trained as doctors in Cuba.

Persaud challenged the new graduates to serve their country and people well, remarking that he is proud of the Guyanese doctors.

Dr. Katia Maria Ochoa Agnilora, who was part of the Cuban delegation, said she was honoured to participate in the graduation exercise for the eleven Cuban-trained doctors because it is a Guyana/Cuba collaborative effort.

She said the doctors now have a great responsibility ahead of them to show the country and people what they have learnt in Cuba over the past six years.

She said she is proud to have the graduands return home to serve their country, noting that the reason they were trained is to come back and be of service to the people.

The 11 graduates are Suzette Alana Regnolds,Vijay Persaud, Simolana Swan, Andy Da Silva, Khilouti Dass, Marlon Sooknarine, Deoram Kajram, Chavita Bisnauth, Patricia Lew-Wai-See, Cordel Mc Watt and Suresh Seurattan.

Seurattan’s mother, who lives at Cullen, Essequibo Coast, admitted she is happy to see her son graduate as a doctor.

Brought tears

Ms. Omadai (only name stated) said the occasion brought tears to her eyes.

Originally from The Pomeroon, she said she and her husband made many sacrifices for their son during his training in Cuba.

She disclosed that she prayed and fasted many times for him to be successful at his examinations.

His father, Mr. Ishwar (only name given) said he, too, takes pride in his son’s achievement and thanked the Governments of Guyana and Cuba for training him as a doctor.

Kajram’s mother, a single parent named Shirley, also confessed to her happiness at seeing her son graduate.

She said he is her last child and, while he studied in Cuba, she supported him. She is thankful to God for his success and the Governments of Guyana and Cuba for giving him the opportunity to study and graduate.

She confessed that, without help from both Governments, her son could never have become a doctor.

Mrs. Keeratie Dass, of Adventure, Essequibo Coast, said she is also happy, proud and thankful to God for the Governments of Guyana and Cuba and all the doctors and professors who helped train her daughter, Khilouti, to become a doctor.

She said Dass, who is her last child, did very well. Her husband died 10 years ago and she fought alone to support her daughter while she was in Cuba.

Regnolds’s mother, Mrs. Juliet Boyce uttered similar sentiments, revealing that her daughter had an interest in medicine since she was four years old.

She said her husband died while Suzette was in the third year of her study in Cuba but, being a very strong person, her daughter strove to the end and completed her studies.

Also at the graduation were Regional Vice-Chairman Mr. Vishnu Samaroo, and Head of the Regional Health Committee, Mr. Omesh Oditt.

SWEET SWEET GUYANA. EVERY VILLAGE WILLGET A DOCTOR SOON AND IT WILL BE FREE SERVICES. GOD BLESS THE GOVT AND PEOPLE OF GUYANA

when you was young did you fall on your head

SWEET SWEET GUYANA. EVERY VILLAGE WILLGET A DOCTOR SOON AND IT WILL BE FREE SERVICES. GOD BLESS THE GOVT AND PEOPLE OF GUYANA

NO but I sure you did, KNUCKLE HEAD CHARLIE. KNUCKLE HEAD CHARLIE

i see you drunk again you seeing in three

Six years of Cuban training is very good.  Cuba has high standards.

I agree with you, baseman, with one qualification.

With the dire economic situation Cuba has been facing since the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, less resources have been allocated to the health sector year after year.

Medical training programs today lack modern equipment/technology and other teaching aids. One Cuban doctor recently wrote that the medical reference books in the university libraries are outdated. The teaching staff is also shrinking as professionals leave their jobs for more money in other industries, such as tourism.

Still, the Cuban government must be complimented for sharing its expertise and training doctors from Guyana and other poor countries.

Not so long ago Cuba developed and groomed the best medical professionals in the Caribbean and Latin America. Not so now.

Bhai Nehru ......De Geat Dakta Jagdeo can cover 6 Village.... although recently Dr Luncheon say eee is a Comic Book Dakta.

Which Villages will you give Dr Jagdeo fuh Practice....

Le me see....Best Hospital, Monkey Mountain, Alboystown, Sea-View, Sophia and Buxton...now we have to put up the signs fuh Dakta Jagdeo at de 6 locations,

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Baseman Jagdeo did not spend 6 seconds training in Cuba and eee get 6 Doctorate........so don't talk about Cuba high standards here.

Bhai Nehru ......De Geat Dakta Jagdeo can cover 6 Village.... although recently Dr Luncheon say eee is a Comic Book Dakta.

Le me see....Best Hospital, Monkey Mountain, Alboystown, Sea-View, Sophia and Buxton...now we have to put up the signs fuh Dakta Jagdeo at de 6 locations,

Baseman Jagdeo did not spend 6 seconds training in Cuba and eee get 6 Doctorate........so don't talk about Cuba high standards here.

An Honorary Doctorate in something is vastly different from a medical Doctor trained to practice the art and science on humans.  You need your head and senses examined, maybe the Cuban doctors can be of assistance.

Bhai, You expect the DUNCE to know the difference??/

With the dire economic situation Cuba has been facing since the 1991 collapse of the Soviet Union, less resources have been allocated to the health sector year after year.

Medical training programs today lack modern equipment/technology and other teaching aids. One Cuban doctor recently wrote that the medical reference books in the university libraries are outdated. The teaching staff is also shrinking as professionals leave their jobs for more money in other industries, such as tourism.

Still, the Cuban government must be complimented for sharing its expertise and training doctors from Guyana and other poor countries.

Not so long ago Cuba developed and groomed the best medical professionals in the Caribbean and Latin America. Not so now.

Mr Baseman,

Kindly tell the board why President Ramotar, Gail, Rohee, Chandrapaul, Nokta, etc, don't send their children to Cuba? Thank you. 

JB....can you find out from Baseman if it is true his Nephew Anil Nandalall was slapped and knock out.....and then forces to drink pee ...... by a Former PNC Thug ....and if this all Happen at the Indian Cricket Club (Everest).

President Ramotar just appointed a Commissioner of Information. If Baseman don't give us the Information....ask him if we can ask the Hon Commissioner of Information if the Incident at Everest Club is True.

Charles Ramson

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...oner-of-information/

Charles Ramson Snr appointed Commissioner of Information

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Mr Baseman,

Kindly tell the board why President Ramotar, Gail, Rohee, Chandrapaul, Nokta, etc, don't send their children to Cuba? Thank you. 

Cuz they are interested in careers not offered to overseas students by Cuba.  For this reason Jagan never sent his kids to Cuba or the USSR.

" He remarked that the cooperation between Guyana and Cuba is bearing much fruit in the field of medicine and pointed to the agreement that was made between former Guyanese President Bharrat Jagdeo and Cuba’s Ex-President Fidel Castro, which allowed students from Guyana to study and be trained in Cuba."

Jagdeo was not even born when this arrangement was brokered between Dr. Jagan and the Cuban government.

Mr Baseman,

Cuz they are interested in careers not offered to overseas students by Cuba.  For this reason Jagan never sent his kids to Cuba or the USSR.

Oh I see. The children of the masses are not entitled to those careers. 

Originally Posted by Churchill:

" For this reason Jagan never sent his kids to Cuba or the USSR.'...Baseman

Nadira Jagan studied in Russia in the late 1970's.....

I meant early 1970's.....

" He remarked that the cooperation between Guyana and Cuba is bearing much fruit in the field of medicine and pointed to the agreement that was made between former Guyanese President Bharrat Jagdeo and Cuba’s Ex-President Fidel Castro, which allowed students from Guyana to study and be trained in Cuba."

Jagdeo was not even born when this arrangement was brokered between Dr. Jagan and the Cuban government.

I believe they meant the continuation of the Program. And yes you are right, the Program started way before Bharat.

The propaganda stooges of the Ramouthar/Jagdeo cabal know exactly what they are saying...They will do anything to claim credit ! 

Bhai, You were their Buddy once Go easy on the brothers.

Churchill, With all due respect, I think it is time to separate Jagdeo from Ramotar. Mr Ramoutar IS our President. Jagdeo WAS our President. We can always discuss them individually. Let us give President Ramotar a chance to be his own man.

Sorry! It is well known on the ground here in Guyana that Mr Ramotar was handpicked to be a puppet President by Mr Jagdeo.