Religious belief  - faith in the existence of someone or something that is beyond the ability of science to prove or disprove – is one of the hallmarks of the human race. The vast majority of the planet’s population (75%-99% by some estimates) identify themselves as having some kind of religious belief.

So it’s no wonder that researchers are fascinated with the mental underpinnings of this uniquely human trait. The question “why do people believe?” is right up there with “why do people love?” – for those who study the human brain and try to unravel its deepest riddles.

But a surprising new report by psychologists William Gervais and Ara Norenzayan, of the University of British Columbia,  would seem to indicate that your inclination to be religious can be – at least in part – determined by how you approach a math problem.

Here it is:

If a baseball and bat cost $110, and the bat costs $100 more than the ball, how much does the ball cost?*

Okay, now that you’ve given it some thought, I’ll let you in on what this is all about.

It turns out nearly everyone who answers this question come up with one of two possible responses.

Some people say the ball cost $10.

Others say it cost $5.

The mathematically correct answer is $5.

If that was your answer, you are an analytical thinker and – according to results of this study – more likely not to have any religious beliefs.

If you said the ball cost $10 (and I confess to being one of those people), you are an intuitive thinker and thus more likely to hold a religious belief of some kind.

http://www.sync-blog.com/sync/...ligious-beliefs.html

Originally Posted by antabanta:

If a baseball and bat cost $110, and the bat costs $100 more than the ball, how much does the ball cost?*

The problem is stated incorrectly and misleading. It's not a baseball and a bat cost $1.10. It is two baseballs and a bat cost $1.10. 

Then the cost would be $115.00 not a dollar and ten cents. 

Originally Posted by antabanta:

The problem is stated incorrectly and misleading. It's not a baseball and a bat cost $1.10. It is two baseballs and a bat cost $1.10. 

Then the cost would be $115.00 not a dollar and ten cents. 

Sorry... you're correct. The bat is $105, ball is $5. I was following a different train of thought.

Looking at it a second time I still thought it was mistated differently but it's not.

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

Wrong.

Let x and y be equal (1+1)

Let x=bat

and y=ball

bat is 100 more than ball

100+x+y=110 ( You are mixing the units, else according to your defintion, then 100+x+y =  100+1+1 = 102. No?) See my solution below.

x+y=110-100

x+y=10  (x+y = 1+1 =2)

not 110

10/2 =5

bat is 100 more than ball therefore bat is 5=100=105

ball is 5

Let x be the cost of the bat , Y the cost of the ball.

x+y = $110

X-y = $100

add the two simple equations above and you get:

2x   = $210

Therefore X= $105,

hence Y = $110 -$105 = $5.

Anyway Bruddaman, you deserve a Boston Cream Doughnut.

Originally Posted by Celtic:

Maths on religion? Oh yes, go forth and multiply, add, and even subtract. Cain subtracted Abel, right?

Didn't even use a pencil, in dem days, we used rocks to subtract.

Is how you multiply if you dint use yuh pencil?

Oi is a Religious forum, hehe

Originally Posted by Bruddaman:

Wrong.

Let x and y be equal (1+1)

Let x=bat

and y=ball

bat is 100 more than ball

100+x+y=110 ( You are mixing the units, else according to your defintion, then 100+x+y =  100+1+1 = 102. No?) See my solution below.

x+y=110-100

x+y=10  (x+y = 1+1 =2)

not 110

10/2 =5

bat is 100 more than ball therefore bat is 5=100=105

ball is 5

Let x be the cost of the bat , Y the cost of the ball.

x+y = $110

X-y = $100

add the two simple equations above and you get:

2x   = $210

Therefore X= $105,

hence Y = $110 -$105 = $5.

Anyway Bruddaman, you deserve a Boston Cream Doughnut.

well I need religion.

Originally Posted by TI:

Common entrance stuff for 11 year olds.  People getting old and senile on GN!

Has little to do with senility or common entrance stuff. It has to do with its unimportance and the nonchalance of how one approached answering  things.  Also, my point was to the conclusion that this task was used to measure correlations to religiosity. Surely the people doing the survey had too much times on their hands.