EZjet not losing moneyPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Priya Nauth   
Friday, 09 March 2012 23:12

RHEDC is promoting EZJET on Liberty Ave this Sunday

…airline officials denies Kaieteur News reports
OFFICIALS of the new EZjet Air Services yesterday refuted several claims made recently in the Kaieteur News.

From left: Paul Wilmot, New York Operations Manager; Robert DuBois, Director of Passenger Sales; EZjet’s CEO Sonny Ramdeo; Richard Lee, Chief Operations Officer; Rick McGough, Consultant; and Rosalinda Rasul, EZjet’s Guyana Operations Manager.

At a press conference at Cara Lodge, Quamina Street,in Georgetown, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of EZjet, Sonny Ramdeo said, “We are here today to address the issues and the recent articles that had been written through Kaieteur News which make certain allegations.”
EZjet, is a United States public charterer who has contracted Dynamic Airways, a US carrier, to provide non-stop flights between New York and Guyana and started operations in mid-December.
The Kaieteur News last Sunday published an article raising questions about the airline, including the source of financing for the US-based charter company.
Joining its CEO were Paul Wilmot, New York Operations Manager; Robert DuBois, Director of Passenger Sales; Richard Lee, Chief Operations Officer; Rick McGough, Consultant; and Rosalinda Rasul, EZjet’s Guyana Operations Manager.
Ramdeo made it clear that, “First and foremost, EZjet air services has no affiliation whatsoever with any political party.”
He explained that EZjet applied for its operating licence in Georgetown, stood its place in the line, went through the appropriate authorities, and was granted the licence based on the economic study that was done.
“I brought my team down here because of the bad press that we have gotten, to refute the allegations that have been made,” Ramdeo said, noting that he has a great team working with him; they have years of experience in the airline industry.
He recalled that EZjet’s inaugural flight was on December 16, 2011, with 218 passengers coming from New York, explaining, “Our primary focus was the uplift of passengers out of New York and not Georgetown; it took so long for us to work through the process along with the Civil Aviation Authority, as well as the Ministry of Transport to obtain that licence.”
Referring to questions about his financial capability, Ramdeo said that he is the sole investor and over the years, he has accumulated assets, including investment funds, and stocks.
He said only about US1.5M of investment capital was put into the operation to cover security deposits, the appropriate bonds and securing the aircraft, noting that the flights have been paying for themselves.
“The difference with what we are doing versus what other competitors are doing, is that they are scheduled airlines; we are not a scheduled airline even though we are operating on a regular schedule,” he noted.
He explained that when tickets are sold, passenger funds are placed in a special account until those passengers are flown, and once the manifest is submitted to its US bank then those funds are released to them.
“Our programme right now is being operated as charter, because there was not a significant amount of capital to invest in an entire airline to start up. The charter programme is now paying for itself and paying for our operations as we continue to build or rebuild a national carrier for Guyana,” he said.
“…so there is not an excessive amount of capital that is needed to perform a programme like this,” the CEO pointed out.
He said the company is doing better than they expected, revealing that the charter transported over 2,300 passengers in December; 4,300 in January, and 7,500 in February.
Alluding to the mortgage on his home, he said, “…my mortgage has no bearing whatsoever on opportunities that I see that are available out there. You know, certainly if you have a home mortgage and you truly believe in a business that you can make work, that you have done enough homework and research that you can mitigate those risks that are out there – it is a worthwhile investment.”
Answering Kaieteur News operatives he said, “I am not sure where you got your facts and figures from, but we have not been operating at a loss as you have represented in your newspaper articles.”
Ramdeo also denied that former President Bharrat Jagdeo, and Queens Atlantic Inc.Chief Executive Officer, Ranjisingh ‘Bobby’ Ramroop, have links to EZjet.
Ramdeo also disclosed that EZjet will be recruiting 24 local flight attendants “to continue to support our operation and keep our cost lower.”

• RHEDC - holi -front

from Guyana Times

EZjet rubbishes Kaieteur News rumours

– CEO says airline recorded increased flights

By Samuel Sukhnandan

EZjet Services In-corporated Chief Executive Officer Sonny Ramdeo, an American-based Guyanese, on Friday refuted claims that his company has ties to the Guyana government and that the airline is not making any profit.
Ramdeo made the comments during a news briefing at Cara Lodge in the presence of some of his executive staff. The air carrier owner took the opportunity to lash out at the usually sensational Kaieteur News for alleging that he received help from former President Bharrat Jagdeo and others to start up the business.

EZjet Chief Executive Officer Sonny Ramdeo during the press conference on Friday

“EZjet air services has no affiliation whatsoever with any political parties and I want to get that abundantly clear to those individuals out there (the media and the public),” he stated. According to Ramdeo, EZjet went through the normal process of acquiring its licenses in Georgetown, and was granted same based on a feasibility study that was done.
Kaieteur News had reported that EZjet was granted its license to operate in Guyana because of its affiliation with the government. The newspaper had also alleged that the airline started to operate at a loss, taking some six passengers to the JFK International Airport and brought back seven passengers.
At Friday’s briefing, the newspaper questioned Ramdeo on whether he is able to manage the business with such allegedly low figures. But the EZjet CEO said the information was false, noting that some 218 passengers were on the first flight from Georgetown to New York and back.
This number has increased to 4300 passengers in December to 7500 in January. This figure could likely increase in the coming months.
Ramdeo was later questioned about his financial capabilities, particularly how he cannot afford to pay a house mortgage of US$387,000 but was able to plug US$1.5 million into the starting up of EZjet operations.
“Actually part of my mortgage is what was used to fund this startup company. Over the years, I accumulated personal assets such as retirement funds, investment option and as such,” Ramdeo said.
He told media operatives that the US$1.5 million investment was able to cater for the aircraft and other necessities while the flights have been paying for themselves. He said “The difference between what we are doing versus what our competitors are doing is that they are scheduled airlines and we are not, even though we operate on a regular basis”.
The service, he said is being operated on a charter basis because there was not a significant amount of capital to invest in an entire airline.
“The charter programme is now paying for itself and our operations, as we try to rebuild a national carrier for Guyana.”
Ramdeo posited that his mortgage does not have any bearing on the opportunity to develop a business.
“Certainly, if you have a home mortgage and you truly believe in a business, that you’ve done homework and research, it’s a worthwhile investment.”
Ramdeo also said that he has a full-time job in the medical field in the U.S., and owns three other businesses besides EZjet. The management team had forecasted a loss at the start up of EZjet operations but the opposite happened.
EZjet Chief Operating Officer EZjet Richard Lee said that the airline cannot promise that it will be in Guyana forever. However, Lee noted that unlike many airlines that have operated in Guyana and left, EZjet would not do the same, and based on its research itwill not stop operating in Guyana anytime soon.
The executive noted that EZjet is not “a fly by night” airline service. He said that the company will ensure it remains competitive with other carriers.

Vish M

Mi daddy always seh, wenn peeple gah nutin' fuh do and seh, dem do and seh sheer shyte.  Wance dah airline gi abie good fares an' service fuh cum up deh and bak, who gi waan shyte ah who own am.  Wenn abie bin only gah GAC an' da BWIA bin treat abie laka shyte, alyuh bin complain.  Now alyuh ge mo chaice, alyuh find sometin else fa complain about.

Where did Kaieteur get the 3M US loss from?  Can they be sued for libel. After that article in Kaieteur, many passengers dropped ezjet and went back to delta. Is Kaieteur being paid by Delta to sabotage ezjet?????

Glenn still holds on to his previous position about the 3m us loss based on an evaluation of the passenger manifest list that he supposedly acquired from "sources", an illegal act as it is an invasion of passengers privacy. 

Too many times these airlines go out of business and leave passengers no other choice but to buy a one way ticket at a higher than proportionate price. It is reasonable to treat them cautiously. These huys should show their audited financial statement if they want to be taken seriously. Talk is cheap. Especially when it involved Guyanese.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

the Guyanese populace will continue to support EZjet.....

Yep - until EZJet goes belly up in a few months - and passengers are stranded on either continent.

EZJEt's impact on the JFK-GEO sector

Lower Price

CA now flying some flights Directly to GEO

More Baggage allowance

Increased travels to Guyana

Delta now showing respect to the Guyanese traveling public

All credited to EZJETin the market

Vish M
Originally Posted by Vish M:

Both the US and Guyanese Authorities mandates a Cash Deposit Bond to protect the public interest.

So where is that cash deposit bond when people get stranded? Are you going to say that no one has ever been stranded and forced to buy a new ticket when these airlines go out of business.

Since the RHEDC is proudly promoting EZJET, are they also going to underwrite any losses suffered by passengers in the future?

RHEDC is not an Aviation Regulatory Authority.

We can however get you special prices on EZJET, CA and Delta.

We attract and promote businesses with your community.

We recently promoted United healthcare Office Opening on Liberty Ave. We are promoting the development along Atlantic Ave.

Please visit our website www.RichmondHillEDC.org for more information

Vish M

I agree you Guys can support any company,but why hand pick or select certain ones.You Guys need to support other nationality owned companies,get in the trenches also and work with open arms.

Originally Posted by Jungle Girl:

Yep - until EZJet goes belly up in a few months - and passengers are stranded on either continent.

I knew it! Just before Christmas too .....

These fly by night 'businessmen' who always swindling people!

I feel for those stranded passengers!

Where did Kaieteur get the 3M US loss from?  Can they be sued for libel. After that article in Kaieteur, many passengers dropped ezjet and went back to delta. Is Kaieteur being paid by Delta to sabotage ezjet?????

Druggie EZjet CANNOT operate into the USA if teh USDot withdraws its license to fly.  It is a US registered carrier.  Guyana is a Cat 2 nation so Guyana registered carriers cannot start new service to the USA.

Leave Vishnu M alone.  By the time the RH people are finished with him he will stop supporting fly by night carriers.  The man was with GA 2000.  I told him it would fail.  He want to Universal.  I said the SAME thing.  And now another failure.

With what.  They have a reputation for not paying their bills, so no new operatore is going to lease them a plane.  Their license toperate has been withdrawn, so they cannot fly any where.

So how will they support this PPP owned airline?

Why should you. They got scammed by GuyAmerica, Tropical. Arrrow. Leisure. GA2000. Universal, Constellation. Now Ezjet.  And I know there are others which names I have forgotten.

If p[eople dont remember their bhistory they will continue ti make them same mistakes.

Like they say "fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me twice, shame on ME!!"

RHEDC is not an Aviation Regulatory Authority.

We can however get you special prices on EZJET,

Please visit our website www.RichmondHillEDC.org for more information

How will you get EZ fares when EZ has been grounded and until the US Dot decides otherwise EZjet cant go anywhere.

Passengers already stranded and the govt of GY is already talking to Caribbean about uplifting stranded Guyanese.

Dont know why Vishnu M is trying to fool your all.

As the Jamaicans say its chapter!   Ez Jet story DONE!!!

EZJEt's impact on the JFK-GEO sector

Lower Price

CA now flying some flights Directly to GEO

More Baggage allowance

Increased travels to Guyana

Delta now showing respect to the Guyanese traveling public

All credited to EZJETin the market

Ok good history lesson but EZjet is no more.  Another fly by night bites the dust.

Druggie EZjet CANNOT operate into the USA if teh USDot withdraws its license to fly.  It is a US registered carrier.  Guyana is a Cat 2 nation so Guyana registered carriers cannot start new service to the USA.

Leave Vishnu M alone.  By the time the RH people are finished with him he will stop supporting fly by night carriers.  The man was with GA 2000.  I told him it would fail.  He want to Universal.  I said the SAME thing.  And now another failure.

You calling Vishnu Mahadeo a failure?

Glen is now asking for a true legal response!

It will serve the public interest well if he retracts his position.

He has done this before.

Glen  and all the stranded passengers should now catch you and finish off what Ed and the others did noot do, shave your stupid head!

I can't belief how fooish you and the other PPP lap dogs can be. Kaituer was asking legitimate questions and jackasses like you wanted to sue Mr Glen Lall.

Why should you. 

It's called compassion. Not everyone can afford Delta and Caribbean Airways. Almost every other destination in the region has a budget airline why not GY. People are hopeful and it's sad when greedy jacka$$e$ like Ramdeo & Co run scams like these.

So yes, I feel for the stranded folks.

He has done this before.

Glen  and all the stranded passengers should now catch you and finish off what Ed and the others did noot do, shave your stupid head!

I can't belief how fooish you and the other PPP lap dogs can be. Kaituer was asking legitimate questions and jackasses like you wanted to sue Mr Glen Lall.

Chief, as much as Vish is on the wrong side of this one, your response is certainly not helpful.

He has done this before.

Chief, as much as Vish is on the wrong side of this one, your response is certainly not helpful.

Kari,

I feel strongly about this because people like Vish under the banner of an economic organization in NY should know better.

BG_See Vish is NOT a fraud. Chief is concerned that as someone in the know and some one who heads an economic body in the community, and given his knowledge of the airline industry in Guiana and the Caribbean, he should not appear so partisan.

WE are promoting Businesses in Richmond Hill.

We will continue to do so as it is a part of our mission.

Please visit our website for more information on how to get contact info for EZJET passengers 

Vish M

WE are promoting Businesses in Richmond Hill.

We will continue to do so as it is a part of our mission.

Please visit our website for more information on how to get contact info for EZJET passengers 

You are a confused person!!

When I pointed out to you in March that no economic DEVELOPMENT  organization in NY   does not promote  religious parade, your excuse was feeble.

I can safely say that you are not a fraud but neither are you qualified to run such an organization.

How can you look the people in RH in thier eyes and explain to them that you were one of the blind defenders of a fraudster? When KN and other decent folks were questioning the actioon of the thieves you were up in arms against the decent folks.

Vish is a true believer who will support any PPP [backed] scheme, scam or fraud simply because . . .

In fact this EZjet is an AFC scheme, check out who the main investors are that reside at the top echelon of the party. Nagamootoo and Ramjattan battie biting as their drug mule airline is now grounded by the GOG and US. Note that the PPP did not even send a representative for the inaugural flight of ezjet due to AFc links.

Vish is a true believer who will support any PPP [backed] scheme, scam or fraud simply because . . .

In fact this EZjet is an AFC scheme, check out who the main investors are that reside at the top echelon of the party. Nagamootoo and Ramjattan battie biting as their drug mule airline is now grounded by the GOG and US. Note that the PPP did not even send a representative for the inaugural flight of ezjet due to AFc links.

If you make another post of this that will make it approx 15 times you said the same thing, by then you might really start to believe it, you silly person you.