AFC suspicious of NCN Presidential Debate - … has never in the past demonstrated a propensity to be impartial - Ramjattan

November 8, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - kaieteur News

Presidential Candidate of the Alliance For Change, Khemraj Ramjattan, says that at present he is very suspicious of the Presidential Debate slated to be facilitated by the National Communications Network.

He says that his participation will be based on an assessment of the terms and conditions of that debate given that NCN, in the past, has never demonstrated a propensity to be impartial.

Ramjattan did say that as long as they can be assured that the debate will be professionally moderated and with no special favours for the People’s Progressive Party Civic Presidential Candidate Donald Ramotar in place then he will have no problem participating.

He said that he does not want it to be a case where Ramotar is provided with an audience that cheers everything he says regardless of if it is nonsense or not and booing the opposition speakers even when they make salient points.

Ramjattan says that at present he has no problems as it relates to the debate arranged by the University of Guyana and has no hesitation participating in that one.

On Friday last, Campaign Spokesperson for the PPP/C, Robert Persaud, said that Ramotar will be taking part in two Presidential Debates in the run-up to the 2011 Presidential Debates.

Persaud told media operatives that all of the pre-requirements that they had insisted be in place have been satisfied.

The debate will be on Thursday in the George Walcott Lecture Theatre, “and we would expect the other political parties will participate.”

Persaud announced too that as a result of time being available for Ramotar he has also agreed to a second round of debating.

He said that the party has received an invitation from the National Communications Network which has indicated that it will be facilitating a Presidential Debate with all of the political parties contesting.

That debate is expected to be held on November 15.

Persaud said that he wanted to make the announcement in light of what he calls a plethora of misrepresentations. “In fact the opposition has been suggesting that Mr Ramotar is dodging although we made it quite clear that once we have the available time and the arrangements are put in place we would participate.”

He said that the debates would serve as a forum for continued and an enlightened form of interaction with the wider public.

One such debate that was previously organized and for which Ramotar came in for some criticism was done by Merundoi.

On that occasion the Presidential Candidates of Guyana’s opposition parties signed up but the ruling party’s candidate did not.

No reason was given for the non-confirmation of Donald Ramotar of the incumbent People’s Progressive Party.

Ramjattan did say that as long as they can be assured that the debate will be professionally moderated and with no special favours for the People’s Progressive Party Civic Presidential Candidate Donald Ramotar in place then he will have no problem participating.

He said that he does not want it to be a case where Ramotar is provided with an audience that cheers everything he says regardless of if it is nonsense or not and booing the opposition speakers even when they make salient points.

Simply your personal choice to participate.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Ramjhattan Batty Ah Bite when he hear Donald gun Debate him. yippie partybanana YUh gun think deh BONGO SQUAD looking fuh he. partybanana partybanana
WHy dont he let an independent body handle the process? This is as I stated a few days ago a staged event micromanaged by the PPP to hide their dunda headed candidate from a real debate.
Ramjhattan Batty Ah Bite when he hear Donald gun Debate him. yippie partybanana YUh gun think deh BONGO SQUAD looking fuh he. partybanana partybanana
why did ramotar refuse to debate when it was being handle by some other than NCN.NCN is a arm of the government.all the oppisition party should boycott this debate.the ppp is up to their tricks
It IS a DEMOCRACY, they have a RIGHT not to Debate. partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by warrior:
why did ramotar refuse to debate when it was being handle by some other than NCN.NCN is a arm of the government.all the oppisition party should boycott this debate.the ppp is up to their tricks
It IS a DEMOCRACY, they have a RIGHT not to Debate. partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by warrior:
In your pea brain, using the state asset NCN, as its campaign arm is indeed democracy and not corrupt practices.
IT IS A DEMOCRACY!!1
Originally posted by raymond:
It IS a DEMOCRACY

state owned media?
sure its a democracy,with the only tv station that can reach all part of the country.with one radio station.thank god some of us that live in country like canada and the USA know what democracy is all about
IT IS A DEMOCRACY!!1
Originally posted by raymond:
It IS a DEMOCRACY

state owned media?
You screaming that it is will not make it so.
Originally posted by TI:
AFC said the duck was afraid to debate. Now the duck wants to quack, AFC feathers getting ruffled? They look like complainers to me. Big Grin
You know well that NCN was chosen because it will be preloaded for the Duck.
Originally posted by Bookman:
Pick sense from nonsense.
Ramjattan ent want appear on TV bacaz he not good looking like de Donald. Big Grin
one more funny guy in the ppp party,there is kwame,bar--rat now a another one bite the dust
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by TI:
AFC said the duck was afraid to debate. Now the duck wants to quack, AFC feathers getting ruffled? They look like complainers to me. Big Grin

preloaded with what?
guyanese people must be really stupid to look at tv and can't tell who winning a debate.
TI
Originally posted by TI:
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by TI:

preloaded with what?
guyanese people must be really stupid to look at tv and can't tell who winning a debate.
He can get the questions for one since the moderator is NCN folks. He can also be given latitude to answer and follow up. There are many other ways to favor the candidate inclusive of camera positions, camera cuts etc. In US debates, teams of people from both sides examine everything from the forum and format to lighting to podiums etc. NCN can make any other person look an ass with their comments and follow up.
Sometimes when I listen to these KATAHARS I does wonder why GOD make them with PEA Brains!!!
God has nothing to do with this. The crooked PPP and their unrestrained penchant for dirty business is responsible for this.
Originally posted by albert:
It appears like Ramjattan.....is running from the debate...

Ramjattan should debate on NCN unless there is a neutral moderator! You jokers will give Rumo-rat all the questions and answers before the debate and rail road the opposition. Why can't the debate be done at the neutral site with NCN providing the TV and Radio Coverage????
Because Ambassadors come from the Ruling Party which happens to have MOSTLY Indians.
Originally posted by André:
Someone asked a question about why all the ambassadors are Indian.
Because Ambassadors come from the Ruling Party which happens to have MOSTLY Indians.

Does your brain tell you that any government in GY should represents all races and what you say make the PPP a racist government ?
Change your teaching job to a JFK baggage handler, it dont require any brain work.
Its Ramjattan has the "balls" to debate...he'll show up at N.C.N studio

Oh please, my teenage nephew would out debate RumMouthar. The man is a bloody dunce and can't even speak properly.

He sounded like an idiot in the UG debate. Only good for cussing out people but if there has to be any hint of intellectual thought he comes across as a clumsy buffoon.
Its Ramjattan has the "balls" to debate...he'll show up at N.C.N studio

Albutt...you swing your balls around wid dem lil bai...why not have the balls and get Uncle Ramo to a neutral place with the other candidates.
Listen to the UG debate, his ass was grass...

You think the old man heart is strong enough for all this election pressure. Is this all part of Jagdeo master plan and he dont care about people, just himself.
I good debater will debate anywhere..it Ramjattan as I stated before has the "balls"..he will show up at N.C.N....or he doesn't has what it takes.
That is indeed a self evident thing ie good debators will debate anywhere. Why is the suckling...I mean duckling so intent that NCN is the only place he will debate?
Like yuh want Ambaassada Wuk? partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by Tola:

Does your brain tell you that any government in GY should represents all races and what you say make the PPP a racist government ?
Change your teaching job to a JFK baggage handler, it dont require any brain work.
Romatar is a qualified and outstanding son of the soil...who the Guyanese populace will endorse with the mantle of Governance on Nov.28
That he has lots of surface area hence a larger receptacle for Guyanese dirt would be his only claim to being from the soil.