President assures Enterprise residents of sugar industry’s viability under PPP

Georgetown, GINA, October 18, 2011
Source - GINA

President Bharrat Jagdeo speaking to residents of Enterprise, East Coast Demerara during an elections meeting

The ruling People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) continued its campaign trail to national elections with a street corner meeting this evening at Enterprise, East Coast Demerara where President Bharrat Jagdeo assured residents that the sugar industry will remain viable under the incumbent administration.

Despite intermittent showers residents turned out in their numbers to listen to the Head of State as he addressed them at the Khaleel Bridge junction of the village on the sugar industry, Government’s vision for Guyana, the opposition’s agenda and Guyana’s volatile political history.

“Let me make one thing clear… the PPP’s commitment to sugar has been and will always be unshakeable and this is why when we faced significant hardships… we said we are going to make this industry viable,” President Jagdeo said.

Among the “significant hardships,” President Jagdeo chronicled were pressures from the Alliance for Change (AFC) the defunct People’s National Congress (PNC), and Ravi Dev for government to relinquish the sugar industry.

This he said was coupled with the inevitably high cost of production and the European Union’s (EU) 36% price cut that resulted in Guyana losing $9B in revenue per-annum from the industry.

Signs of languishing sugar industries around the world including in the Caribbean were also evident and President Jagdeo told the Enterprise residents that, APNU if put in office will disengage from sugar.

“Many from the opposition think that sugar workers don’t have the vision. They say bad things about sugar workers but they don’t know that these are some of the most forward looking, resilient people,” President Jagdeo said.

President Bharrat Jagdeo interacting with residents of Enterprise, East Coast Demerara after a meeting

“In 2008, the Government made the largest historic investment in the sugar industry with the commissioning of the $185M Skeldon Sugar factory which incorporates some of the best technologies in sugar manufacturing to reduce production cost, improve sugar quality and operational efficiency.

It was done at a time when Barbados, St. Kitts and neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago backed away from sugar resulting in workers being laid off, some without severance pay. In May this year a US$12.5M packaging plant at Enmore was commissioned.

The sugar industry contributes 16 percent to the country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and is the means of livelihood for about 17 percent of Guyana’s population which directly or indirectly depend on the commodity.

President Jagdeo however shared government’s vision for the sugar industry to move in a sophisticated direction where operations are mechanized and manual labour is miniscule.

A section of the gathering at the Enterprise, East Coast Demerara meeting where President Bharrat Jagdeo attended

“The industry itself we have to mechanise… so our sugar workers now have to be retrained to use machinery,” President Jagdeo said.

He did however acknowledge some of the challenges workers face with their National Insurance Scheme (NIS) benefits and spoke of plans to computerise the scheme to correct the situation.

He also shared his vision for the Information Communication Technology (ICT) sector that is rapidly emerging in Guyana and realizing the dream of conducting business from the comfort of one’s home.

He told the gathering of his confidence about PPP/C winning over Region Four at this year’s elections.

Originally posted by TK_REDUX:
He did not mention the Skeldon factory. What about the Demerara estates which they plan to close after election and sell the land to friends of the government.

Anywhere he goes he talks about deveopments and reconstructuring. jagdeo is a builder. You can only admire him for his contribution to the development of guyana.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
He did not mention the Skeldon factory. What about the Demerara estates which they plan to close after election and sell the land to friends of the government.

Anywhere he goes he talks about deveopments and reconstructuring. jagdeo is a builder. You can only admire him for his contribution to the development of guyana.

Guyana has a stable dankey cart economy. The backward nature of the economy helps to maintain a stable exchange rate. Remittances are stable and reliable inflows although they reflect loss of human capital. Limited human capital = NO DEVELOPMENT! Sorry uncle Rama_cant...he is no builder although he knows how to leverage power.
Uncle Rama...stable exchange rate nah mean jobs available. A dankey cart economy in coma is not good for Guyanese. We must have a stable exchange rate and jobs. VOTE AFC FOR JOBS, STABILITY AND SECURITY.

That is only an election GIMMICK.
You make many promises but then again promises are free and the AFC can afford to make them, because they know that they will never have the chance to face the people again.

By the way, Heave you heard Jagdeo's sppech at Linden. Now there's a public speaker. he spoke very fluent and simple so that the people can understand. What a great Guy? eh?
Glad to see that the PPP/C held a well-attended public meeting at Enterprise. The report says that President Jagdeo addressed issues surrounding the sugar industry.
The report didn't say whether Komal Chand or any GAWU representative also spoke at the Enterprise meeting.
As a former financial PPP member for nearly two decades, and as an abiding PPP supporter up to now, I'm concerned.
If the GINA reporters deliberately omitted the other speakers, they should correct this mistake.
If the PPP/C campaign strategists deliberately overlooked GAWU leaders when drawing up the speakers' list for the Enterprise meeting, they should rethink the matter for other public meetings in the sugar belt.
B
Billboards with pictures of the Palace he has built at Sparendaam should be placed at strategic points across the country for ALL to see that he is nothing but an arrogant, obnoxious, and shameless THIEF who is "scraven" for power.
Originally posted by BLACKBEARD:
Billboards with pictures of the Palace he has built at Sparendaam should be placed at strategic points across the country for ALL to see that he is nothing but an arrogant, obnoxious, and shameless THIEF who is "scraven" for power.

Is that why everyone one is join the PPP?C.?
Originally posted by raymond:
SUgar is close to dead in Guyana...PPP is bereft of ideas to to come nup with alternatives

Tell that to the PNC guys who are joining the PPP/C..
SUgar is close to dead in Guyana...PPP is bereft of ideas to to come nup with alternatives

so yuh think they join fuh cut cane or pull punt?

To pull punt was massa days and massa days are gone never to come back to Guyanan, but you will never know this. They joined the PPP/C because they see the PPP/C as the only viable Party to lead Guyana in the formation of the next government.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa..hahaha
yuh believe dat Bollywood fairytale eh Big Grin

Now you prich, why are so so stupid.?..

Why are Jagdeo followers with limited vocab. so vulgar all time.
Do they now know they will lose the election and are angry, or is it a natural training pattern by the OP.

Why are Jagdeo followers with limited vocab. so vulgar all time.
Do they now know they will lose the election and are angry, or is it a natural training pattern by the OP.

the man cyant think anymore
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Guyana has a stable dankey cart economy.

Continued bellowing of personal nonsense. Big Grin
As opposed to your public good sense? I think someone has been spiking your rheumatism medicine.
The president can't assure the people of nothing. The messed up the Sugar Industry over the last 19 years and treating the sugar workers as if they belong to a lower caste, why would they even listed to him now? The corrupt Jagdeo government even started selling the sugar fields land to their cronies drug dealer friends to build housing scheme and mansions!
Originally posted by D2:

As opposed to your public good sense?

I think someone has been spiking your rheumatism medicine.

Ohhh my .. your needed medication are spiked? Big Grin

Rama and Dem-guy have tunnel vision:

1. restricted field of vision: a condition in which peripheral vision is lost or severely limited, so that only objects directly in line with the eyes can be seen
2. close-minded thinking: a very limited viewpoint or conception of things

Alcohol consumption causes tunnel vision.[2] In addition, the vision becomes blurred or double since eye muscles lose their precision causing them to be unable to focus on the same object.

D_G, do you have a pre-typed sheet with phrases that you pick from,in your reply on GNI ?
There seems to be similarities in the one sentance phrases you use.
Do you have an opinion/feeling/instinct/guesses, etc, beyond the one sentance ?