Laptop distribution begins on Essequibo Coast

November 10, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - Kaieteur News

One hundred and forty-one single parents and low income families received computers, on Wednesday, under the One Laptop per Family Programme.

Most of the recipients said that it is the first time they have owned such a modern gadget.

Distributions were conducted at various distribution hubs in Region Two, including Charity, Bounty Hall and Anna Regina Multilateral School.

There are plans for similar distributions on Thursday in Region Two.

Liaison Officer, Arifa Persaud, said that low income families and single-parents are the main targets. Persaud added that the process of distribution will continue as persons are verified. Ten hours of compulsory training programme is scheduled for the recipients.

Seven distribution centers were established throughout the Essequibo Coast.

Gloria Campbell, a single-parent and mother of four, from Charity, said that she is very happy to own a computer for the first time.

Campbell said the gadget will also be beneficial to her four young children.

Mary Da Silva and Clepatram Razack also expressed similar sentiments.

Laptops are given low income families under $50,000 bracket and internet connection starts at 6,000 per month for dial up which is next to usless.

I had to give up trying for day and all night to setup itunes for my nephew while I was there last week. With no printer or affordable/surfable internet, its like giving the people the people a kart with no dankey to pull it... Big Grin Big Grin
Originally posted by TI:
I heard plenty AFC and APNu peeps line up for the laptop Big Grin

Wha? You mekking joke or wha?
Come to think of it, though, the PPP/C government doesn't discriminate.
The laptops will be donated to poor and needy folks even though they may support the AFC or the APNU.
Never in the history of Guyana has there been a fairer government than the PPP/C. That's a fact.
B
Originally posted by sachin_05:
Laptops are given low income families under $50,000 bracket and internet connection starts at 6,000 per month for dial up which is next to usless.

I had to give up trying for day and all night to setup itunes for my nephew while I was there last week. With no printer or affordable/surfable internet, its like giving the people the people a kart with no dankey to pull it... Big Grin Big Grin

Sachin, your nephew got the laptop to access information and expand his knowledge. Not to play iTunes. We gon tek back dat luptap from yuh nephew. Big Grin
B
Originally posted by Bookman:
Originally posted by TI:

Wha? You mekking joke or wha?
Come to think of it, though, the PPP/C government doesn't discriminate.
The laptops will be donated to poor and needy folks even though they may support the AFC or the APNU.
Never in the history of Guyana has there been a fairer government than the PPP/C. That's a fact.
You are indeed right We only had two governments and they function alike. Only the PPP thief more.
Originally posted by BONUS:
buying votes begins. The PPP really thinks lowly of the Guyanese people.
the PPP give back poor guyanese people some of their vat money via cheap laptops.
There is nothing that you can say to tell these supporters of the PPP otherwise. Bookman, the sanest of the lot, stoop very low not to see their transgressions. Others like Supermike, habituated to thief and bribery as a PNC cop, simply make giant sucking sounds.
Originally posted by Bookman:
Originally posted by sachin_05:

Sachin, your nephew got the laptop to access information and expand his knowledge. Not to play iTunes. We gon tek back dat luptap from yuh nephew. Big Grin

So what should I say to this boy? he say he need to live up the the President pledge "to surpass the US" so he need expand his knowlege of the ipod.... Big Grin
Originally posted by D2:
the PPP give back poor guyanese people some of their vat money via cheap laptops.
There is nothing that you can say to tell these supporters of the PPP otherwise. Bookman, the sanest of the lot, stoop very low not to see their transgressions. Others like Supermike, habituated to thief and bribery as a PNC cop, simply make giant sucking sounds.

I would be very happy if Obama gives me a new laptop. Matter of fact, if any Guyanese ingrates don't want theirs, please send it over here. Many thanks! Big Grin
TI
Originally posted by TI:
Originally posted by D2:

I would be very happy if Obama gives me a new laptop. Matter of fact, if any Guyanese ingrates don't want theirs, please send it over here. Many thanks! Big Grin
Obama does not need to bribe himself into office. And I doubt you would care for these crappy machines which would not meet your computer use profile from a decade ago.
Originally posted by D2:
Originally posted by TI:
Being accustomed to the the high status of nepotism in political life the idea ( joke or not) that they are being distributing to PPPites would not be a remote possibility.

you wish they do yu dumm fool....it's for all Guyanese from all walks of life..black..collie...duglla..putagee.chinee and even yu bucks gettin it too cheers