2016 Budget …Opposition Leader in support of reduction in taxes

January 27, 2016 3:28 pm Category: Business, Internet, latest news, Local News A+ / A-

Opposition Leader, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo has announced that he will support the Government in any decision to reduce taxes, in particular the Value Added Tax (VAT), which he feels should be reduced from 16 % to 12 %.

Jagdeo made the call during his weekly press conference at Freedom House today.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo

He noted that though the PPP/C was not given an opportunity to participate in consultations on the National Budget, the reduction of taxes, which was an APNU/AFC campaign promise, can bring significant relief to the Guyanese public.

The Opposition leader also implored on Government for the reduction of fuel and electricity prices, given the fact that oil prices are significantly low on the world market.

With Budget 2016 presentation being just two days away, Jagdeo has indicated that he expects a substantial increase in the salaries for public servants and the pensions for the elderly population.

He noted that he is also expecting to see considerable measures in place to support the productive sectors including mining and agriculture.

http://www.inewsguyana.com/201...-reduction-in-taxes/

So this smart man all of a sudden interested in reducing taxes?  When he was in Government, he was the one we tell us VAT was cash netral but increased the taxes on the people by some $37 billion in 2007.

Then he collected an extra $20 billion on taxing the fuel.

Now he envy the coalition having access to this kind of sauce.

But seriously, the tax on fuel should drop. IT rass is now 50 percent.  What the hell wrong with Granger?

Brian Teekah posted:

So this smart man all of a sudden interested in reducing taxes?  When he was in Government, he was the one we tell us VAT was cash netral but increased the taxes on the people by some $37 billion in 2007.

Then he collected an extra $20 billion on taxing the fuel.

Now he envy the coalition having access to this kind of sauce.

But seriously, the tax on fuel should drop. IT rass is now 50 percent.  What the hell wrong with Granger?

What a hypocrite you are.  The VAT was to be tax neutral as with it, several other layers of duties were eliminated.  You know this.  However, the way it flowed to the consumer did not seem as neutral as one had hoped and some people were negatively impacted for sure.

With regard to the tax on fuel, here again reflects your cheap unashamed political gimmickry.  When last, in recent history, have there been such a "sustained" lowering of oil prices?  This warrants some type of adjustment to bring relief to the consumer and businesses.  What is there for the PPP to be jealous?  The PNC/AFC are such incompetents, they are in their own "jealousy battle" all by, and with, themselves.  I mean, look how "big basha" clapping lash pon them lil North American AFC pee-ons.

Finally, why you cuss the PPP, then next sentence cry "what the hell wrong with Granger".  It actually leaves quite a few question marks on you!!  You need to shed that schizzo "beautiful mind" of yours and get real for a change!  It might help you within the simple-minded mediocrity of the PNC/AFC.