‘Be the change you want to see’ – Ayodele Roache

– 19-year-old councillor plans to return Georgetown to its golden days

“I decided to run [for councillor] because I wanted to be the change that I would like to see and if I, one youth could get up and be the change, it could spark a ripple effect so that other young people would be inspired to get up and be the change that they want.”

Ayodele Roache being sworn in as a Councillor.

Those were the words of 19-year-old Ayodele Roache who, on Friday last, was sworn in as a Proportional Representation (PR) Councillor to the Georgetown Mayor and City Council. She is also the youngest member of the council and represents the Alliance for Change.

According to Roache, she is representing the youth voice and called on other young people like herself to “be the positive change” needed and take up the mantle of leadership. She advised they learn from past mistakes and create better ideas to lead the country forward.

During her tenure, she plans to focus on developing three areas – creating more opportunities for youth entrepreneurship, security and the development of green spaces around the city.

Roache is of the opinion that by tackling these three areas, she can reduce some of the incorrect stereotypes associated with today’s youth.

Additionally, she plans on working with the council to address the issue of garbage collection and restoring Georgetown to the Garden City she often heard spoken of whilst growing up.

“I look forward to working with the council to see what their approach is; then give my input and see how best we can find a solution for proper garbage collection and solid waste management to restore this city to the green city I heard…. So that all the other municipalities around Guyana could follow suit,” the young lady stated.

Roache, along with 29 other councillors, will officially being duties on January 1, 2019.

Golden days are generally associated with long period of enhanced economic activity, peace, era of good feeling, good life, etc...

...some might refer to such times as Pax Mongolica, Pax Romana, the Golden Age of Islam, etc...

..so when exactly would you folks consider as the "Golden days" in Guyana?  before independence, the 1970s, 1992, .....?  

And, what exactly was "golden" about that specific age....everything I have been reading about Guyana so far seems to me like God Grew Tired of this Place...it has been rocky since the white man left....am I wrong?

jes asking.

Golden days are generally associated with long period of enhanced economic activity, peace, era of good feeling, good life, etc...

...some might refer to such times as Pax Mongolica, Pax Romana, the Golden Age of Islam, etc...

..so when exactly would you folks consider as the "Golden days" in Guyana?  before independence, the 1970s, 1992, .....?  

And, what exactly was "golden" about that specific age....everything I have been reading about Guyana so far seems to me like God Grew Tired of this Place...it has been rocky since the white man left....am I wrong?

jes asking.

Best time in Guyana was colonial days. GT was known as the Garden City. Guyana as the breadbasket of the Caribbean. Exchange rate was 2 Gy dollars gets you 1 USD. Better quality of people (brain drain means only Nehrus are left there now). Modern society in GT, cricketers and other foreigners raved about the place. And this is with the racial disturbance of the 60's.

Carib will disagree. He says he didn't like to be told what to do. No one is telling him what to do now, but now there is nothing to do. He says he didn't have freedom of choice and opportunity back then. Today he has freedom of choice but there is nothing to choose and no opportunity for anyone. Suh tek yuh pick.

Most of the enjoyable stuff these old timers write about here were during colonial days and up to mid 70's when they whole place went down the toilet. Burnham in charge, Cheddi smiling and nodding wid he "critical support" in the late 70's early 80's I think. We were "gifted" with this commie idiot Cheddi and the "smart" megalomaniac Forbes. Doomed to failure!

Then came death squads. Black men executed. Drug cartels. Drug Lords. Ordinary people strung out on drugs and an explosion of crime to support they habit. Indian "elite" class. That was under Rat Man.

Just watch how they gon respond. When Gilbakka read dis he gon put on he shut jack and camouflage cap fuh talk like Fidel about how great post colonial days was in de emerging "socialist" guyana. And Carib gon deh next to he. One black, one Indian cussing meh. Dat's how yuh gon kno ah right.

The only golden age Guyana had was from 1992 to 2014.!!!

Lying DOG!

Come on now, you accuse me of being uncivil and now you refer to our esteemed dj Nehru as a DOG?  Tell us if we experienced any golden age under PNC pre 92 and post 2014.  If you remember pre 92, there was  no milk under PNC and PPP came to power in 92 and shared milk, then in 2015 after sporting for 6 months the PNC once again gave black tea. 

On a serious note thought, the only redemption for GT is to raise taxes and stop looking to central govt to fill the gaps. The town should be self sufficient, not stealing from Peter to pay for Paul. 

Lying DOG!

Come on now, you accuse me of being uncivil and now you refer to our esteemed dj Nehru as a DOG?  Tell us if we experienced any golden age under PNC pre 92 and post 2014.  If you remember pre 92, there was  no milk under PNC and PPP came to power in 92 and shared milk, then in 2015 after sporting for 6 months the PNC once again gave black tea. 

Accused you of a lot of stuff, doubt "uncivil" is one of them. Nehru is a lying DOG who contributes nothing here and that is evident! He may be esteemed to you, but to me he is a lying, racist! Nothing worse. 

On a serious note thought, the only redemption for GT is to raise taxes and stop looking to central govt to fill the gaps. The town should be self sufficient, not stealing from Peter to pay for Paul. 

They should start COLLECTING taxes. And this is not confined to GT alone.

jes asking.

Best time in Guyana was colonial days. GT was known as the Garden City. Guyana as the breadbasket of the Caribbean. Exchange rate was 2 Gy dollars gets you 1 USD. Better quality of people (brain drain means only Nehrus are left there now). Modern society in GT, cricketers and other foreigners raved about the place. And this is with the racial disturbance of the 60's.

Carib will disagree. He says he didn't like to be told what to do. No one is telling him what to do now, but now there is nothing to do. He says he didn't have freedom of choice and opportunity back then. Today he has freedom of choice but there is nothing to choose and no opportunity for anyone. Suh tek yuh pick.

Most of the enjoyable stuff these old timers write about here were during colonial days and up to mid 70's when they whole place went down the toilet. Burnham in charge, Cheddi smiling and nodding wid he "critical support" in the late 70's early 80's I think. We were "gifted" with this commie idiot Cheddi and the "smart" megalomaniac Forbes. Doomed to failure!

Then came death squads. Black men executed. Drug cartels. Drug Lords. Ordinary people strung out on drugs and an explosion of crime to support they habit. Indian "elite" class. That was under Rat Man.

Just watch how they gon respond. When Gilbakka read dis he gon put on he shut jack and camouflage cap fuh talk like Fidel about how great post colonial days was in de emerging "socialist" guyana. And Carib gon deh next to he. One black, one Indian cussing meh. Dat's how yuh gon kno ah right.

Thanks!

They should start COLLECTING taxes. And this is not confined to GT alone.

It is not so much about the inefficiency in collecting tax rather than the tax rate. If you are not an apartment dweller but a house owner in the US you would know that a town first has a budget estimate based on projected expenses, then determines the tax rate. In the end it is a simple multiplication and addition problem. But it seems that GT don't have such budget planning in place as they always keep begging for money and crying broke.

@Former Member

Gilbakka is happy to disappoint you. Socialists & dialectics are inseparable. What happens in society today stems from what happened in the past. What will happen in future depends on what happens presently. Gilbakka takes the long view of history.

I believe Guyana's Golden Age came and left us during the 18th century. It came in Essequibo and left in Berbice. It started with Laurens Storm van Gravesande and ended gloriously with Cuffy, Atta & Accabre. 

Guyana's Golden Age was the birthing, growing and naming of countless communities. A time of pioneering, trailblazing, battling heroically and victoriously against Nature.

Guyana's Golden Age was the best of times; it was the worst of times too. It was a time of laying foundations that keep serving Guyanese up to now --- seawalls, roads, canals, forts etc.

It was a time of slavery and a time of freedom. 1763 witnessed the Caribbean's first slave revolution. Slavery & revolt, the clash of opposites, ie one dimension of dialectics. 

By the time East Indians arrived in 1838 Guyana's Golden Age was already history.

@Former Member

Gilbakka is happy to disappoint you. Socialists & dialectics are inseparable. What happens in society today stems from what happened in the past. What will happen in future depends on what happens presently. Gilbakka takes the long view of history.

I believe Guyana's Golden Age came and left us during the 18th century. It came in Essequibo and left in Berbice. It started with Laurens Storm van Gravesande and ended gloriously with Cuffy, Atta & Accabre. 

Guyana's Golden Age was the birthing, growing and naming of countless communities. A time of pioneering, trailblazing, battling heroically and victoriously against Nature.

Guyana's Golden Age was the best of times; it was the worst of times too. It was a time of laying foundations that keep serving Guyanese up to now --- seawalls, roads, canals, forts etc.

It was a time of slavery and a time of freedom. 1763 witnessed the Caribbean's first slave revolution. Slavery & revolt, the clash of opposites, ie one dimension of dialectics. 

By the time East Indians arrived in 1838 Guyana's Golden Age was already history.

Gilly,

Your historical and dialectical materialism interpretation of Guyanese history aside, your Golden Age takes us way back in time...to a very dark age in time when chattel slavery was in full display and when the humanity of some were denied.

Yours was a Golden Age for the Europeans, not for people of color. 

Is there nothing in your contemporary lifetime that reminds you of Guyana's "golden days" ?.  

This is not what 19-year-old Ayodele Roache has in mind

....your experience living in Guyana must have approximated to the Hobbesian state of nature...where life for you must have been "short, brutish, and full of misery".

Hard to believe...

@Former Member

Gilly,

Your historical and dialectical materialism interpretation of Guyanese history aside, your Golden Age takes us way back in time...to a very dark age in time when chattel slavery was in full display and when the humanity of some were denied.

Is there nothing in your contemporary lifetime that reminds you of Guyana's "golden days" ?.  

....your experience living in Guyana must have approximated to the Hobbesian state of nature...where life for you must have been "short, brutish, and full of misery".

Hard to believe...

That Banna Gilly give some strange introspection!  His best days in Guyana was 200 years prior to his birth, and he sees the best days of humanity is a socialist utopia maybe 200 years from now. 

There is a lose marble somewhere!

jes asking.

Guyana's Golden Age was during the colonial era. I've read numerous books, articles, world reports, etc. about your first paragraph. I was a little gal in Primary School when Sir David Rose visited my village. We were asked to write an essay about his visit, mine was selected for the school magazine.

An American told me the British kept Guyana together. After the British departed, the Blacks and Indos have been fighting as to who should rule who.

jes asking.

Guyana's Golden Age was during the colonial era. I've read numerous books, articles, world reports, etc. about your first paragraph. I was a little gal in Primary School when Sir David Rose visited my village. We were asked to write an essay about his visit, mine was selected for the school magazine.

An American told me the British kept Guyana together. After the British departed, the Blacks and Indos have been fighting as to who should rule who.

Many seem to think so.  I believe the stability, the crime control and the fact that many decisions were make beyond the control of locals made it more acceptable.  And when they stepped out of line too much, the Brits sent in the warships and troops, kick them out and throw them in jail!

We like to cuss the Brits, but they knew what they were protecting us from........ourselves!

Hey Base, my village was all Indo and we were surrounded by Black villages. During the riots, the village was under lockdown and Brit soldiers patrolled the streets to ensure our safety.

jes asking.

Dem still fighting, more so on GNI...2 generations later, after the white man gave up and left....  

@Former Member

Gilly,

Hard to believe...

That Banna Gilly give some strange introspection!  His best days in Guyana was 200 years prior to his birth, and he sees the best days of humanity is a socialist utopia maybe 200 years from now. 

Socialists are students of history. Gilly is a student of Guyanese history and world history. I would be dishonest to assert that Guyana's Golden Age occurred during the past 67 years, ie during my lifetime. I lived only 15 years under colonialism, from 1951 to 1966. Nothing golden there. I read intensively and extensively every day and derive my knowledge & opinions therefrom. 

@Former Member

Gilly,

Hard to believe...

Socialists are students of history. Gilly is a student of Guyanese history and world history. I would be dishonest to assert that Guyana's Golden Age occurred during the past 67 years, ie during my lifetime. I lived only 15 years under colonialism, from 1951 to 1966. Nothing golden there. I read intensively and extensively every day and derive my knowledge & opinions therefrom. 

Not doubting your feelings, but why you believe it was the best 200 years prior to your existence?

Lying DOG!

A stinking PIG like you would not know is shit you eating since that is normal for you.

Gil is giving all the accolades to the Dutch.

The Dutch were "supposedly" some of the best of the Colonials to their colonies.

Apart [of course] from the cooking of a slave alive in a Dutch oven in [now] Surinam!

@Baseman

When the British grabbed Guyana in 1803 all basic infrastructure was already in place --- roads, canals, dams, kokers, seawalls etc. The British got a readymade land, sort of.

But about 200 years before that, when the Dutch arrived the entire landscape was bush, swamp and some native benabs. At that time ships used to avoid landing at the Wild Coast, as the land was called.

Picture this, a few hundred Dutchmen decided to settle, to build something out of sheer bush and swamp. They had to use unpaid labour because slavery was the mode of production in the western hemisphere at that time. The Dutchmen and their African slaves manually cut down bush, dug canals, set up a sound drainage & irrigation system, introduced horses and various livestock and systems of agro industry for sugar production. In short, it was an epoch of creativity and optimism. By the mid-1700s Dutch Governor Gravesande even started inviting Englishmen from Barbados to settle in Demerara-Essequibo.

For me creativity in whatever form is a wonderful thing. By the 18th century that former wild coast of bush and swamp was attracting major world powers like Britain and France. Guyana had become something of value.

True, slavery is abominable. But like other things, slavery dialectically produces its opposite --- freedom through revolt. Guyana's history-making revolt occurred in 1763. And 200 years after that Cuffy became independent Guyana's national hero. Rightly so.

I think our golden age was the 18th century. The British reviled and belittled the Dutch contribution to Guyana's development. Dem badminded rass.

Lying DOG!

A stinking PIG like you would not know is shit you eating since that is normal for you.

Now now bhai Nehru, calm down .. be calm .. CALM, CALM ...

Lying DOG!

Bai, yuh posts gat one theme - shit eating, followed by batty washing. Shit at both ends. Then yuh throw in "parasite", de worms in yuh shit. Dis is wha deh in yuh subconscious, proof positive dat yuh mind infected wid and dwells solely pon shit. Yuh consumed wid shit. You are a piece of shit! Now gwan suh and roll in yuh shit, arite Mr. YAWK?

Gilly, these socialists who yuh seh are students of history should have learnt by now that dis "socialism" ting doan wuk. Stop trying it! It bruk up plenty countries!

I will limit my comments to Georgetown, I cannot speak for the rural areas. Yes, there was a "golden" age there complete with elitists of both races - the Kissoons and other wealthy Indian businessmen and black/red people filling the upper ranks of the civil service and other professional positions.

But ordinary folks moved up too, into a middle class, for example, many bought cars for the first time. This growth in the middle class which began under colonialsims lasted through independence and into the 70's, even though the political and other systems all around were gradually being eroded. Eventually this erosion affected the growth of the middle class.

Growing up as a child I remember the events my parents would attend at Tower Hotel etc. In those days Tower, Pegasus, Palm Court, Park Hotel were places of sophistication. Company and other events. Saturday night the "elite" would gather. For the  upper middle class, Saturday night poolside at the Pegasus with a group like Tradewinds playing late into the night. Similar at other venues.

No wine and guh down and Rum 'til I die culture. Georgetown was clean. The parapets were cut every Friday. "Gutter man" came and cleaned gutters after the grass was cut. Garbage pickup by a truck with men who had a big basket and pitchforks, came into your yard and pulled out the contents of your garbage can. Georgetown was beautiful, greenery abounded, the Botanical and Promenade gardens filled with flowers. The Avenue on Main Street, quiet for walking.

Then you had areas like Prashad Nagar, Bel Air, Subryanville, etc. that looked like the American suburbs. Big homes, hardly saw anyone while driving thru.

Stores like Bookers, Fogartys, Bettencourts were a joy to walk thru. Evenings people would go "window shopping". Regent street had its own set of stores run by middle class Indians. They sold everything. Also had places like JP Santos. Buy your car at Sandbach Parker.

Much more, too much to write. Of course there was the occasional "choke and rob". DV cases. etc. But a golden era gone. If the young lady wants to bring something "back" then she should know what used to be there.

I will limit my comments to Georgetown, I cannot speak for the rural areas. Yes, there was a "golden" age there complete with elitists of both races - the Kissoons and other wealthy Indian businessmen and black/red people filling the upper ranks of the civil service and other professional positions.

But ordinary folks moved up too, into a middle class, for example, many bought cars for the first time. This growth in the middle class which began under colonialsims lasted through independence and into the 70's, even though the political and other systems all around were gradually being eroded. Eventually this erosion affected the growth of the middle class.

Growing up as a child I remember the events my parents would attend at Tower Hotel etc. In those days Tower, Pegasus, Palm Court, Park Hotel were places of sophistication. Company and other events. Saturday night the "elite" would gather. For the  upper middle class, Saturday night poolside at the Pegasus with a group like Tradewinds playing late into the night. Similar at other venues.

No wine and guh down and Rum 'til I die culture. Georgetown was clean. The parapets were cut every Friday. "Gutter man" came and cleaned gutters after the grass was cut. Garbage pickup by a truck with men who had a big basket and pitchforks, came into your yard and pulled out the contents of your garbage can. Georgetown was beautiful, greenery abounded, the Botanical and Promenade gardens filled with flowers. The Avenue on Main Street, quiet for walking.

Then you had areas like Prashad Nagar, Bel Air, Subryanville, etc. that looked like the American suburbs. Big homes, hardly saw anyone while driving thru.

Stores like Bookers, Fogartys, Bettencourts were a joy to walk thru. Evenings people would go "window shopping". Regent street had its own set of stores run by middle class Indians. They sold everything. Also had places like JP Santos. Buy your car at Sandbach Parker.

Much more, too much to write. Of course there was the occasional "choke and rob". DV cases. etc. But a golden era gone. If the young lady wants to bring something "back" then she should know what used to be there.

Abie kuntry folks use to tek abie cast nets and go ketch hassa, patwa and houri. And when bandin open, we use to go get up early mannin and get deh before sun come up. No big city stores, no dress up. Go watch wan movie and ride you bicycle go look fuh gyals. Nobady bin baddah you.

From the info provided by Gianna man, he departs the shores before the 80s. 

Gilly, these socialists who yuh seh are students of history should have learnt by now that dis "socialism" ting doan wuk. Stop trying it! It bruk up plenty countries!

Thanks for your advice, brother (no comrade?!).

Socialism has variants. One size doesn't fit all. I tried the pro-Soviet Stalinist variant favoured by comrade Cheddi but that didn't work. I'm on another variant now. As a poor former wage earner now pensioner, I cannot support capitalism which puts profits at the expense of workers.

Guyana's Golden Age was during the colonial era.....

I will limit my comments to Georgetown, I cannot speak for the rural areas...  

I didn't live long in Guyana but the times I visited G'town during those days are still vivid in my mind. I remember everything you mention.

New Amsterdam, Rosehall, Albion, and other major cities and towns were prosperous and popular. The countryside was well-kept because of strict law and order maintained by the Village Offices. Men were employed to dig fish ponds, and clean the streets and drains, which they took seriously.

My village was PPP and had mostly rich rice planters. Foreigners studied the village because we fed Guyanese and helped in rice export; then they and others wrote articles and a book. I visited a few times between 1982-2007: the village looked better than the present G'town; it was so unrecognizable that I passed it then told the driver to turn back.

I hope the lady helps to bring back some of Guyana's glory days.  

Those were good memories, swimming in Luckoo Pool and the Police band at the Bandstand. With all the oil money, can't buy back those days.

jes asking.

Dem still fighting, more so on GNI...2 generations later, after the white man gave up and left....  

The fighting will continue as long as everything is judged by race and not by merit or logic.

skeldon_man posted

So I've heard. Went to school with some guys from the countryside. Different lifestyles, but all in all a simpler life all around. In fairness, life has become more complicated world wide, not just in Guyana.

Those were good memories, swimming in Luckoo Pool and the Police band at the Bandstand. With all the oil money, can't buy back those days.

Yes, that whole seawall area was the place for a lot of families and people in the evening, especially Saturday afternoon / evening. It was the police band I think that played at the bandstand, impeccably decked out in their uniforms. I think it was white shirts, black pants, and some red sashes or on the hats etc.

Luckhoo pool for an afternoon swim. Don't even know if it is still there. Of course at Easter the sky would be dotted with kites. I remember flying kite with my father by Luckhoo pool. 

Thanks for your advice, brother (no comrade?!).

Socialism has variants. One size doesn't fit all. I tried the pro-Soviet Stalinist variant favoured by comrade Cheddi but that didn't work. I'm on another variant now. As a poor former wage earner now pensioner, I cannot support capitalism which puts profits at the expense of workers.

"Comrade" Gill, life too short to find all dem variants. Guh wid what wukking bai. Profits at the expense of workers - maybe. But at least there is work where a man can earn a living, have some dignity, and tek care of he family.

How much wuk in Venezuela? Cuba? None. Men reduced to beggars and slaves, their women to whores to put some food on the table, while Maduro and Castro livin' high. We saw this in Guyana too. Alyuh "revolutionaries" kyan keep dat bai. I ain't able wid you and yuh "variants". All dem "variants" duz produce "vagrants".

I wish her well also BUT when you have the incompetent, DUMB PNC in Govt everything turns to FILTH!!`1

Correct Nehru.

Best wishes to the young lady on her visions.

It is a daunting task against the large majority of the council members.