14 of 21 promises delivered on Coalition’s 100 days plan; Harmon gives Gov’t ‘A Grade’

August 21, 2015 12:56 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

100 days[www.inewsguyana.com] – With four more days left before the APNU+AFC fully implement its 21 promises in the 100 days plan, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon has given the coalition government an “A Grade” in delivering what it promised to the Guyanese people this far.

A quick perusal of the 100 days plan will indicate that 14 of the 21 promises were delivered by the coalition government, which includes lowering the Berbice Bridge toll, salary increases for public servants, implementation of phased VAT reduction, increase in old age pension, reduction of the President’s pension and other benefits, return of TV Stations to Lindeners, tax exemption on equipment for small scale miners, cane workers and farmers conference; rice farmers, millers conference; investigative commission on corruption, code of conduct for Ministers, Parliamentarians and other government officials; national Toshaos conference, adoption of a long term sustainable economic plan and the implementation of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Act.

Other outstanding promises include naming a date for the long overdue Local Government Elections, establishment of the Public Procurement Commission, establishing passport and birth certificate licensing offices in Berbice, Essequibo and Linden; task force for crime, security and road safety; national conference on women, national youth conference and the liberalization of the telecoms and ICT sectors.

The deadline for the 100 days in office is August 24 and according to Harmon, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo will address the media on the accomplishments made on August 25.

At the moment however, he noted that government is pleaded with what has been delivered to the Guyanese people thus far.

“We have considered it over the last weekend and I can say to you that based on our own checklist, we are extremely comfortable with the work we have done and the accomplishment we have made under that plan…I would give the coalition government and A grade on the matter,” Harmon told the news conference.

Joseph Harmon has given the coalition government an“A Grade” in delivering what it promised to the Guyanese people this far.

How can this PNC Dunce grade 66 percent (14 of 21) as A grade:

God help the schools in Guyana.

Dem boys trying hard to convince us that they can be just as good as the PPP, but they are falling short.  Rice and sugar imploding while tourism is suffering because of the sudden increase in crime. Fearing embarrassing on the budget debate they have unilaterally reduced the number days they debate can carry on for. Shame on these bastards. They came into gov't. to ruin what's good and place the blame elsewhere.

Speaking about the Berbice Bridge Toll, was made to understand that although the bridge toll, has decreased and passenger were supposed to received this trickle down reduction in fares, the Minibus and Hire Car drivers tells Granger and his gang to go fly a kite.

Seems like the PNC/AFC are totally impotent to do anything.

The berbice river bridge toll was decreased,  but subsidized ,9 quack regime where as the taxpayers have to pay the bill. Is this a smart move

Not sure what you people expect, someone has to pay, if not the riders, then the nation in general, i.e. the Taxpayers.  Baseman actually support spreading the costs out as this is a key national infrastructure which will bring growth overall.

14/21 translates to 70%,  a "C"

Very generous of you to give them a "C" but out of the 14 promises, the PPP/C has ripped every single promise, making these PNC/AFC looks stupid and very foolish.

The berbice river bridge toll was decreased,  but subsidized ,9 quack regime where as the taxpayers have to pay the bill. Is this a smart move

suh antiman, what exactly is your recommendation for better policy . . . tell abee nah

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Stop subsidizing electricity in Linden

Stop lying to the People of Berbice..........where is your reduction of the Berbice Bridge toll?

Originally Posted by asj:

Joseph Harmon has given the coalition government an“A Grade” in delivering what it promised to the Guyanese people this far.

How can this PNC Dunce grade 66 percent (14 of 21) as A grade:

God help the schools in Guyana.

That is PNC's at it's beat at destroying Guyana.

Not sure what you people expect, someone has to pay, if not the riders, then the nation in general, i.e. the Taxpayers.  Baseman actually support spreading the costs out as this is a key national infrastructure which will bring growth overall.

If the reductions are not passed on to passengers, then the general taxpayer is putting money into the taxi and mini bus driver/owners pockets.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

If the reductions are not passed on to passengers, then the general taxpayer is putting money into the taxi and mini bus driver/owners pockets.

That's right, and one cannot blame the government. Blame the hire-car and mini-bus operators.

Why don't you speak up on how the PPP screw the tax payers with the marriot. Get lost idiot.

photo Backball.jpg

Last edited by Mitwah

Why don't you speak up on how the PPP screw the tax payers with the marriot. Get lost idiot.

Marriot is a great step.  PNC screwing things up big time, but you katax will try to blame the PPP.  The economic tail-spin is compliments of your PNC.  Now, get over it.

You cannot blame the Govt unless you support draconian price controls.  I don't know the regulatory environment regarding taxi license to operate the region, but it should be made to allow for more competition and the prices will come down.  The Govt should also look into price fixing issues.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Stop subsidizing electricity in Linden

The Govt should introduce a graduated rate tariff system providing relief up to a minimum basic usage for residential use.  Beyond that, full rate should apply.

Commercial operators should have a separate rate scale.

photo Backball.jpg

That's racial UNITY. Presently Guyana is SCREWED by PNC.

Marriot is a great step. 

How?  Hotels in G/town have had difficulty filling their rooms for a LONG time.  The PPPs tourism development strategies have failed.

There is no one who will visit Guyana just because the Marriott is built.  Guyana is NOT a tourist destinations, so the marketing initiatives that Marriott has for its corporate clients and frequent stay members isn't going to work for this hotel.  No golf course.  No beach.  No American tourists.  Its that simple.

Originally Posted by kp:
Or

photo Backball.jpg

That's racial UNITY. Presently Guyana is SCREWED by PNC.

That pic indicates how blacks were treated under PPP rule.  Screwed in their azz, and with no grease to ease the pain!

Originally Posted by TK:

Marriott made a big loss past three months. We told them so...yet another mal-investment of the people's scarce financial resources.

$60 million loss. Electricity bill alone is $25 million per month, compared to Pegasus $15 million/month bill.

Come on, TK, dis old man is not an economist but he gat dem numbers in he head.

Originally Posted by TK:

Marriott made a big loss past three months. We told them so...yet another mal-investment of the people's scarce financial resources.

YOUR PNC/AFC destroyed the economy, thus the losses.  It's your favored pics who messed up, not the PPP.

They can hardly figure out what to do in their area of strength, security much less the economy and business.  They should stick to basket weaving.

Originally Posted by TK:

$60 million loss. Electricity bill alone is $25 million per month, compared to Pegasus $15 million/month bill.

Two different class of hotels, two different price points, two different clientele.  Crime, the economic shambles brought on by the PNC caused a drop-off of high-end travelers, thus the loss.  Thanks to the PNC.

Originally Posted by TK:

Two different class of hotels, two different price points, two different clientele.  Crime, the economic shambles brought on by the PNC caused a drop-off of high-end travelers, thus the loss.  Thanks to the PNC.

ROTFLMAO Oh shit, this beat saturday morning cartoons. LMAO.

Originally Posted by TK:

YOUR PNC/AFC destroyed the economy, thus the losses.  It's your favored pics who messed up, not the PPP.

They can hardly figure out what to do in their area of strength, security much less the economy and business.  They should stick to basket weaving.

Well at least dem did not make the Skeldon suggah factory.

Originally Posted by TK:

Originally Posted by Itaname:
Originally Posted by TK:

Careful laffing with a belly wuk at the same time.

Originally Posted by TK:

Stop skinning yuh teeth and haul yuh "high end traveller" arse to Guyana . We gat "2 different clientele" bai - backdam and rural backdam. LMAO.

Originally Posted by TK:

Careful laffing with a belly wuk at the same time.

Bai, you like an instant laxative. The shit that you duz write fuh dem few jill that BJ duz give you is mo potent than Andrews, Castor Oil, and brooklax all rolled into one. Nuff nuff laff fuh mek a man shit he pants. Ah duz dead wid laugh at some of the pure, pure shit yuh duz write hay.

Originally Posted by TK:

Stop skinning yuh teeth and haul yuh "high end traveller" arse to Guyana . We gat "2 different clientele" bai - backdam and rural backdam. LMAO.

Bai I not high end. Grand Coastal is what my per diem covers . Duh is for Baseman and dem aile man on rigs .

Originally Posted by TK:

Bai I not high end. Grand Coastal is what my per diem covers . Duh is for Baseman and dem aile man on rigs .

Baseman is like a fine purveyor of extra virgin olive aile, purveying pure, pure skont . Only 50% occupancy rates BEFORE Marriot and no real tourism industry built in over 50 years of independence and purveyor Baseman talking shit about "high end travelers" and "2 types of clientele".

Originally Posted by TK:

YOUR PNC/AFC destroyed the economy,

Quite a silly excuse.

1.  Guyana was not teaming with foreign investors, aside from those in the mining sector.

2. With the collapse in mineral prices, there is less incentive to exploit more marginal and speculative locations, so there will be fewer of these visiting Guyana.

3.  Why don't you prove that the Marriott would have attracted a unique type of visitor to Guyana, who wouldn't have visited before.  It is a known fact that ALL of the hotels in G/town had mediocre occupancy rates.  So who would the Marriott have attracted?

Your Indo/Portuguese/Chinese KKK dwell in their mansions and entertain their foreign guests in these palaces, so don't bray about what they say!

So why don't you tell us about these new high end travelers, who previously did NOT visit Guyana.  There to play golf, or use our white sandy beaches, or take advantage of our high end entertainment, and luxury shopping.

Oh yes Georgetown was destined to be the "New St Barth's", but "dem blackman mash it up".