Skip to main content

There was an unexpected issue forwarding you to "Twitter" for authentication. Please try again later.

Youngsters display skill as Toucan Junior Squash tourney concludes

Youngsters display skill as Toucan Junior Squash tourney concludes

Mar 26, 2018 Sports, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...h-tourney-concludes/

There was a real buzz in the air as the Toucan Distributors Junior Skill level Squash tournament came to a close on Saturday at the Georgetown Club Camp Street. The 42 players who took part in this year’s annual tournament fought hard and passionately for a spot in their category winners line up and in many of the groups it was a close competition. winners show off their trophies with Coach Carl Ince (left) on Saturday night. (Sean Devers photo)

In Category H, the youngest contender, Matthew Daby, was triumphant after his win over Maya Dean 11/ 5, 11/7, which saw him unbeaten in this competition.
Serving his way to victory in Category G was enthusiastic Brenno DaSilva. In his match against Tianna Gomes he displayed an array of powerful almost untouchable serves which led him to his 11/3, 11/1 win to secure his first place position.
Monisha Persaud took the top spot in Category F, while Lajaun Munroe earned himself not only the win of category E, but also the most improved boy of the tournament title.
Absent Chad DeAbreu who had played out all his matches earlier in the week remained unbeaten in his category, while Jason Gomes fought a long and hard battle against Zachary Persaud to decide the winner if category C. The match went to five games as both boys refused to let up, but Gomes’s power shots proved too much for Persaud and he finished his final match with an 13/15, 7/11, 13/11, 11/9, 11/7 win.
Category B gave the thriller of the night when Abosaide Cadogan took on Kirsten Gomes to defend her unbeaten record. Gomes had other ideas as she stormed the court to match Cadogan’s brilliance and dominated the first game to win 11/7. The battle continued as Cadogan executed breathtaking killer shots to inch past her opponent in an equaliser 11/9. The ensuing three games held a captive audience who enjoyed a display of outstanding squash from the girls who won another game each before Cadogan took the final game and match 11/7. Cadogan earned the well deserved Most Outstanding Girl title.
Top seed Shomari Wiltshire was crowned King of the tournament after defeating Samuel Ince-Carvalhal in great style 11/3, 11/1, 11/1 in the last match of the night.
Other special awards were given to James Mekdeci who performed extremely well after being moved up to a higher category and Christiana Fernandes was bestowed with Most Improved Girl for her development this year.
Scores and results:
Category H
Matthew Daby beat Maya Dean 11/5, 11/7
JnaeSingh beat Solomon Ince-Carvalhal 7/11, 11/4, 11/9
Category G
Brenno DaSilva beat Tianna Gomes 11/3, 11/1
Leshaunte Berkley beat Thandi Dean 11/13, 11/9, 11/7
Category F
Monisha Persaud beat Chtistiana Fernandes 11/8, 11/7
Keenan Naraine beat Demetri Lowe 11/7, 11/3
Kaden Pynaendy beat Malia Maikoo 16/14, 13/11
Category E
Lajuan Munroe beat Rayad Boyce 11/4, 11/8
Arvin Seelall beat Angel Rahim 8/11, 11/8, 11/8
Jared Saul beat Aram Chan 11/9, 11/6
Category C
Jason Gomes beat Zachary Persaud 13/15, 7/11, 13/11, 11/9, 11/7
Kamir Khan beat Louis DaSilva 9/11, 7/11, 11/5, Da Silva retired at 5/7
Category B
Abosadie Cadogan beat Kirsten Gomes 7/11, 11/9, 11/6, 9/11, 7/11
Ethan Jonas beat James Mekdeci 11/5, 6/11, 11/4, 11/6,
Category A
Michael Alphonso beat Gianni Carpenter 11/7, 11/6, 11/4
Shomari Wiltshire beat Samuel Ince-Carvalhal 11/3, 11, 1, 11/1
Category A
Winner Shomari Wiltshire
Second Samuel Ince-Carvalhal
Third Michael Alphonso
Category B
Winner Abosadie Cadogan
Second Demetrius DeAbreu
Third Ethan Jonas
Fourth Kirsten Gomes
Fifth Madison Fernandes
Category C
Winner Jason Gomes
Second Kamir Khan
Third Zachary Persuad
Category D
First Chad DeAbreu
Second Osmond Mack
Third Teija Mack
Category E
First Lajuan Munroe
Second Arvin Seelall
Third Rayad Boyce
Fourth Angel Rahim
Category F
First Monisha Persaud
Second Keenan Narine
Third Christiana Fernandes
Fourth Kayden Pynaendy
Fifth Noah Rahaman
Category G
First Brenno DaSilva
Second Safirah Summer
Third Tianna Gomes
Category H
First Matthew Daby
Second Mya Dean
Third Jnae Singh
Most Outstanding Boy Lajuan Munroe
Most Outstanding Girl Abosaide
Most Improved Boy James Mekdeci
Most Improved Girl Christiana Fernandes

Original Post