Reply to "Where is the Guyanese public?"

antabanta posted:

That's why we need to keep plugging away without all the racial prejudice which is nothing but a distraction.

The racial prejudice isn't because Guyanese are racist.  When you look at countries where there are two different groups with different outlooks generally there is ongoing civil war.  

Few Guyanese alive have vivid memories of the 60s so that isn't what informs their view.  Our ethnic angst is because we don't trust our institutions to be fair and then we add the issue of ethnic exclusion on top of the ongoing corruption, nepotism and incompetence and both the PPP and the PNC have been guilty, and now the AFC as well.

The funny thing is even as we have our "race wars" on GNI I bet if we met in person we would be quite cordial and might even enjoy each other's company.

Two scenarios.  And African finds that his land was stolen by a rich man who happens to be Indian.  Was this theft based on race?   No.  It was based on greed and corruption and vulnerability.  But it will be seen through the prism of race.  If it happened under the PPP it would validate that "dem collie control every ting and dem can do what dey want".  If it happens now then the feeling is "I vote fuh de coalition and dem aint doing nutting to help me".

There will be no focus on the fact that Afros have also stolen land from other Afros and this happened under the PPP and I bet still occurs.

I can invent scenarios that involve Afro abuse of people who happen to be Indo, such as corruption by the police or customs officers.  If it happens now an Indo will wail that "black man abusing we and me want Jagdeo back".  If it happened under the PPP wailing would be "dem blackman so bad dat even when we in power dem still abuse we and de PPP don't do nutting".

And of course Indos abuse Indos during the PPP era and still do so now.

But that is how race is perceived in Guyana.  It is not neighbors fighting each other because they hate their race.  I doubt that too many weddings or funerals occur in GY with only one race in attendance.

Can you summarize into three sentences, no more than fifteen words each?