Reply to "US$150M CJIA Renovation… Contractor’s work not at best quality – Minister Sharma"

Mr.T posted:

I said years ago during the reign of the PPP regime that dem Chinamen are gonna take we fuh a ride. There is no such thing as an honest Chinese immigrant or contractor. The PNC should demand that the contractors rectify the mistakes, or else lock them up. There are loads more Chinese contracts on the horizon, and it is a foregone conclusion that each one will be of substandard quality. That's a guarantee.

You are dead wrong.  The Marriott building is one of the finest modern day structure in Guyana. Chinese contractors are some of the best in the world putting up structures in Dubai, Sidney, and even the US.  I.M. Pei designed some of the best buildings in the US, including the Hancock Tower in Boston.  Most recently his oeuvre d’art is Le Grand Louvre in Paris.

Lady, you are in dream land. Chinese contractors are known for cutting corners with substandard products. The list of failed projects are more than you can count. We now have two. Skeldon Factory should come to mind. I cannot vouch for the integrity of the Marriott but if it was Chinese built you can damn well be sure it has some defects. China harbor for example  has a long list of failed projects in the Caribbean as well

BTW, I lived in and IM  PEI building in SW DC. He built four glass buildings on Main Avenue and 2 And first and second street. They are the most shitty buildings one can imaging. I lived at 110 3 street SW for 10 years. I stayed because it was cheap. Every year you had to compensate for the August heat. I survived because Sharper Image build indoor air conditioners  and creative reflecting curtains ( against regs) 

The ugly shitty buildings on the four corners of the blocks are still there. A company named Breslin owned them. They threaten to tear them down every year but they are still there. IM Pei does have lots of successful works and is a celebrated designer but using him as a measure of Chinese competency is quite illogical.

Mainland Chinese attached to the Chinese government loaning money and doing the build out for projects in the third world is a different matter. It is a racket to leave countries heavily indebted to the chinese so they can leverage other assets. Further can point to monstrosities all over the world that are gross failures because that is what they do, cut cost via substandard build out. Even their own buildings fail often enough.