Reply to "The PPP and Guyanese Indians: Malcolm Harripaul’s masterpiece of political analysis"

Hey hey hey...soh ayoo bringin in dem Haitian blackman dem or wa? Ayoo plannin and schemin? And seeing coolie jumbie, bacoo, moon gazer, doopy and all dem? Hey hey hey...

I have said many times that "creole Guyanese" (Africans, mixed and Portuguese) have a different sense of ethnicity and nationhood than do Indians.  We see ourselves first and foremost as Guyanese.  We define our ethnicity within the context of Guyanese.  Our ethnic identities are also fluid. 

The majority of Indians put an emphasis on their "Indian" identity.  There are conversations about the degree to which they connect with India and the degree to which they are accepted by Indians.  I have NEVER seen any conversation about similar levels of identifications of "creole Guyanese".  To the contrary most Indians do not seem to understand this concept of a creole culture and in fact see it as a form of ethnic genocide.

So black people aren't interested in populating Guyana with Haitians.  I bet if thousands of Haitians suddenly arrived, with their foreign language and customs many Afro Guyanese will not be happy.  We don't see our salvation in setting up some "African kingdom".   On the other hand whether Indo Guyanese agree or disagree with the concept of Indesh (and I will not opine on which will be the dominant opinion) they can certainly Understand the concept of some "Indian homeland" whether or not they agree with this notion.

We on the other hand cannot even agree as to whether David Granger and Raphael Trotman are "black" or "mixed.   We don't have a mutually agreed upon notion as to what is "African" culture in Guyana.  There is way more fluidity in creole identities.  Ravi Dev and Prashad view this as a weakness. I on the other hand view this as a strength in that we aren't locked tightly into some box and have more freedom in individually defining ourselves as we wish.

Yuh know the putagees claimed European status to escape Guyana from Burnham whilst the UF helped dem removed their wealth. 

How good is your education. Are yuh blinded by hating cooolie ppl.