Reply to "The epidemic of violence against women in Guyana"

antabanta posted:

Liquor reduces inhibitions and may be the catalyst but there has to be something deeper that prompts the anger that results in violence. A part of the problem may be peer pressure on men to "control" their women. How will women know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation?

The catalysts could be many. However, the situation is dire, so in order to stop the bleeding (no pun intended) it is crucial that women in domestic violence situations have some place to go and not stay and "tek it". Y'all and the psychologists can tek yuh time to figure out the many reasons, but meanwhile the current victims need some redress. 

In the first world countries there are places for these women to go. I favor the establishment of centers or homes for them. NGO's (churches, civic organizations, etc.) can play a huge part in this. If there is even one home for 50 women set up, then that's 50 women removed from a dangerous situation. I'm of course hoping for far more than that given how pervasive the problem is.

You ask how women will know they don't have to remain in a detrimental situation. When I was a child in Georgetown, fatal traffic accidents were on the rise due to more people being able to afford cars, and many more driving drunk. I used to hear this jingle on the radio:

Don't drink and drive,
don't drive too fass.
If yuh reach a major road,
stop and don't pass.
(something, something) road safety,
and you will save de lives of humanity.

As you can see, it's embedded in my head decades later. People were aware of the need to drive carefully and accidents went down.

A similar approach is needed to alerting not just women, but the entire society to the evils of domestic violence. Today we have social media, the internet, TV, etc. to bring national attention to the problem. Why not use it? EVERYONE will know there is an alternative for DV victims.

The problem is - the usual Guyanese mentality. This has been an issue for over 50 years going back to plantation days and NEITHER party, and not even the AFC for that matter has seen fit to address it. Why is this not allotted to a ministry for oversight? Why isn't the first lady or someone as visible taking this up as a cause, not just drawing attention to it, but crafting solutions with civic organizations, NGO's etc?