Reply to "The epidemic of violence against women in Guyana"

antabanta posted:

Nuff respect to your mother. Although the point is valid, people in many communities are reluctant to interfere in husband and wife story, justified in many cases because "she must be do something to deserve it." How can we change that? What do you think could have made a difference in your own family to keep it intact?

This is a complex problem which requires a multifaceted solution. What I heard a lot growing up was, "meh nah gah no place fuh guh, who guh mind me an me pikney" , "no man nah want woman wid pikney", "no man nah guh treat meh pikney good", "no man nah want mind adda man pikney". A lot of these women are housewives and feel that they have no options. I am not an expert but I will bet that if statistics are compared, women with some recourse are less prone to being victims of domestic violence. Then there is the cultural aspect.

Multifaceted indeed. Do you think there is a mental health issue? Control mechanisms anger and rage are mental health issues. Stockholm Syndrome displayed by victim housewives is also a psychological issue. 

So we have: mental health, Stockholm syndrome, alcohol, education, peer pressure/culture, recourse to alternatives, parenting (assuming this is related to education/upbringing?). What else contribute to the onslaught against against women? Frustration and depression because of poor living conditions?