Reply to "Serious Question"

Tola posted:

How about "Kechree" boiled rice,split peas, salt ,onions , bhagee and coconut milk, no meats. In India is called  "Khichdi"

Me rememba dis meal. But did not remember its name. Thanks.  

Django, you rememba 'do-say' roti. Made from flour, sugar and water or milk ?

In GT, I was staying with a friend whose wife is from Mumbai. She made a small 'do-say' roti, but it had salt and pepper.

Is that like pancakes ??

sounds more like masala dosa. By the way, "pancake"??? Yuh mean chota???

Yep

YEA...CHOTA...[also masala dosa.] It been decades since I had any chota,  I will try to make some, in my cast-iron frying pan.

This experience is taking me back to my boyhood days, when I waited in our logie kitchen for my late sister Elaine to finish make a chota, so I can eat it hot. Fighting smoke in my eyes by the fireside with a plate in my hands.

I have a burn mark about the size of quarter on my right back. It got there when I constantly begged for some sugar cake, but told it was still hot. I insisted, so the same sister put some hot sugar cake in my hand and as I shook it off, it landed at the back of my right shoulder, leaving a lasting mark.  

What do you call those cups and plates that would flake off a piece, if it dropped or hit on hard surface ?