Reply to "real old exercise book"

Now you should  know,  they were about what is required as fundamental preparation and preparation by the British way of pedagogy and  rote memory did not serve us well. it did not encourage inquiring minds. 

I bet you caught hell in first year university here where you were required to expand on formulas and show the logical development to the answer. It is not a matter of getting it right but knowing why it is right. It is nice to know you can look at a problem and identify it as a binomial and factorize it immediately. The understanding however  is in the writing down of the expansion of the problem and logically illustrating how you came up with the answer., 

Here's a lil test fuh you smart man. Meh tables pon de exercise book seh 16 ounces in a pound. I memorize it and get a star pon meh common entrance. Now how about you "logically illustrate how I came up with the answer" or "knowing why it is right".

Tek yuh time. Feel free to reach out to yuh klansman fren and he excel macros if need be. Or phone NASA. And of course yuh good friends - GOOGLE or Cliffs notes.

Ah waiting fuh yuh "illustration" beyond "pedagogy and rote memory".