Reply to "real old exercise book"

the irony is amplified when you consider that the Imperial System of Weights and Measures is based solely on custom and practice (at one time some pieces of wood and iron in the British parliament buildings that burnt down in 1834 - thanks google!) . . . that's it

nothing to be "derived" there . . . only memorized

more irony . . . mastering x-times tables facilitates rapid arithmetic calculations for real-world use of these measures

smfh

I know you are talking to me via Iquana's post so let me help your communication. All weights and measure are defined arbitrarily on some assigned property of material or thing. Indeed they are custom and practice but defined custom and practice and  the assigned values are worked out ie derived  from their frames of reference! And who is denying that the use of tables?

no, i was not "talking to" you fool . . . i was pouring RIDICULE on you

there are no "frames of reference" worth the name in the Imperial System

that's why SI/Metric rules the real world of science . . . the Europeans had the good sense to standardize and base their measures (in the main) on properties in nature that were constant

that's why, for example, the pound as a unit of weight had to be re-defined via a unit of mass (the kilogram) in the 20th Century . . . do you know why?

but, more to the point, i suppose that we should properly be teaching grade school kids to "derive" the Second (sec.) from calculations tied to differences in energy states of cesium-133

huh?

banna, haul yuh meandering stupid ass

I am not talking relativity here least you read about t hat somewhere and would pedantically gravitate to it.

wtf do you know about "relativity"?

banna tek a seat with yuh Cliff Notes self, yeh