Reply to "Ralph Ramkarran dons his tatty "Civil Society" robes . . . attempting to force GECOM Chairwoman into acquiescence to the UNDEMOCRATIC PPP will"

Lissen fat lips, voting fuh mattie in Guyana is second nature to alyuh. Black man got no equivalent for "apan Jaat" in their vocabulary. Y'all created race conflict in Guyana that led to the emergence of Burnham.

1.  Black people cannot even agree about what to call ourselves. Are we "African", "Afro Guyanese". "black" or "negro".

2.  There is no definition that we all adhere to about defining who is "black/African/Afro/negro" and who is "mixed".  Our ethnicity exists within a continuum and is flexible.  Because of this many Indos scream "dem black man don't have no culture".  Of course failing to understand that their speech is based on the pidgin English of West Africa.  And in fact many respond to rhythms in an "African" way!

3.  Our prime identity circles around being Guyanese, a subset of a Caribbean culture.  We don't have a monolithic identity based on Africa, and we don't spend hours of our time watching Nollywood or singing afro0 beat from Nigeria/Ghana.

Face it an Afro Guyanese is a GUYANESE of African descent, who prides himself in Guyana's multi cultural heritage. An Indo Guyanese is an INDIAN born in Guyana who prides himself in a mythology of existing in an "Indian" culture, bases his identity around India and often views any other cultural influences as a contamination (except of course if it is "white").  To him the concept of "Creolization" is genocide which Indians must avoid at all costs.

I hear people screaming "racist" but they will furnish no evidence to contradict these statements.