Reply to "Overseas-based Guyanese tech mogul investing in local ICT sector"

Please correct the Subject line.  The tech guru was born in Jamaica so he is Jamaican.

Gyal, it's our buddy Django. He is the chief editor of GNI. The dude is a Jamaica citizen of Guyanese parents. Can he claim dual citizenship since his parents were from Guyana?

There are many Guyanese who have excelled in the field of technology.  Why are we showcasing a Jamaican?

Here is the answer to your question.

“There is so much that can be done and it’s really sad to see that the talent does not have the ability to create value for the entire world. I saw an opportunity to create an avenue for those doing computer science so those resources can be funneled into Guyana,” Dr. Mars said.

“I will contribute to sparking and building the tech sector in Guyana. We are just getting started…We are excited about what we are doing and I am committed to investing in Guyana and helping to contribute to the economic development of the tech sector, so stay tuned,” he added."

There are many Guyanese people who can do this.  Is there a reason why a Jamaican was picked?  Is it the same reason why a Jamaican was picked to run GPL and the people getting blackout everyday?  Is it the same reason why we name a Guyanese airline - Fly Jamaica?