Reply to "Lemme tickle allyuh brain"

Tola posted:
Ian McRobert posted:
Originally Posted by Tola:

Another sad question.

While British Guiana was struggling for independence.

A force wanted the British to leave  and tried many violent strategies.

At Enmore,  a bomb was thrown in the  school bus carrying  manager's children.

What was the name of the child  killed ?   

GODFREY TEIXEIRA

I was on that bus and Godfrey Teixeira was my best friend.  I am now 63 years old and live in Scotland.  My name is Ian McRobert. My email address is. imcr2@aol.com.  I would be glad to hear from anyone who knows anything about the bus being bombed.

Regards.  Ian.

Hello Ian, 

Please check your email for a lengthy reply.         

THE WONDERS OF GNI...

I replied to Ian Mcrobert request for information  about the Enmore school bus bombing in the 1960’s, that killed his best friend Godfrey Teixeira and the following unfolded.

I mentioned that a person from the UK post on GNI. Recognizing the last name, they asked whether this family once lived on WCD, who looked after Ian as a child, when his parents were away.
The GNI poster confirmed that it was their family who looked after Ian and they have a photograph of him and their family.

When the Mcrobert  family  lived at Enmore estate in the 1960s, their children  have many fond memories of a house-keeper, who looked  after them, as her own children.
She made quite a positive impression on the family and for the past 50+ years they were trying to make contact with her.
Working  at Albion estate, I knew some of the other sugar estate clerks, including a friend at Enmore, now living in NY city.
With the help of his sister in Ontario, we set out to find the Mcrobert  house-keeper.
Also, my Enmore friend's wife worked for the Teixeira family.

Our investigation revealed that the house-keeper is involved with Mandirs  and she is known to its members.
Someone mentioned that she might be living in Ontario and another person said she was visiting relatives in Florida.
After  days of going back and forth with a group chat mail,  we identify her being in  Florida.

It was confirmed that the house-keeper returned to her home in New York City  and my Enmore friend obtained her telephone number.
After speaking with her, her  phone number  was given to Ian in Scotland and his family in New Zealand.

During this process, Ian found more information about the school bus bombing to cope with what he witnessed that day, when Godfrey was killed.  Riding in the same bus, Ian  is lucky to have survived  with minor physical injuries.
Another Albion friend in Ontario was a prison officer at Mazaruni and knew the person convicted of the bus bombing  I was told he was executed by hanging.

Today, Ian’s family in New Zealand  and Scotland spoke with the house-keeper in NY City, after  more than 50 years.
The house-keeper also called myself and my Enmore friend  saying, she was extremely happy for making contact with the Mcrobert family.
A  reunion  is planned for the house-keeper  and  the Mcroberts  from Scotland, New Zealand and US West Coast.
Maybe to take place in New York City, where they can meet my Enmore friend  who also knew the late Ian Mcrobert Senior.  And also  meeting  his wife, who worked for the Teixeira family.   

This process was a group effort, including GNI and credit should not go to any one person. 
But,  special curry to Gilbakka, fa gettin people to tickle dem brain, pan GNI Social.

This story continues in New York City on August 9, 2017.

The Mc Robert children, now adults with families,  will be travelling from Scotland and New Zealand and staying for a week with  their house keeper in the 1960s, Guitree from Enmore, after 50+ years, with not contacting each other.

The motivation of these 'children'  [at one time],  to see this special lady has been an honour for me to be part of the process for them to meet again. I can only imagine the excitement, tears and stories that will be told. Including a sad part of their history, when their friend Godfrey Teixeira was killed in the school bus bombing and the tense atmosphere at Enmore manager's compound.   

Ian, sister Jean and another sister, including Guitree have special thanks to Gilbakka with extreme gratitude, for initiating this process for them to meet again.

Also, from me Gilly, thanks.  Among all the negativism on GNI, this is a good feeling story. Please come back and 'tickle abie brain', because GNI has not been the same without you.

hats off to you my friend this is a wonderful quest big respect