Reply to "Intrigue regarding termination of Chronicle columnists: David Hinds seems to blame AFC"

Either way you slice this, Hinds and Lewis will not support any other party besides the PNC or WPA. Like Freddie Kissoon noted a few days ago, Indians know how to read the tea lives. But these folks, even if the PPP has transformed itself, will never think of casting their votes for the PPP. That is the nature of Guyanese politics. In fact, Hinds, in the same letter in another newspaper, express concern that people blamed him for supporting the PPP...this is a slap in the face of the supporters of the PPP. 

Did Hinds ever spoke out against the problems faced by the sugar workers?  

So this is simply a bottom house quarrel among kith and kin...when the time comes for casting votes, who know who they will vote for.

If one positive thing comes out of is it is that Guyanese are learning that loyalty does not mean that you have to stifle your criticism of the government even though you support that government...but this only rings true when honesty prevails among politicians...we know this is not going to happen anytime soon.

Actually, if you were paying attention to the real world and not curling your lip and self-marinating in race hate and loathing of blackman, you would have known that David Hinds has written quite a lot about the plight of sugar workers facing loss of their jobs

indeed, no less than Vishnu Bisram thanked and “[applaud]ed” him for it

Now, let me ‘educate’ you about something you already know banna: David Hinds, Walter Rodney and the WPA literally took up arms and fought against the dictatorship PNC government of Forbes Burnham https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...st-the-wpa-produced/ ... Walter paid the ultimate price; Hinds and other stalwarts of the WPA suffered greatly for that

So, he doesn’t need lectures about “kith and kin” from the likes of you

With all that history, what you should be asking yourself is why people like Clive Thomas, Rupert Roopnaraine, Freddie Kissoon and David Hinds would not countenance support for today’s PPP in any configuration this generation

Face the man in the mirror, sir

OK Knucklehead...

Easy with the “race hate” and “loathing of Blackman” bit. Stop treating criticism as if they emanate from an Indian racist...and stop playing the victim and acting as if Indians are out to get you and Hinds. That sounds like paranoia.

Lets break this down together.

I stand corrected if you claim that Hinds wrote about the sugar workers...but you are being devious when you use the words “quite a lot”. Evidence does not support your contention. Search the internet. In fact Lincoln Lewis has written more in support of the sugar workers...he is a union guy...he understands bread and butter issues. 

Hinds is an Afro-centric activist whose primary concern like that of Ogunseye, who recently penned a letter explaining to the press , was to ensure their defeat of the PPP and make sure Africans “pon top”. I don’t have a problem with this but you should know that Ogunseye give shelter to the Buxton prison escapees and urged violence against the government. Hinds has WRITTEN A LOT about power sharing (including a book) when the coalition was in the opposition. Now that his people pon top that stuff is thrown out the window. He consistently argued that there was discrimination against Africans under the PPP, but never provided evidence to that effect (except the stupid

statement made by Luncheon).

That Hinds and the WPA literally took up arms was a claim by Roopnarine. Many WPA members, and Rodney’s wife never agreed to this. 

Hinds stint in jail does not automatically confer credibility on him. Cheddi Jagan spent time in jail, yet there were many Afros who opposed his tenure in government. 

The argument I made is simple - MY ORIGINAL POINT was that in a divided society like Guyana where race trumps almost everything people do in this dreaded country is that kith and kin will determine how Hinds (and Lwin) will vote in the near future. This goes for Afros and Indos. So these are no sacred cows here. You fail to understand the basic nature of Guyanese society.

Let me explain something to you about the last paragraph in reference to history and Thomas, Hinds, Roopnarine and Kissoon. These individuals are not considered credible leaders by almost half of the population. They are not the ones who would or should be determining who leads the PPP...and the gaul of it all...for you to suggest that Guyanese should pattern their behavior after these 4 individuals is to perpetuate the stereotypical belief that the PPP supporters don’t know better...this would be like Ronan dictating to Black people in America who will be the best candidate to support.