Reply to "How Guyana can end it's racial Problem in 2020 and beyond."

Guyana should revert to the 1966 Independence Constitution.

Coupled with party dictatorship is racial mobilization. If we look at our political history we will see that since PR was introduced in December 1964 it made it much easier for the main parties to engage in electoral mobilization along racial lines,

Malcolm Harripaul

While I agree that MPs serving at the pleasure of the party and not of the voters is a fast fire way to dictatorship he mustn't pretend that ethnic voting only began in 1964. It was a feature of the elections in 1956 and in 1961 as well.

The solution cannot be political. It is a healthier civic environment where Guyanese at large, and not just the politicians, deal with the issue of ethnic mistrust which will lead to a healthier political environment.

Guyanese must stop fooling themselves that the fact that they tolerate each other on a daily basis means that all is well and that its only the politicians who create the problem. We vote for our monster because we fear what will happen to us if the other monster is in charge.

We don't trust each other and one can see this right here in NYC where black and Indian Guyanese have almost nothing to do with each other.  We don't live under Granger or Jagdeo and yet ethnic mistrust still dominates, to the point where this is highly noticeable even to non Caribbean people.

Speak fuh yuhself cuz. My Guyanese friends are just that, Guyanese. There are quite a few Guyanese working where I work both Indo and Afro and I have yet to see any sort of clannishness or the like. And I am speaking about people from recent college graduates to people close to retirement. I suppose it's all about how you feel and how you treat people. If you think someone is different or inferior or however else you may envision them, then you're very likely to see that sentiment reciprocated.