Reply to "How all dem one lovers doing...now dat dem oppress dem coolies and levy fee foh fish?"

PNC always had a knack for destroying things. Back in the 80s before PNC were kicked there were a lot of people who watched their car, van or truck rot away at the impound for as little as a pound of flour.

Ksaz, didnt had a car. But bai, i did my fair of lining up. Line up for my daily bread. My gallon a kero. And de cinema. Ate roce flour. Couldnt stomach it.

I had a car only towards the end of my time in Guyana. I left in my early 20s. Before that, I had a motorcycle and prior to that a bicycle before I had my first bicycle which a guy name Django stole from me after putting a knife to my throat. Went to the Kitty Police Station and they didn't give a shit about it. The lines began in the late 70's and continued up until the eighties when I left. The cinema lines were by choice but the other ones were because of need. We would line up for gas and most times, either the gas run out or the electricity goes away before you reach the gas pump. The line for tax clearances were also down the stairs of GPO. So was the line for a copy of your birth certificate. Same with the line to apply for and pick up your passport as well as to apply for and pick up your police clearance. Well, you get the picture. During the PNC government before 1992, everything required a line and/or a bribe. That is their record which coincided with their record of heavy handedness and bullying. We are seeing a repeat of that behavior as it seem ingrained in them.

I bailed out in 1991. But i got to say. What bothered me the most was watching a movie in the cinema when black out come on and no standby generator deh bout. Dat skvnt use to really, seriously piss me off.

I believe Liberty had their own generator. Liberty had a little higher standard compared to some of the other ones in the city.