Reply to "Guyanese homemade eggnog"

Wha rass Cain know bout LEASE wata, he ah one GT bhai who only seems to know whea  me Danish fren Inga put she finga ah Strand.

Anta, who knows who might have the right name. Names were butchered so much in Guyana, that its hard to know which one  is right. 

But what  Leonora described makes sense, because the LEASE water trench I knew at Albion  was stagnant water. It was a storage  trench, with  no exit to other trenches. But later the lease water was release into other trenches, that blacken the water and killed the fishes. The fishes would surface and seems to suffocate. 

Release black water in drainage trenches to the ocean, was not only bad for fishes, but also not good  for  animals and crops.  

Regarding butchered names. I was in GY and trying to find a guy name Harold, no one knew him, until I describe de man without any head hair and everyone know Balhead rum shop. Same with cane field, after its flooded for  a while and drained.  We called it BANDIN and I later discovered it was ABANDON. Then  someone gave me an English word meaning the same thing.