Reply to "Guyana: Will its oil boom benefit the people? - Al jazeera"

What you need is proper/independent oversight and governance.  A small place like Guyana, many people will have connections, blood or otherwise.

Well 50+ years has proven we can't oversee or govern nothing, independent or otherwise. Should be pretty obvious to Granger the potential conflict of interest with Mangal if Mangal's brother has dealings with the oil business as Django says.

All the oil experts in the world, 4 billion barrels in the ground, and the klowns can't find one of the top notch experts in the world for an advisory role. SMFH.

I guess they want freeness.  You get what you pay for.  I do the taxes for an Exxon guy who manages contracts. His salary and bonus is $550k, plus LTI plus all benefits, all in all close to $1 mil/pa.

Given the value at stake, I was surprised.  The lil White gyal in NY sounded way for intelligent, coherent and clear while Ram and they rest getting lost in the weeds ready for an argument.

No wonder they got screwed over in the PSA!

I believe BJ would have made a better impression.

You are correct the conman,would have sounded impressive with his rhetoric.