Reply to "Govt’s economic philosophy debilitating – Jagdeo"

Django, did you ever find yuh figgas to dispute what I posted?

I am going to prepare a paper on Politics and Economy of Guyana  with emphasis on debt ,payments  and recommendations for restructuring from 1985 , there will be the figures of Debt and Payments. You figure is way off regarding payments in 1992 ,when the PPP came to office.

We don't need all that mumbo-jumbo bull-crap!  The question(s) are simple:

1.  What was the Debt to GDP Ratio and the Interest Cover Ratio in 1992?

2.  What was the Debt to GDP Ratio and the Interest Cover Ratio in 2015?

And let's stick with Forex Debt which need to be serviced in Forex!

Report No. 10307-GUY

Guyana From Economic Recovery to Sustained Growth April 10, 1992.

World Bank Latin America and the Caribbean Region

This report is based on a World Bank economic mission which visited

Guyana in October-November,1991

Currency Equavalents

Average exchange rates prevailing during recent years, Guyanese dollars (G$) per US $1.00,period average:

1988 - $10.00

1989 - $27.16

1990 - $39.53

1991 - $111.80

December, 1991 -$122.00

External Accounts 1.14

The large external debt of Guyana, presently about $2.0 billion (end 1990), presents a continued burden on the recovery program. At current exchange rates, this represents a debt equal to about 6 times the total GDP (as of the end of 1991). Scheduled debt service in 1990 equaled 99 % of the exports of goods and non-factor services.

About one-quarter of the debt is owed to multilateral agencies, and therefore not subject to rescheduling. About half of the debt is owed to bilateral lenders, and only a relatively small portion is owed to private creditors, banks and supplies.

The projected debt payments for 1992 will amount to approximately 41 % of exports of goods and non-factor services.

This report calculated debt payments as percentage of exports and non-factor services.

Here link to report for more details. http://documents.worldbank.org...4/pdf/multi0page.pdf

So my information was correct!  I thought you had contracting data!

The facts are in 1992 external debt was 700% GDP with servicing @ 96% of revenues.

The above what you said, you have increased debt by a couple million dollars.

Don't know how you arrived at 96 % of revenues for debt servicing,perhaps you can explain.

Guyana - GDP 1992  $0.37 billion

https://www.macrotrends.net/co...oss-domestic-product

Guyana-Export percentage of GDP 125.75

https://www.theglobaleconomy.com/Guyana/exports/