Reply to "Gov’t, DDL to explore dairy partnership -country imports US$25m annually in milk products"

I still don’t believe the wholesale banning of flour was correct.  There were no real local alternatives.  On others with local alternatives, don’t bAn but apply duties.

Burnham did not see the present  situation decades ago, but he did want to make Guyana a center for food production. 

He went too fast and should have engaged local business men more. Instead he went after local business and tried to establish his own new business class.  

Let’s not forget, everything had a racist angle.  This is why he failed.  Burnham might have had some good ideas, but he ran a racist regime which tried to shut out or limit Indian participation.

I always said, if some of these ideas were attempted but leaving out race, they will have more success.  This is where public/ private partnerships could work well. 

I reiterate - LFS ideas re FCH and producing local were not properly thought out and executed. In hindsight, we needed help from other countries to implement, but we Guyanese think we know everything. Some of the local substitutes were not ready.

But I'm curious about this "racist angle" and "shut out or limit indian participation" yuh talking about. The producers of the local substitutes were Indians who stood to benefit from the use of local products. More rice, more fruits, more cassava. Most all from Indian farmers. Is wha "racist" jumbie yuh seeing bai?

No wonder Guyana has a diabetes epidemic. Burnham and Hoyte to be blamed.