Reply to "Gov’t, DDL to explore dairy partnership -country imports US$25m annually in milk products"

I come back to my point, why is Guyana importing Milk, Fruit juice, plantain chips, fresh chicken....?

Why the "break basket" of the Caribbean is importing what Guyana should be exporting?  Answer that simple question!

Yuh sound like Burnham. In the late 70's Burnham asked the same question and came up with the well intentioned FCH (feed, clothe, house), though poorly executed. It was people like YOU that saw this as genocide against Indians because LFS wanted to use local flour.

Y'all scream and shout that Burnham spiting Indians, keeping dem from mekking roti. Didn't black man mek bread? Didn't black people need flour for baked goods? Indians never saw it that way - dem scream that is genocide! Same as happening right hay on GNI, everything is genocide against Indians.

Burnham, meglomaniac that he was, was smart enough BACK THEN to realize the importance of preserving foreign currency. It was he who saw:
We shouldn't import apples and grapes given abundance of fresh fruits
we shouldn't import flour given our ability to make our own
milk and milk products (carnation) was inferior to fresh milk
etc.

Y'all are late to the party. Over 40 years later LFS was proven right, long after our currency collapsed. Think of the many industries that could have sprung up to support the local economy with local goods. Now yuh come hay like Columbus asking questions LFS addressed over 40 years ago.