Reply to "Domestic Violence in Guyana"

Makari posted:

Again, I am an outsider, born in the U.S Virgin Islands and married to a Guyanese (wife). I have been to Guyana 7 times now, and as I have done with other places I have visited, I make observations and I discuss them (with civility) with people of that place or country, as I love dialog.

Now, I keep an eye on news out of Guyana and while I know much has been made about the high suicide (per capita) in the country, I don't know if I am seeing things, but it appears Guyana has a very high incidence of not just domestic violence, but deadly domestic violence. Is this truly the case or am I really just seeing things. Is there a culture of this type of violence in the country?

Domestic violence, yes, can be found all up and down the Caribbean, UNFORTUNATELY and SADLY, but for some reason, it seems like a higher proportion of it ends in fatality or gross violence in Guyana. Is there countering measures in place to combat this? 

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Who? Clue me in, please. I have NO idea who that is.

Hear nah man, how much time yo have to remind abe you a wan outsider .. let we say a true you nah wan Guyanese . So we gon go back to yo question about domestic violence  rite. 

Guyanese wifeee done tek yo 7 times nah .. gud . Mek sure yo treat a lady gud yo know . Is only 20,000 G fo them boys  .. and yo name can appear on the missing list. 

Now coming back to yo real question about domestic violence. Them Guyanese women like the beating... so it nah gone change. 

Now tell abe how much time yo wifeee belnay yo rass.

Dave, I do/did that just that I don't sound out of place making hard commentary on the country when I am not from there. SOME people tend to get edgy when you are not from a place but have things to say about it. In other words, I add the disclaimer just so we are clear off the top. After being here for a while, I will have no reason to make that disclaimer I am sure.

"Missing list?" LOL...nah, man. My Guyanese wife is a gem of a woman. I love her like I love cook food and she loves me just the same. We have a beautiful marriage and  would marry her a million times over and over. Best woman I have EVER been with.

As for Guyanese women liking 'the beating,' not sure if that is sarcasm, but I will take it as such.

"Belnay?!?" Asked my wife what that means and she is not aware. :-)

As for the use of the creolized word "abe," I find it quite interesting. Do you know that in Nevis, where my mother is from, they use the same identical word and it means the same thing: "All of us/we." 

Hey was just joking around when I mentioned the “ missing list”.

Guyanese are very hospitable people. Regarding the Guyanese dialect “ abe “ it seems to be a common word on some of the Caribbean island.